We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“***Highly recommend this b&b***”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Channings

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Channings
Ranked #4 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“***Highly recommend this b&b***”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We have stayed here before Susan & Marcus took over, so we didn't know what to expect we had booked in for a week. Well let me start by saying they could not do enough for us from the minute we got there. The room had been recently decorated in lovely modern way. The same can be said for downstairs which is newly renovated to a very modern style.

The atmosphere feels very chilled and relaxed you can come and go as you please it's like home from home, this reflects how welcoming Susan and Marcus are.

We loved it that much we have booked in for next year and this time for two weeks.

Roll on 2014

Victoria & Scott

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Hi Scott and Victoria. Thank you for the lovely review. We are really happy that you enjoyed yourselves and that you are coming back. See you next year! Susan and Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    27
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
122
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redhill
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed for just one night for a friends wedding. Room was lovely and beds comfortable with a lovely bathroom and shower.
The owners are lovely and go out of their way to help you.
Breakfast was lovely as well, would def stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deedee82Redhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay! That's what matters. Kind regards, Susan and Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We have just spent two nights in the Channing bed and breakfast in St Ives. The owners Susan and Marcus are very accommodating with a relaxed and laid back atmosphere.

Our room was a good size with plenty of storage and nice big shower, the rooms are a bit dated but are comfortable with everything you need,

Susan recommended some nice walks and attractions which didn't disappoint and we started each day off with a lovely full english.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBerts123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for your review. It is appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your stay! All the best, Susan and Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Me and my husband stayed here for a weekend in august and really enjoyed our stay. On arrival we were met by the owners who made us feel most welcome. We had an amazing, spacious room with great views over st ives. We are returning to st ives next year and will definately be booking channings again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pendwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you both again next year! Kind regards, Susan and Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

stayed for the one night Saturday 7th Sept at the start of our walk along the South West Coast Path. A warm welcome and a very nice room, warm and comfortable. Great breakfast to set us up for the day. well worth the money and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is appreciated. Susan and Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

It was a lovely place and lovely people who would do anything for you. My single room was very clean and tidy and had a comfortable bed, nice shower, tea and coffee and nice other facilities in the room. The breakfast was great, lots of choice. The place is wonderful , It is excellent value for money and i am going back very soon :)

Room Tip: i was in a single room as i was on my own..the single rooms are lovely, clean and tidy and i have st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Hi Jo! Thanks for your kind words! Hope to see you again soon at Channings. Regards, Susan and Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Now I know why there are no photos of the rooms on the website. Even for a single, my room was *tiny* and extremely dull. There was a single bed, a small night stand, and that was it. Not one picture on the plain white walls. Tired-looking carpet. There were no toiletries; the soap in the bathoom was the end of a pump bottle from the supermarket. There was no luggage rack so I had to leave my suitcase on the floor which in an already tiny room was a challenge. The mattress springs were so creaky that everytime I rolled over it woke me up. No bedside clock and the lamp was up on the window ledge. Breakfast was quite tasty but you had to order it the night before. I don't know what would happen if you wanted to change your mind. Very little local information, and the lounge furniture wasn't very comfortable. It was literally just a bed and a breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewtonsMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
How sad that you felt this way about your one night stay at Channings.

The title “lacking all the niceties” seems unfair. We are a family run guesthouse and this is reflected in the prices we charge. Our aim is to provide our guests with good quality bed and breakfast in a friendly and relaxing environment. In addition, we are lucky enough to have the space to set aside two sitting rooms for guests (one with sea views and the other with TV, fridge, books, board games etc.), plus an outside sun terrace and free parking for all our guests.

Marcus and I bought Channings last year and we have not yet had a chance to tackle all of our bedrooms. We have bedrooms of various sizes. Unfortunately, when you booked in for the one night, the only room we had free to offer you was this single room. We have yet to refurbish it and this is reflected in the price we charged. You have made some valid points regarding this room, and these will be addressed when we close in October for several months, to continue with our refurbishment. However, your description is somewhat inaccurate as there is more to the room than you suggest. There is hanging space, an antique chest of drawers with mirror above, a wall mounted flat screen TV, a Lloyd Loom chair and an en-suite shower room. I do concede that it is our smallest room.

As regards the breakfast slips, they allow for a more efficient and organised breakfast time and prevent unnecessary wastage. This system works well and guests occasionally change their mind in the morning, which is perfectly OK with us.

As regards local information, I believe I recommended among other things, the Porthmeor Beach Cafe which I pointed out to you on the map of St Ives I gave you. As I recall, during our chat that evening, you remarked that you had an enjoyable meal there. I may not have suggested as many local attractions as usual due to the fact that you were only in St Ives for one night. We have free packs for guests in the hallway which are full of all the various attractions in and around St Ives and Cornwall.

Thank you for your comments, and I hope the rest of your trip in the UK and your journey back home to the USA went well. Kind regards, Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
1.2 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
West by Five Guest House
West by Five Guest House
#2 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings

Property: Channings
Address: 3 Talland Road, St Ives TR26 2DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run Guest House with free on-site parking in St Ives. Channings is close to the beaches, shops, station, coach terminal and leisure centre. All rooms are ensuite, with tea/coffee making facilities; some with stunning sea views. We have large family rooms available. The property is centrally heated throughout with breathtaking view from the guest lounges. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel St Ives
Channings St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing