We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Top class holiday rental with traditional charm”
other travellers have booked this property
Kittiwake Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kittiwake Cottage
Kittiwake Cottage in the sun Front Bedroom - made up as twin or super king bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Kittiwake Cottage
Kittiwake Cottage in the sun
Front Bedroom - made up as twin or super king bed
Front living room with views of the harbour
Dining room with courtyard garden
Kitchen, new grey tiles, tap, wooden floor and wooden worktop for spring 2018
Breakfast in the courtyard garden
Hallway
Bathroom - family
King bedroom with ensuite bathroom
Door to the ensuite in king bedroom
King bedroom on the first floor
Front Bedroom - wake up to sea and harbour views
Stairs to the lookout bedroom on top floor
The Lookout twin bedroom - double aspect views over St Ives
The Lookout - twin beds
New wood burning stove - perfect with a glass of wine!
Heated outdoor shower - perfect to wash off the sand after surfing!
the amazing view taken from the Lookout room
Summer in St Ives
Porthgwidden Beach - a little secret beach!
St Ives Harbour beach- a working fishing harbour and always a sunny spot for a coffee
Porthmeor Beach - for surfing and for rock pools
Portminster Beach - big, sandy, family friendly, gentle waves
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
St Ives, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
trinity12...
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top class holiday rental with traditional charm”
Reviewed 13 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Recently subject to some refurbishment, Kittiwake Cottage is comfortably furnished, well-appointed and full of charm. The beds are probably the most comfortable we have ever had in a holiday rental. The location, just above the town, is convenient and quiet. Although the cottage is on quite a busy street, passing vehicles didn't bother us, day or night. We enjoyed our days in St Ives and also explored further afield. Although there are restrictions on dogs being taken on most beaches in St Ives during summer months, it's possible the walk them in the harbour. We found a superb beach for dog walks at Gwithian Towans with car parking just above the beach and a lovely cafe.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainedear...
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Week is not enough!”
Reviewed 30 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Waited 25 years to visit St Ives and it did not disappoint. Plenty to see and to do in town and nearby, even when the weather temporarily failed. Dogs loved the walks and beaches, Cornwall must be the dog friendliest place in the country!

We loved the beautifully appointed cottage, it suited us to perfection, great location for the beach as well as the town. The views from the lookout loft, where the teenagers disappeared at any given opportunity, were just fabulous!

We won’t be waiting for 25 years for the next visit that’s for sure!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Selina R
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kittiwake Cottage... what a lovely place ”
Reviewed 30 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We came down to St. Ives over half term and booked this lovely house for our visit. Situated on the hill above Porthminster Beach it is just out of the hustle and bustle but close enough to walk into town. The kitchen was well equipped, the lounge had a log burner, which we didn’t get chance to use as it was quite mild and the central heating kept us warm. The beds were comfortable and there are great views from the front bedroom and the loft room. Charlotte called us on Saturday morning to make sure everything was ok and we were safe during Storm Brian. There was also a welcome pack for our arrival, which was a lovely touch. I thoroughly recommend Kittiwake Cottage. We come to St Ives a lot and if we come down as a bigger group again, I will certainly be rebooking.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lpenman20...
Mansfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Peaceful, Relaxful and Autumnal Sunny weather!”
Reviewed 20 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Stayed here late September with our 5 month spaniel and we had a lovely time!
We were so lucky with the weather and the dog ban on the beaches had been lifted so had some gorgeous walks. The house was very comfortable and beautifully decorated and we had everything we needed. Ideally situated, just need to be aware of the cars coming round the bend, but otherwise perfect! We mainly ate out and some of our most enjoyable meals were at the Porthminster Kitchen, Caffe Pasta (amazing squid & great prices), Alba (for somewhere fancy). There is a lot of choice! It was very dog friendly and found ourselves mostly sat outside having a coffee chatting to other dog owners! If you get chance have a walk along the craggy coastal path past Porthmeor beach (you'll see Godrevy Lighthouse in the distance). The first night we saw a seal and on the last day we saw a dolphin. So all in all, great house, great location and fab weather! p.s Charlotte is very helpful and there are loads of information in the house to plan your days!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sophie H
Bath
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect family bolt-hole in St Ives”
Reviewed 21 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The cottage is perched on a corner of the hill, with views from the bedrooms of St Ives harbour and an easy 5-10 minute walk to the main street and harbour. The cottage had everything we needed, including a well-equipped kitchen (with several cafetieres - very important for our coffee-loving family!), comfy sofas with games and smart tv for the evening, and very comfortable and quiet bedrooms. The decor is light and tasteful, with some fun nautical features, and we immediately relaxed and felt at home. I'm sure we will be booking again next time we have a group holiday to Cornwall. Thanks for making it such a welcoming place to stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing