We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“holiday in st ives”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Nook

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Nook
Ranked #37 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
barnsley
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“holiday in st ives”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

This hotel was as expected and more. Rooms were cleaned daily and done discreetly. New towels were put in every other day and furnishings and bed linen clean and of high quality. The couple who run the hotel were helpful and could not do enough for you at breakfast and for information..Food at breakfast offered a wide range of foods cooked or cold..We would definitely return to this hotel. Thank you for a pleasant and relaxing stay.

John and Sharon Beard

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonBarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNookStives, Owner at The Nook, responded to this review, 9 September 2010
Thank you for your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    72
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
17
129
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

We stayed at this B&B (small hotel) in June 2010 and had done a fair bit of research ahead of choosing the Nook.

The main concern we had was the number of reviews that suggested the Nook was a long way from the centre of St Ives. The issue isn't so much the distance but the very steep incline. We didn't mind so much being fairly young but for someone less mobile, it could be an issue as the centre of St Ives is approx 10 mins walk away and its down a steep hill.

Having said that we'd gladly stay there again. St Ives is a wonderful part of England and is a great base for exploring the stunning coastal sites (Sennen Cove, Mousehole, Cape Cornwall, and St Michaels Mount among them).

The Nook is clean, did a nice breakfast and is pretty good value for money. It has the feel of a small hotel but the staff were helpful and friendly like in a B&B. The decor was pretty neutral and overall its solid place to base yourself for a break in the area.

There are loads of places to eat in St Ives and we stumbled on a gem. The Black Rock. Gorgeous modern food. A very high end dining experience without breaking the bank. Try it out.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blondie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNookStives, Owner at The Nook, responded to this review, 9 September 2010
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that your research paid dividends. We always tell potential guests that we are not in the harbour and have often recommended guest houses in the lower part of town for guest with walking difficulties. Many choose to stay with us and use the inexpensive taxis. I have personally used The Black Rock following your feedback - thanks for the tip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
190 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

Very clean guest house with modern decor. It is a 10 minute walk into the town, but 15 minutes on the return as it is uphill, but not as bad as some have made out. There is parking at the hotel which is useful in St Ives. We had room 2 which was bright with windows on three sides
Room facilities included shower, sofa, fridge, hairdryer, ample storage. The bed was a bit too soft though and the lights not bright enough to read by..
There was a pleasant deck for sitting in the sun or reading.
Breakfast was good with a buffet for cereal, yogurt, juice etc. and cooked items done to order.
Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brighton9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNookStives, Owner at The Nook, responded to this review, 12 July 2010
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your useful comments.

We have recently changed to energy efficient bulbs and it appears we may have underestimated the wattage requirements for the bedside lamps. We will change the bulbs in these lamps.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

Busy time of year so I chose The Nook as not many options and given the good feedback on Tripadviosor it felt a safe option but my reservation was it being too far out of town and for my preference it definitely was - I enjoyed the walk but not staying in a residential area (although other B&Bs around) - be warned that this is a very hilly/steep walk and much longer than the 5 minutes suggested - I don't want to rely on taxis during my holiday as being in the thick of things is what I enjoy and I do love walking but not to trek back after a day/night out.

The place itself was very clean but oddly my room wasn't made up the first day but someone had been in having left 'tea-tray biscuits' and emptied the bedroom bin, otherwise nothing was done to the bedroom & bathroom (I am clean/tidy but it's a normal thing to expect) - I was only aware of this after returing late in the day and could only advise the owners the next day (as they don't stay on the premises). Things were done as usual after that but no explanation/apology given, may too embarrassing at the time!

The breakfast was just okay but I really didnt like the time slot of 8.15-9.15am - this was unusual to me as hotel/b&B breakfasts can and do go up to 10/10.30am, and being an early rising commuter I would have preferred a later option. Check out time was 10am so perhaps wanting to avoid the clash but again other establishements manage.

I'm not sure I would stay here again only because it was just an okay all round experience for me and way too far out of town for me (although very clean place aside from my room issue above). It was my third stay in St Ives and my preferred hotel was fully booked and I missed it so much from the fantastic location just off the Porthminster beach (also view from the room), to the fantastic and plush decor, beautiful Ren bathroom products, excellent breakfasts, amazing staff and the all round uplifting experience and not for very much more in terms of cost per night - so I also have this as a reference/benchmark and I didn't expect the Nook to live up to that but given the choice I would go to my preferred place anytime for all the positive reasons above.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrankRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNookStives, Owner at The Nook, responded to this review, 12 July 2010
Thank you for your feedback.

Obviously we are disappointed that you were not delighted with your stay. We are concerned that you feel we forgot to make up your room. As you are aware, there were a variety of fragile high value camera parts left on the bed and our staff are rightly reluctant to move delicate personal items. All other aspects of the normal cleaning were completed to the high standards that have been noted in our reviews.

We are on-site approximately 18 hours a day. In addition we provide a direct telephone line from the foyer to our mobile. We explain to all guests that we are only a few minutes away if they have any problems. I regret that you did not use this facility as we would have resolved your concerns immediately.

Our Breakfast times have evolved over the years to satisfy the needs of our guests. Our breakfasts are cooked to order. Our last order time is 9.15 am and we encourage guests to have a leisurely meal and many are still in the Breakfast Room enjoying additional toast and refreshments after 10.00 am.

We can appreciate that we are not in the centre of town overlooking the beach and our prices and marketing reflect this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2010

Friendly reception, spotless rooms, excellent breakfast, free wi-fi in the rooms. It's a long way downhill to St Ives' centre - seems even longer and steeper on the way back up...

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkCommonMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNookStives, Owner at The Nook, responded to this review, 12 July 2010
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2010

It is a very clean B&B. And good value for money. The best thing is that it has parking space.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doudou611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNookStives, Owner at The Nook, responded to this review, 24 May 2010
Thank you for your kind comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2010

Well placed for galleries and access to St Ives. Excellent quality room and breakfast. Excellent service and cleanliness. Well worth booking a room with sofa. En-suite for our room was small but totally fine for average-sized people!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJ49-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheNookStives, Owner at The Nook, responded to this review, 3 May 2010
Thank you for your positive comments both here on Trip Advisor and during our discussions. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
Western Hotel
Western Hotel
#15 of 21 in St Ives
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Heights
Atlantic Heights
#13 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tregony Guest House
Tregony Guest House
#9 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
1.7 mi away
Green Apple Bed & Breakfast
1.5 mi away
Thurlestone Guest House
Thurlestone Guest House
#18 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nook

Property: The Nook
Address: 5 Ayr Terrace, St Ives TR26 1ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nook 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nook guest house in St Ives, Cornwall, is close to the Porthmeor Surfing Beach, the Tate Gallery, St Ives Harbour and town centre.Our on-site car park means the guest house is an ideal base for exploring Cornwall’s spectacular coastline, gardens and countryside. If you want to stay closer to home you could simply soak up the beauty and atmosphere of St Ives with its art galleries and cobbled streets. The Nook offers bedrooms with full en-suite facilities and a modern and contemporary feel and has been awarded an AA 4 Star Gold Star Award for Guest Accommodation.For the safety and comfort of all our guests we operate a no smoking policy. Guests wishing to smoke may use the outside patio area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Nook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nook Hotel St Ives
Nook St Ives
Nook Hotel St Ives
The Nook St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing