We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended, great find”
Review of The Nook

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Nook
Ranked #33 of 101 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Highly recommended, great find”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Lovely B&B/guesthouse. Owners are super friendly but not intrusive. Room (room 7) was good size, set up as a twin and well appointed. Bathroom was spotless. Rooms are slightly noisy, but think we suffered a little from particularly loud neighbours more so than anything else.

On site parking is a bonus and we never had any problem getting a space. It is hilly back up from being down town but with all due respect to The Nook, not sure thats within their control to change!

Breakfast is lovely, great variety and spread available, be aware it finished at 9.15am for those that may like a lie on.

Would definitely recommend and would definitely stay again, and I don't say that lightly!

Room Tip: Room 7 is a good size twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SMMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNookStives, Owner at The Nook, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Thank you for your comments - we hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in England. We can only apologise once again for your neighbour, happily she did not throw the TV through the window as you predicted!

We hope to see you again when you next visit England.

John and Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    73
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
18
132
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2012

A very comfortable and enjoyable stay. Very nice room with a sea view (just). We stay in b and b's all over the country and this is the most comfortable bed we can remember. Very nice room with the best of facilities. Parking is traditionally a nightmare in St Ives and I imagine places nearer the harbour have no parking, so very pleased to see there are spaces here. A bit of a down hill walk taking 5 minutes to get to the sea front which meant an uphill walk home, but after a couple of drinks we never noticed it. This is a great town and an excellent place to stay. Off for breakfast soon and the menu looks great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Badger700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNookStives, Owner at The Nook, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
It is always rewarding to read a great review.

Thank you.

John and Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We booked two nights at the Nook for an early spring break, and it was a fabulous choice. We couldn't have asked for a warmer welcome, and the room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. A minor problem with the bathroom plumbing was dealt with promptly and cheerfully, and we were moved to another room (cheaper, but actually larger, though without the sea view). We found the room very quiet, although to be fair there weren't very many guests staying that weekend.

Breakfast was great, with an impressive range of choice, including vegetarian options, and the staff had time to chat and recommend local restaurants and places to visit. Super location, apart from the steep climb back from the town!

Definitely recommended!

Room Tip: The 'best' (ie most expensive) room has a sea view, but the 'next best' is a bit lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrandBearJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNookStives, Owner at The Nook, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Thank you for your review and for your understanding. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

John and Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

After deciding to have short break in St Ives and reading reviews on B& B s we decided to stay at The Nook and the main reason was good reviews and on site parking .on arriving at the Nook John made us very welcome .The room was very clean and excellent for our short break in St Ives. The car park on site was great and the breakfast was also great.
We will return next time we are St Ives for holiday

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank geoffy187059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNookStives, Owner at The Nook, responded to this review, 3 October 2011
Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Louise & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We were under impression this was a hotel, but in our opinion the nook is most definitely a B&B.
Generally clean and friendly. The room was an ok size, but the bathroom was tiny, and the walls are very thin.
I understand that bed firmness is a personal thing but, our bed was very very soft indeed.
It's about a 15 min walk into the centre of town, and it's extremely steep...

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank popo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNookStives, Owner at The Nook, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
We always take time to read guest reviews as it important for us to consider our guests experiences. However, it is difficult to take anything from this feedback complaining that we are are more a guest house/B&B than a hotel. This is because we ARE a guest house, graded by the AA as a 4* Highly Commended Guest House, we advertise as a guest house and our tariff reflects our status.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a lovely stay, the room was perfect, the breakfast was excellent and located just 10 minutes from St Ives town. Will stay here again

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamPWeymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNookStives, Owner at The Nook, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Thank you for your feedback and look forward to seeing you again.

Louise & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Friendly hosts, clean rooms and a decent breakfast so why the 3 star review? My gripe is with the size of the room we were staying in. It was tiny! My wife and I had to cooperate to get the simplest tasks completed in the room. Due to the small size the room got very hot once a shower was in use and a hairdryer going. The paper thin walls meant we could hear our neighbours very clearly as well.

Such a shame, I know that it is all about maximising the return from the footprint on the property but the room felt shoe-horned in. Other reviewers have mentioned the same, perhaps we had the same room.

I can recommend the hotel/guesthouse but would urge you to check on the room size prior to booking.

Room Tip: Check the size of your room carefully
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank devonverve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNookStives, Owner at The Nook, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Thank you for your feedback.

We understand your comments about the size of the room. However, our small double room is 25% less expensive than the larger rooms. This allows us to offer our guest house to all travellers. We take great care when advertising rooms both on our website, the online booking system and on the phone to ensure guests understand that this is a small double.

We agree that guests should ensure the room they choose meets their needs.

We appreciate that you would recommend the guest house.



Louise & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.5 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
923 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
912 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beechwood House
Beechwood House
#16 of 21 in St Ives
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Green Apple Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Tregony Guest House
Tregony Guest House
#10 of 101 in St Ives
167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Storm in a Tea Cup
Storm in a Tea Cup
#37 of 101 in St Ives
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nook

Property: The Nook
Address: 5 Ayr Terrace, St Ives TR26 1ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 101 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nook 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nook guest house in St Ives, Cornwall, is close to the Porthmeor Surfing Beach, the Tate Gallery, St Ives Harbour and town centre.Our on-site car park means the guest house is an ideal base for exploring Cornwall’s spectacular coastline, gardens and countryside. If you want to stay closer to home you could simply soak up the beauty and atmosphere of St Ives with its art galleries and cobbled streets. The Nook offers bedrooms with full en-suite facilities and a modern and contemporary feel and has been awarded an AA 4 Star Gold Star Award for Guest Accommodation.For the safety and comfort of all our guests we operate a no smoking policy. Guests wishing to smoke may use the outside patio area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Nook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nook Hotel St Ives
Nook St Ives
Nook Hotel St Ives
The Nook St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing