We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and welcoming”
Review of Channings

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Channings
Ranked #4 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Friendly and welcoming”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We stayed here for a few days and were very pleased with it -- excellent value for money. A lovely welcome with a cup of tea and a good bye at the car when we left. I echo the other reviewers when I say the breakfast was excellent -- Susan and Marcus you're doing a great job

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenwre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thank you so much for your review! Kind regards, Susan and Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    27
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
126
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mile End
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

We are from Australia, so were impressed that they took us at our word when we booked a few months ago... Simply because we were from overseas. None of trying to send Money Orders or Cheques. Susan's emails were also very friendly and "chatty". The room "A" was not the best view, but very large compared with most English B &B's. Great to spread out! breakfast had the best Muesli we have had, fresh REAL fruit salad, and fresh yogurt. huge cooked breakfasts also. Susan and Marcus went out of their way to be helpful. Sure, getting cases upstairs is a drag, but large KINGsize bed was fantastic. Well worth it.
Our travelling friends had the top floor, with a fantastic view, and heaps of fresh air. Only thing was... No shower, bath only. ((For those from Australia who would "assume" an ensuite meant a shower, a bit disappointing considering it had the best outlook of all rooms.) When a comment was made that their were no hooks to hang anything.. Miraculously one appeared!! service.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank deanbO1363QG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Yvonne and Dean, thank you so much for your review. It was a pleasure to meet you and we are pleased that you enjoyed your time in St Ives. Good luck with the rest of your travels! Susan and Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here Aug 2013 in room 3. Susan and Marcus are really friendly hosts and provide an extremely warm welcome. Ideal location for central St. Ives - we walked to restaurants at night. Free Car Parking. Breakfast is excellent. Fresh fruit salad and yoghurt + full English = wow!!

You can tell Susan and Marcus have plans for this place. They took over last year. I guess it will take them a couple of years to get it how they want it. But we'll be going back in the future. I'll be asking for a firmer bed next time though! :-) Oh - and be prepared for seagull noise! It is the seaside after all.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you very much for writing a review. I may have to consider complimentary ear plugs when the seagulls get going!! Thanks again, Susan and Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed here again at the beginning of August after staying at channings around 9 years ago!
Sue and Marcus have done a great job of renovating the place and giving it a more modern feel.
The bedrooms have wifi and are spacious and clean, the choice of breakfast is fab, all well cooked and plentiful, i can recommend the mushrooms!!
We met up with my parents half way through their holiday who were also staying here, and we were chuffed that the table had been set up so the four of us could eat together!
We had a brilliant time here, as St Ives has always been a favourite of ours, we look forward to returning!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gem2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Hi Gemma. How kind of you to write a review. It was lovely to meet you both and we are pleased you like the changes so far. Hope you can visit again in the future and see the next phase of changes! Thanks again, Susan and Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We both had a wonderful stay here. The staff are very friendly and the breakfast was great. The location is very good and the view from the room was also fantastic.

Each day the room was cleaned to a high standard and we always received a lovely welcome at breakfast.

We would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby06London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Very much appreciated. Thanks again, Susan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We have recently spent 10 nights in the Channings Hotel and we had a very pleasant stay. Never been to St. Ives before and we definitely made a very good choice on where to stay. We stayed in a family room with one raised bunk and a double bed. It was a very spacious room and we had plenty of clothing space. Along with that we had a lovely sea view. The room was cleaned daily to a very high standard, even my daughter's teddies were put in a cute position! The hosts were very welcoming and informed us about good attractions in St. Ives. Breakfast was delicious and there was lots of choice including: fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, toast, choice of coffee or tea, orange juice, a cooked breakfast and continental. The standard of the food was first class. Marcus and Susan were also kind enough to loan us a wetsuit for our daughter. We have really enjoyed our stay and will be returning!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Hi Peter, Jane and Alex! Thank you so much for writing a review for Channings. We really do appreciate it. We hope you made it safely home and the car wasn't too full of bodyboards etc!! We hope to see you all again here. Regards, Susan, Marcus and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My partner and I stayed fro a couple of days here recently and our experience was wonderful. We were met by Susan on arrival who made us a pot of tea and chatted like long lost friends, we found out that my partner and here had been very close neighbours until Susan and Marcus decided to buy Channings and escape the London rat race...I really hope it works out for them as on our evidence thay have made the right decision.
The room was spacious (to the side of the house but as we had made a late booking that was fine), clean and very comfortable. The hotel has free parking which is a huge bonus for St Ives. Breakfast was superbly cooked to order and there was pretty much nothing our hosts couldn't help us with (all while bringing up a family, I think they were born to the hotel trade)
We will certainly be visiting again and may well join their growing list of regular visitors, book early!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cossie93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review. It is very important to us that you feel at home here. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we hope that you will indeed become Channings regulars! Hope to see you again soon, Susan and Marcus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
1.2 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
West by Five Guest House
West by Five Guest House
#2 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings

Property: Channings
Address: 3 Talland Road, St Ives TR26 2DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run Guest House with free on-site parking in St Ives. Channings is close to the beaches, shops, station, coach terminal and leisure centre. All rooms are ensuite, with tea/coffee making facilities; some with stunning sea views. We have large family rooms available. The property is centrally heated throughout with breathtaking view from the guest lounges. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel St Ives
Channings St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing