We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
No8 Windsor Terrace
Ranked #42 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We stayed in the front bedroom at No. 8 for 9 nights in August and had the most relaxing holiday we've had in a long time. The room is very comfortable with great views of St. Ives and the bay. We loved the fact that we didn't have to be up and down for breakfast at the crack of dawn, and the facilities in the room meant we could have a light breakfast which suited us as we ate out a lot the rest of the time. Having the small refrigerator also meant we had somewhere to store cold meat, pate, cheese etc for a couple of nights when we didn't feel like going out again and Roy invited us to bring back a takeaway any time we wanted to. Roy and Vickie are lovely, friendly hosts, who were helpful if we needed anything but left us to our own devices otherwise. We loved St Ives and hope to make a return visit. When we do, we wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sprite59_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

pros - Lovely room, Clean, Well decorated, Good shower, Friendly Owner, less than 5 mins walk to town

Cons - On a 25% hill will need to be fit, road outside appears to be unadopted and is in poor condition

Overall - Nice Stay, great accomodation

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sammyJonesChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This June we stayed at No. 8 Windsor Terrace but in "The Loft". Very peaceful and quiet. We enjoyed a laid back 5 days pleasing ourselves what we did. We ate out at a couple of places, one nice one was the SeaFood Restaurant. Somedays we ate in the Loft to chill out. Walks along the coast were great, saw lots of bird life enjoyed the great scenery. Roy and Vickie looked after us as always. Such nice people.
Definitely will stay again whe3n we are back in St IVes.

Room Tip: The bedroom and bathroom are downstairs and nice and peaceful. The Loft is separate from No. 8 by a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 270Martin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Discovered this gem and spent a fantastic week end there with spouse. Roy and Vicki are enchanting, happy to talk and laugh with you, or to leave you to your own devices if you prefer. Incredibly generous with their time, and went out of their way to help on arrival. Rooms are glorious. Would recommend without hesitation. Particularly enjoyed the beers left in the fridge for arrival.Already planning to return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siobhan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Myself and my girlfriend have just returned from a two night stay at No.8 and what can we say, it was brilliant. Roy helped us out a lot when we arrived as we ended up on the wrong street but he came and showed us where to go, he even helped guide my car to the parking space and helped with our luggage. The bedroom was lovely and cosy and very clean, the bed was really comfortable and we actually got a better nights sleep than we do at home! When visiting St Ives again in the future I will definitely be returning and would highly recommend anyone else to stop at No.8.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My wife and I were visiting St. Ives for her birthday, and Roy and Vickie were most welcoming, making us feel at home - Roy even kindly picked us up from the railway station!

The room was cosy and equipped with a fridge, toaster, kettle and a range of teas and coffee to make a simple breakfast in bed, if required!

Vickie recommended some good places to eat in the town, and we weren't disappointed.

All-in-all, a comfortable and relaxing stay and my wife had a fantastic birthday stay. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OotSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We spent two happy nights in the flat with a sea view and wished we could have stayed longer!
Our initial impression, after negotiating some very narrow roads to reach the property, was that we were a bit out of the town but in actual fact it took only five minutes or so to walk down to Fore Street and all the shops. Coming back uphill took slightly longer but certainly kept us fit!
The flat was very well heated and contained some lovely old furniture. We were there during some of the really bad storms but found the place a haven of peace and quiet. The bed was king size and really comfortable.
Roy and Vickie were perfect hosts and, as other visitors have noted, very welcoming and helpful.
We thought this flat was remarkably good value and would happily recommend it as a base to explore St Ives.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.4 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
The Engine Inn
The Engine Inn
#1 of 1 in Nancledra
134 reviews
1.3 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
1.5 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
296 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#6 of 21 in St Ives
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No8 Windsor Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No8 Windsor Terrace

Address: 8 Windsor Terrace | Cornwall, St Ives TR26 1DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range: £40 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South-facing Victorian granite terrace overlooking St. Ives Town and bay. Rooms are let on a room only basis and are equipped with kettle, toaster, fridge and tea and coffee. Shops and restaurants are only three minutes away and the beaches not much further. We have two double rooms, one fully en-suite, the other with ensuite shower room, and a self-catering apartment which will sleep four. Some parking is available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
No8 Windsor Terrace St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing