We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very lucky find”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Channings

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Channings
Ranked #4 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“A very lucky find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We loved our room in the attic with the beautiful sea view. Susan and Marcus made us both so welcome even providing us with two cushions for our night out at minack theatre!
Breakfast was delishous too.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trekred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for the review. It was great meeting you both and I hope the rest of your holiday went well. All the best, Susan and Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    27
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
122
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was my first stay at Channings but I'm hoping it won't be the last.

After a long drive from London we couldn't have had a warmer welcome from Susan. Their gorgeous B & B is the perfect base to explore St Ives from. Our room (number 7) was cosy, clean and had an amazing sea view. The B & B had two lovely lounges for us to use, a bright and sunny breakfast room and the atmosphere was super relaxed. Breakfasts were delicious each morning with plenty of tea and coffee on tap.

They have obviously worked hard to make this a real home away from home and its really working. Would definitely recommend and very much hope to return.

Sarah

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miss_g_2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review Sarah. We enjoyed having you here and hope you had a good journey back to London. All the best, Susan and Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

A wonderful family run guesthouse just a stones throw from the shops and the beach. Had a lovely warm welcome on arrival, the hotel is clean and homely. My room was gorgeous, freshly decorated with a lovely view. Use of a lovely comfortable lounge for reading and chilling out after a day on the beach. Gorgeous breakfasts every morning. Plenty of good quality food and Susan could not be more attentive.

A really lovely family and a great stay - I will definitely return.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your review Jo. Really appreciate it and hope to see you again! Thanks, Susan, Marcus and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed at The Channings on our 1st visit to St Ives. Susan made us feel very welcome. Had a room with fabulous view of the sea and the town. Great breakfast, parking space and an extra plus for the library/living room beside the breakfast room. Only a short walk to the town center and beach. Would stay here again.

Janet W

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We really appreciate it. Glad you enjoyed your stay, despite the weather! Regards, Susan and Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

A thoroughly enjoyable 5 days, Channings really is a ‘Home from Home’. Susan and Marcus have high professional standards with an added personal, friendly touch. The breakfast was without doubt a highlight, a pleasant welcoming each morning overlooking turquoise sea views and fresh food made to order. A beautiful 5 minute walk into town centre was also a highlight, returning to a freshly cleaned room. Nothing was a problem. The ease of off the road parking on arrival took a massive burden off our long journey as parking in St Ives is known to be a problem. We are very much looking forward to returning, hopefully sooner than later! Thank You kindly Suzanne and Sean.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lipseys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Thank you for review. Really appreciate it. Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Six of us have just had a lovely long weekend staying at Channings. Susan and Marcus are wonderful hosts and made us all feel most welcome. When one of our party suffered a twisted ankle, an ice pack was quickly provided and everything we needed for a take away supper instead of the planned meal out. My room was at the front, with a stunning view and newly renovated. The breakfast was really good with delicious fresh fruit salad, home made granola, all the cooked elements and croissants too. When all the planned renovations are completed, this will be a top notch place to stay and we loved it already! The two new rooms up in the eaves will be ready shortly and these will be stylish and quirky.

Room Tip: Go for the new rooms in the attic - they will be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
It was great fun having you here! The top rooms are finished now and images will soon appear on website and Facebook page! Thanks for review, Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 night stay and cannot say how happy we were with channings. We arrived late and were greeted by Susan and Marcus who immediately made us feel welcome. They have recently refurbished the place and have done an amazing job, the rooms are decorated to a high standard, are roomy and bright. We had a sea view which was a great way to wake up and start the day. It is situated a short walk from the town centre and beaches and had the added benefit of free parking. Will definitely be returning and will be recommending to friends and family. Thanks again Susan and Marcus for making our stay so enjoyable

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pendwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan W, Owner at Channings, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for coming back! It was lovely to see you both again. Hope you make it back soon, Susan and Marcus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
1.2 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
West by Five Guest House
West by Five Guest House
#2 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings

Property: Channings
Address: 3 Talland Road, St Ives TR26 2DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run Guest House with free on-site parking in St Ives. Channings is close to the beaches, shops, station, coach terminal and leisure centre. All rooms are ensuite, with tea/coffee making facilities; some with stunning sea views. We have large family rooms available. The property is centrally heated throughout with breathtaking view from the guest lounges. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel St Ives
Channings St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing