We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B in a fantastic town.”
Review of The Nook

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Nook
Ranked #30 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We have been staying at the Nook 3 or 4 times a year, for the past 5 years, whilst on shortbreaks to Cornwall, from Bristol.
Ever since the very first visit John and Joan have done nothing but make us all fell very welcome. We have been so impressed each time we visit that we have, on separate occasions, taken my mother and the in-laws for a stay at the Nook; to "show off" our prize find!!
All the rooms are always spotlessly clean and well appointed, with everything you need for a relaxing, comfortable base for the duration of your stay. The whole hotel was fully refitted the close-season before we first visited the Nook and every close-season since the owners (John and his wife) undertake redecoration, carpeting and repairs where needed.
We have stayed in room 2 and room 11. Room eleven is a family room, with beds for 4 guests, while room 2 is a large double room that has the benefit of a sofa-bed, which, as we only have 1 child, is perfectly acceptable. Room 2 also has a sea view from 1 of it's 2 windows!
The breakfast selection is superb, with everything from cereal through to a full English, with the likes of croissants and salmon completing the roster! Whatever you choose, it'll be quality produce and will taste delicious!
John and the team do a great job - we look forward to seeing you again soon!
1 or 2 reviewers have mentioned that they thought the Nook was a bit pricey - well, we cannot find anything close to this standard, with on-site parking for anything like this price! And believe me, we keep looking; just so that we can feel smug about what a good deal we're getting!!

Room Tip: For a family choose room 11 or for a couple chose room 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the1utd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2012

The Nook is a modern, fresh and clean b&b. Rooms have been designed with pride and the finishing touches are clear to see. Staff and owners are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is great and variety appreciated. The only small drawback is the walk from the harbour is a little steep, but the taxi ride was £3.50 so really couldn't complain. Highly recommend this as a great b&b to stay in.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 51LPitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Guests are made to feel welcome from the moment they arrive at this small hotel/large B&B. The property is well decorated, modern and clean. My room had everything you would expect within this price-range. The cooked breakfast is excellent (but avoid the croissants, just frozen and reheated).
I had a very enjoyable stay at the Nook, with the only negative point being the location. No picturesque views unfortunately! It's a fair walk up a steep hill and further from the centre of St Ives than I normally stay. If you're a bit unfit I suggest getting a taxi when you're heading back to the Nook (not so bad when you're going down into the town!)
I'd be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nickthatsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights earlier this month on a whistle stop tour of Cornwall (with a bit of Bath thrown in on the way home). The place is lovely. The proprietors couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, even organised a bit of late summer sunshine for us (shame they couldn't iron out the hills a but though!). Food was excellent. We love St Ives and we will hopefully be staying at the Nook again next time we visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCsbrogues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Lovely welcome on arrival, spacious lounge for use of guests. Spotless bedroom, nicely decorated and smart en suite. Breakfast has everything - and so can you- nothing was too much trouble and all served with a smile.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

the nook is a wonderful hotel, clean, friendly, great hosts and great breakfast, near to the beaches and attractions, good size tv, and shower room. However Ace Taxis in the town should be avoided, booked a cab for my return journey and they did not arrive and kept diverting my call, as I had a booked train ticket I had to travel on a certain train, thankfully a guest got me to the station in time. Poor firm. Very unprofessional. The Nook however is wonderful, I would stay again and again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swampyontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

My wife and I have just returned (7/9/2012) from a five night break at the Nook Hotel in St Ives. We had a great time. We had booked Room 2 which suited us very well - the facilities are just as described on the Nook website. The bathroom is small, but recently refurbished, and quite smart. A second towel rail would be useful (either above the current one, or perhaps on the wall at the other end of the bathroom?). The bed was very comfortable, and the sofa was useful. Plenty of drawer space, plus the wardrobe (including a fridge). We appreciated the free wi-fi which worked without a hitch, and the chest high electric sockets, which meant no scrabbling around on the floor! The breakfasts were excellent, both in choice and quality, and we both ate really well. It took us about 8 minutes to walk down to the town centre, and about 20 to walk back up (though there are taxis, and also a bus service during the daytime). The onsite parking (£1 per day) was a real boon. I don't like being charged for use of a credit card, though I can understand why businesses need to do this; the Nook's additional 2% is not unreasonable, and is clearly stated beforehand, so no complaints there. The key question, of course, is ... would we stay there again, and the definite answer for us was 'Yes, we most certainly would!"

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#9 of 21 in St Ives
380 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beechwood House
Beechwood House
#18 of 21 in St Ives
76 reviews
0.2 mi away
West by Five Guest House
West by Five Guest House
#2 of 102 in St Ives
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Engine Inn
The Engine Inn
#1 of 1 in Nancledra
133 reviews
1.7 mi away
Green Apple Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Rathlena
Rathlena
#36 of 102 in St Ives
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nook

Address: 5 Ayr Terrace, St Ives TR26 1ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range: £82 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nook 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nook guest house in St Ives, Cornwall, is close to the Porthmeor Surfing Beach, the Tate Gallery, St Ives Harbour and town centre.Our on-site car park means the guest house is an ideal base for exploring Cornwall’s spectacular coastline, gardens and countryside. If you want to stay closer to home you could simply soak up the beauty and atmosphere of St Ives with its art galleries and cobbled streets. The Nook offers bedrooms with full en-suite facilities and a modern and contemporary feel and has been awarded an AA 4 Star Gold Star Award for Guest Accommodation.For the safety and comfort of all our guests we operate a no smoking policy. Guests wishing to smoke may use the outside patio area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Nook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nook Hotel St Ives
Nook St Ives
Nook Hotel St Ives
The Nook St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing