We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“7 nights bed breakfast from rhe 21st of july 2013”
Review of Channings

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Channings
Ranked #4 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
billandann
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“7 nights bed breakfast from rhe 21st of july 2013”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

we have stayed at the channings many times over the years, the new owners susan and marcus made us very welcome and we stayed in room 4 sorry now room a , very clean and pleasant the new look breakfast room has great views over the bay,the breakfast was varied and cooked well by marcus ,i recommend his poached eggs,emmily the young waitress was very helpful and helped make our stay.we will return again in 2014.
it was also nice to see guest who we have also stayed at the channings many times, returning
if you want a special place to stay in st ives ,this is the one.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billandann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Hi Bill and Ann! Thank you for writing a review, we really appreciate it. Hope to see you both again! Susan and Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    27
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
135
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Channings for four nights in July, having arrived by train from London. St Ives is very hilly, as you might expect, and the climb to the hotel is steep. Our welcome at the hotel was friendly and sincere and the standard of the room was good. The hotel is under new ownership and the decor has been improved to an attractive standard on the ground floor, though remains rather dated in the public areas on the first and second floors. The breakfast was generous with a good selection available. This is a comfortable base for exploring St Ives provided you are able to cope with the steep climbs. Parking is available at the back of the hotel.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Channings. It is appreciated. I am glad you like the changes we have made to the breakfast room and guest lounge. We are going to close this winter and tackle the upstairs areas, so come next season it will be bright and fresh upstairs too! Thanks again, Susan and Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings,England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Channings is a great place to use as a base,we were there for just 2 days of a motorcycling tour but it was perfect for our needs,and bike friendly! Well placed just a short walk from the town and with very useful parking at the rear.We stayed in room number 7,it was a fine room with a nice view over the bay and was very bright and clean,but be aware,the seagulls do get you up quite early,it is a seaside town afterall!.The breakfast menu is very good as is the dining area,again very bright and clean.
Susan was a friendly and welcoming host and even let us stay on in the T.V. room on our check out day when I was feeling unwell,we left later that day,and throughout Susan kept checking on my well being.
All in all,we had a very enjoyable stay,would stay there again and would highly recommend to all.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VmaxMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Hello! Thank you for writing a review. It is very much appreciated! Hope you are fully recovered and hope to see you both again! Kind regards, Susan and Marcus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

A relaxed and friendly atmosphere at this hotel ,with stunning views of St.Ives .The breakfast room is light and airy and that together with a varied menu is a great start to the day.

Susan is a friendly and able host and has quickly made her mark on the hotel after just a year.

For those without a car the view comes at a price.The hotel is situated at the stop of a steep hill but the climb provides a regular 'cardio workout'

The hotel is only five or ten minutes from the centre of St.Ives which itself is an easily navigated town.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deepymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to write a review. It is always good to hear how our guests feel about their time with us. I hope your train journey back to Bonny Scotland went without a hitch! All the best, Susan and Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

A really convenient walk into town, car parking and an ensuite room meant we had everything we needed, (It couldn't have been more than five minutes into town from the B&B so we could come and go as we pleased throughout the day, dropping things off or getting ready for dinner).

The breakfast was great with loads of choice and they helped as much as they could with my food allergies so i felt confident eating the food.

The views from the dining area were fantastic and there is also a sitting room and benches out the front if you wanted to admire the coastline.

Susan was really friendly and made the effort to chat to the guests and make everyone feel at home.

If we visit St Ives again we will definitely stay at Channings again.

Room Tip: Even the small room isn't tiny so don't be put off!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettyxoxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review and saying such nice things! We hope you do come to St Ives and stay with us again! Thanks, Susan and Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

we stayed in room 1 which we thought was of good standard with lovely views across the resort towards porthminster beach.

Susan is extremely friendly and welcoming, nothing too much trouble and happy to help & talk.

Breakfast was really good quality too in a pleasant room, again with views and friendly staff.

Will definitely stay here again on our next visit to St Ives, for now we have a hand decorated shell painted by one of the children as a momento!

Karen & David

Room Tip: room 1 has great views and only 1 floor up
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenbrown135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Hi Karen and David and thank you for taking the time to write a review for Channings. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again at some point in the future! All the best, Susan and Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed with here with friends in May 2013 visiting from Australia. This is a lovely B & B. Rooms were excellent, breakfast was also top quality. Susan and Marcus made us feel very welcome. Thank you Susan for doing our washing, it was very much appreciated. We loved this area of Cornwall and would highly recommend a stay at Channings St Ives.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Hi Brian! Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Channings. We really appreciate it. It was lovely to meet the four of you. We hope the rest of your travels in the UK went well. Susan and Marcus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,659 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
257 reviews
1.1 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
963 reviews
0.3 mi away
West by Five Guest House
West by Five Guest House
#2 of 102 in St Ives
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings

Property: Channings
Address: 3 Talland Road, St Ives TR26 2DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run Guest House with free on-site parking in St Ives. Channings is close to the beaches, shops, station, coach terminal and leisure centre. All rooms are ensuite, with tea/coffee making facilities; some with stunning sea views. We have large family rooms available. The property is centrally heated throughout with breathtaking view from the guest lounges. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel St Ives
Channings St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing