We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful views and friendly service”
Review of Lamorna Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lamorna Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“wonderful views and friendly service”
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Thank you for the warm welcome and friendly service we received. We had a ground floor room with a small patio, very comfortable and tastefully furnished on our first night. The next day we were transferred to an upstairs room, very spacious,again tastefully furnished with beautiful views overlooking the sea. Beds in both rooms were very comfortable, bathrooms spotlessly clean. Breakfast was amazing, different cereals, muesli, natural yogurt, fresh fruit, juices, and a cooked breakfast of your choice, even hot smoked mackerel and poached egg, just delicious, plus choice of different breads for toast and preserves, tea and or coffee. We would stay again.
Cheers
Rosanna and Peter
Boronia, Melbourne
Australia

Room Tip: We had 2 different rooms both very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoseRRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
78
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burnley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

This was our second stay at this small hotel and we shall be returning at a future date. Joanne and Richard, our hosts, are very friendly, nothing is too much trouble and the breakfasts cooked by Richard are excellent and substantial with plenty of choice. The bedrooms are tastefully furnished with every amenity as are the ensuites. Several of the bedrooms have lovely coastal sea views, as have the the dining room and lounge which are also nicely furnished. We would highly recommend Lamorna Lodge.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 54David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2011

We have just come back from a relaxing 4 day break at the Larmorna Lodge Hotel. We were met upon arrival by Richard who invited us into his and Joanne's home for a drink following our long journey. We were then shown to our room (Number 5) with beautiful sea views and a King size bed, our case had already been brought up to our room. Richard gave us information about local places to eat and how to get about from Carbis Bay into the centre of St Ives (either by a 3 min train journey) or via a coastal walk. Richard was knowledgable about places to eat in St Ives and we ate at a couple of these during our stay (they were fantastic - Seafood Cafe and Firehouse). Breakfast each day was served by Joanne and the service was first class, prompt and friendly. We were made to feel at home and comfortable during the full length of our stay. The hotel is in a lovely location, with a short train drive into the centre of St Ives or a relatively inexpensive taxi ride (approx £6). For anyone wanting to spend time in Cornwall, this hotel is a must.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5, it has beautiful sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mitch1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johannesburg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

I stayed at Lamorna based on comments on trip advisor. It did not surprise me as to the wonderful time I had at Lamorna. Richard and Joanne were veery friendly and helpful. The room we had did not have an ocean view, but it was nicely appointed, very clean, and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent, especially my scrambled eggs. The breakfast was served very quickly, which was great for me and my fiancé because we love to get out early to play golf, and hike. The local train into St. Ives is around the corner ( a five minute ride), or walk along the coastal path into town. It is simply breathtaking. I was happy we chose to stay on the fringes of St. Ives. Driving through the excruciatingly narrow streets of St. Ives would of been troublesome. Do not forget to get the famous and delightfully best burgers in
the world at the Blas. Extremely friendly staff. Very small place so prepare to wait in line if visiting St. Ives in July/August, which I would not recommend.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stuggerm55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We arrived at Lamorna Lodge by taxi and were immediately greeted by the owner Joanne Neil, who welcomed us and offered tea or coffee once we were settled. The breakfast was ample , with many choices plus they purchased my special milk so I was able to enjoy cereal every morning. Both Joanne and Richard were a fund of knowledge and helped us plan our day, no question was left unanswered. The room was large and clean with excellent beds and comforters.The decor very pleasing. The location was near public transportation and we were able to walk into St Ives.
We wouldnt hesitate to recommend this lovely B&B.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paloma82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We spent a lovely week with our hosts, Richard and Joanne. They were extremely helpful both while we were there and before we arrived. Great room, very clean, wonderful bed, good breakfasts, convenient location, what more can you ask for? We were certainly looked after very well. We will definitely return and can recommend this Lodge to anyone who wants to visit the Cornwall area.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jude1885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

My wife and I stayed here for two nights on 17th & 18th September 2010. Lamorna Lodge is run by the owners Richard and Joanne Neil originally from Yorkshire and have been there for six years. The Hotel has recently been refurbished to a very high standard through out.

On arrival we were welcomed by Joanne who took us to the very spacious lounge where we enjoyed a very welcomed cup of tea and biscuits.

When Joanne showed us to our room - number 6, our luggage was waiting for us! Room 6 is a very large room with a side window looking out over Carbis Bay with Hayle in the distance. Our en-suite bath room was equally as spacious with a bath and large walk in shower soft white towels and lovely bath robes! Shower gel - hand wash and a good quality of toilet paper was all available.

The bed was very comfortable - a welcome tray with generous supply of beverages and biscuits - box of tissues on the dresser - plenty of storage space and if you should feel cold a hot water bottle and fan heater was also available. It seems they have thought of every thing!

Breakfast time was a real treat - with many cereals and fresh fruit to choose from - fruit juices - nuts and berries and yogurts - but for me the English Breakfast of sausage - bacon - egg - hash brown - mushrooms - tomatoes would put many larger hotels we have stayed at to shame.

We can not speak to highly of Lamorna Lodge and would recomend to anyone. Thank you Joanne & Richard for a lovely stay - see you again soon. Albert & Margaret P-T

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank margaret4670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.8 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.2 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
1.0 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beechwood House
Beechwood House
#16 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamorna Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamorna Lodge

Property: Lamorna Lodge
Address: Boskerris Road | Carbis Bay, St Ives TR26 2NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 Speciality Lodging in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lamorna Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spacious and beautifully decorated seaside residence with 9 en-suite bedrooms. Free parking. Award winning breakfast.Highly commended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lamorna Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamorna Lodge St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing