We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victor Meldrew stay away”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Rookery Guest House St. Ives
Ranked #39 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic week in Room 3.We can't fault anything.We get sick to death of reading the comments from moaning minnies who can't be bothered to do their research.Steps into The Rookery-Big Deal.Where you have to park-Big Deal.Location factor-Big Deal.Seagulls noise-Get A Life.
I just don't know what some people expect.
We loved it and as for the previous Moaning Minnie,stay at home next time.
John and Jaime Worthington-Perton,Staffordshire.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonzy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013

Although the place was very clean and tidy and Ron was very friendly this was not the most accessible place to stay. We had to struggle up several steep rocky steps with heavy suitcases just to get into the place. Our reserved car parking space was 400-500- yards away from the guest house, in a public car park , with an allocated parking number --a shock indeed--and your car cannot be parked at the hotel, front or back . There is a bustling bus terminus and taxi area across the road , which again was a surprise, which meant that many people could easily look up into our room, causing concerns over a lack of privacy. The room was much smaller than anticipated, and the bathroom/ wc area was small with quite a steep step to be negotiated , particularly in the dark.There was a lot of noise outside our room if the window was left open, from buses, cars, seagulls, and groups of people---a real problem in warm/hot weather. The place was nicely decorated and the breakfast roomed looked attractive. It is unlikely however that my wife and I would return.

Room Tip: not a place to stay if you have mobility problems or if you feel you must have peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Convenient to the train station, spectacular view of the harbour on the top floor, wonderful bed, the tastiest little bourbon cream biscuits, a quality breakfast, and Ron is great to chat with. I've stayed here two years running on a UK visit and hope to return every year.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank BrianC-from-the-412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Absolutely first rate B&B. Spotlessly clean, everything very tasteful and well done, marvellous view from the room of St Ives harbour, friendly couple who own it made me feel very welcome. Generous very good breakfast. Really can't fault it. The owners also collect local artists work and it is on show throughout. If you want to stay somewhere special, then this place is for you.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Stayed at this guest house with my cousin for a short break and can't rate it highly enough. Our room had fabulous views of the bay and everything in it you could want (and more). We arrived by coach and it was literally across the road from the bus stop. Breakfast was fantastic with loads of choice and the centre of town was a very easy few minutes walk. Ron and Barabara were excellent hosts and went out of their way to make our stay thoroughly enjoyable. If you're looking for accommodation in St Ives, I would urge you to stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sally g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I stayed in this guest house with my partner for my sister's 40th which she was celebrating in St Ives and we were both impressed with the hospitality of the owners, the cleanliness and the delicious breakfast served! The rooms were lovely and we had the most stunning sea view. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gabie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I cannot rate this great little place highly enough. Close to all amenities. Beautifully decorated throughout. I stayed in the suite and would have been perfectly happy to live there forever. The breakfast was fab with a great choice of dishes. Ron was a superb host, and his assistant Mags was a delight.A true home from home - only better.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room - you won't be disappointed, or if you want pure luxury - ask for the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jayne2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.7 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#8 of 21 in St Ives
646 reviews
1 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
1.4 mi away
Green Apple Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Engine Inn
The Engine Inn
#1 of 1 in Nancledra
134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,773 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rookery Guest House St. Ives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rookery Guest House St. Ives

Address: 8 The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rookery Guest House St. Ives 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Rookery Guest House St. Ives St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing