We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it! Great B&B ideally located.”
Review of 27 The Terrace

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
27 The Terrace
Ranked #10 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here in October as a birthday treat and I absolutely loved everything about this hotel. When we checked in we were greeted by one of the owners who was very friendly and welcoming and offered us a room upgrade to a deluxe garden view room which was lovely. The room was spotless and the decor (as with the rest of the hotel) was tastefully done. The bed just looked comfortable with a thick mattress & fluffy pillows and didn't disapoint. There were your average basic tea and coffee making facilities in the room but also the added bonus of a Nespresso Coffee machine too which I thougt was a nice touch. In the morning we enjoyed a great selection of breakfast treats including a fantastic cooked breakfast whilst taking in the fantastic view overlooking Porthminster Beach.
I can't recommend this B&B enough. It's ideally located for a short walk into the town, the service is second to none and the accomodation and breakfast is definitely value for money. I wouldn't hesitate in staying here again and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

My partner and I visited No.27 The Terrace in July this year for 4nights and were truly impressed with this b&b (which is more like a boutique hotel), the decor and furnishing are to a very high standard and the place is kept spotlessly clean. We went for a deluxe garden view room, which was lovely, and quieter than the seaview rooms, which have a little road noise. No.27 has a fantastic location, it is just 5mins walk to St Ives Bay and overlooks the beautiful Porthminster beach (one of the best in the UK). We found the owners very friendly and accommodating and especially enjoyed the fantastic selection at breakfast, which really set us up for our days out exploring Cornwall. The free onsite parking (at the back of the building) is also a huge plus in St Ives. I could not recommend no.27 The Terrace highly enough and would definitely return.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kate w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Beautifuly appointed top end B&B, more boutique hotel accommodation than an B&B. Only stayed one night as we had a meeting in the town and we actually only live half an hour away. We wanted to sample St. Ives of an evening.

Our room (no.1) was large, roomy, exceptionally clean, well appointed, comfortable bed with a garden view. Breakfast was served in a bright, clean, nicely decorated dining room - excellent choice of cereal, fruit, yoghurts, croissants, Cornish Yarg and cooked breakfast. Delightful and filling - wish I was there for another couple of days to try more of the breakfast delights.

Parking was not a problem. Lots of steps at the back, not a problem for us, but may be if you are unsteady on your feet.

Near the town (downhill on the way). Beautiful views at the front.

Would recommend should anyone wish a more up market B&B than you usaully find. Lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We were lucky enough to have one of the top floor rooms with a sea view and it was worth every penny. The rooms were comfortable and beautifully decorated, while the owners were friendly and accommodating - even finding a bottle of champagne at short notice so we could celebrate our engagement. There was so much choice at breakfast and you could eat as much as you liked - all good quality ingredients. The location is great for Porthminster Beach and it's a 5 minute walk into town. Felt very at home and would return again.

Room Tip: It is worth paying for a sea view here or at least a garden view room on the top floor as a few of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Exceptional service, great breakfasts, big and immaculate rooms with all the conveniences you could hope for. We had a wonderful time and highly recommend 27. It was perched higher on the hill, so if walking up hills is an issue for you, then it's something you'd want to factor in to your decision as it probably takes about 10 minutes to walk down to the water and then it's pretty much all uphill coming back. But unless you're really unfit, then it's not an issue at all and still a very nice walk.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Modern and comfortable rooms. There is a choice for everyone at breakfast. Literally a 5 minute walk to the bars and restaurants. Friendly staff and it's great value for money. U won't find much better than this in st ives that's for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROBBO089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stumbled across 27 The Terrace while looking on the internet before a trip to St.Ives.

Their web site is clear and easy to navigate and the booking was acknowledged by return email - the booking of a room was easy and professional, now just the 7hr drive.

On entering the Guest House I believed I was entering Into a boutique hotel, it is elegant and beautifully furnished and the details lifts this into another league. If this is a guest house may I never stay in another hotel, I will say this is the nicest place I have stayed in over 10 years.

Let's look in more detail at our stay:

The Reception:
Was warm and was made to feel welcome. We were shown to the room and given a clear explanation how everything worked.

Car Parking:
The parking is at the rear of the property and there is ample space for all, there are a number of steps down into the hotel and through a loverly garden.

The Room:
The rooms have either a sea or garden view, but all very pleasant, and as said this could be mistaken for a boutique hotel. On the way to the room (no5) you go up a sweeping stair case. The room itself was well presented having a super king bed, tv fridge, safe and ample storage. The window had louvered shutters and there was a radio with iPod Dock (old adaptor) there was a range of tea and coffee and an espresso maker.

The ensuite was of the same excellent standard with a comfortable bath (I'm 6'4") and shower, demisting mirror and ample towels.

The room was made up daily, towels replaced as used, and coffee, tea and espresso refilled.

Phone &WiFi:
Good mobile phone signal if needed, and the Guest house provides free WiFi. One slight criticism was the wifi did drop out at times.

The Atmosphere:
Relaxed & helpful, they want you to enjoy your stay. One morning I overheard a guest asked if after breakfast they could sit and read in the breakfast room, the reply was "not a problem, I will get you a more comfortable chair to sit in" I don't know if she did read in the breakfast room, but to me that was a sign of thoughtful customer service.

Breakfast:
There was a selection of fruit, yogurt, croissants, cheese and juices to help yourself, then there was a selection of cooked breakfasts, over the 4 days we sampled most on the menu and they were excellent.

Location:
Situated about a five minute walk from the town and a couple of minutes from the bus or train station and on the road system that stops you getting lost in the narrow centre of town streets. This is an excellent place to explore the town and wider area from.

Value:
This is not the cheapest in the town, but it is far, far from being the most expensive at £110 per night but it is one of the nicest and will be my first choice when I next visit St.Ives.

Note:
If you have a mobility problem there are lots of stairs and steps, and although there are rooms on the ground floor this may not be for you, but in this case nor would St.Ives with all its hills be a place you may wish to visit.

Room Tip: Tip: Have a nice long hot bath, sipping an expresso, leave the bathroom door open and watch TV - de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#9 of 21 in St Ives
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,735 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
978 reviews
0.3 mi away
West by Five Guest House
West by Five Guest House
#2 of 102 in St Ives
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 27 The Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 27 The Terrace

Address: 27 The Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled above Porthminster beach with stunning views overlooking the beautiful waters of St Ives bay, this is one location you’re sure to love. We have 8 elegant and stylish en-suite bedrooms in our period Georgian house, and a studio apartment next door. There is free onsite parking, a private walled garden with sun terrace, and it's only a two minute stroll into town.... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
27 The Terrace Hotel St Ives
27 The Terrace St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing