We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”
Review of The Old Vicarage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Vicarage
Ranked #20 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We recently stayed for 7 nights at The Old Vicarage in St Ives and had a wonderful stay. The facilities are excellent and extremely comfortable. As a B & B breakfast was included and was fantastic experience, all the usual ,plus some Cornwall specials to try eg kippers and fish cakes. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful ,particularly the wonderful breakfast staff , Gemma and Kirra . The Old Vicarage is literally a home away from home!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonilab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

The Old Vicarage is a beautifully furnished and very comfortable place. We stayed 7 nights there and enjoyed every morning a different delicious breakfast and liked the nice atmosphere that Dianne created. Even the walk down to the City of St. Ives (about 15 minutes) was a wonderful possibility to get wonderful views of the beaches at Tate St. Ives. We spent perfect days there and liked it very much! Thank you once again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabiane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed in mid May for 6 nights and are intending going back in late summer. This small family run hotel is an absolute delight. The breakfasts are just about as good as it gets, served by a delightful young lady who started on our first day there and was obviously made for the job. Surprisingly cosmopolitan, for most of the week we were the only English guests, which made for interesting breakfast conversations. The hotel is spotlessly clean and all the rooms are very good.If one were to make any slightly negative comments it would be that the bed in our room was probably ready for replacement and the shower had absolutely nowhere to put your potions which is easily rectified by a trip to B&Q.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alfie057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed three days and four nights, each day driving from the hotel, exploring the coast from Penzance to Port Isaac, enjoying Tate St. Ives and the Barbara Hepworth museum, the Minack Theatre and Lands End, helped by advice and guidance from Dianne and Simon. Coming in each evening to a quiet, comfortable bedroom was a bit like coming home. The house is modern in all its comforts but retains its Victorian character, and reminded me of a large, old family home, comfortable but informal. I liked the cosy, dark red plush 'bar' and the spacious breakfast room filled with plates, china, and sideboards in keeping with the era. The cooked to order breakfasts were delicious, and the service provided by two very pleasant young women was quick and flawless. Our room, with lots of windows, plenty of mirrors and closet space, was warm, clean and attractive. In short, the Old Vicarage met all of our needs. There is plenty of space in the hotel's parking lot, and places to relax in the garden. The town of St. Ives lies downhill, making the hotel's location very quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Had a wonderful stay with a young child at this lovely family run hotel. Our room was exceptionally clean and we were supplied with a travel cot which was much appreciated. Great breakfast also! Thanks Dianne & Martin :-)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely rooms and great cooked breakfasts. Also a beautiful garden in which to sit at dawn and dusk. We had a very enjoyable weekend in St Ives. That's it basically but TripAdvisor is making me keep writing to fill up 200 characters.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank mark4harrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I received a very warm welcome from Dianne at this delightful guest house. It has very comfortable rooms, which were well-equipped and charmingly decorated to reflect the period of the property. The location was quiet and there was plenty of car parking space in the lovely grounds. The breakfast menu offered plenty of choice and everything I tried was delicious (the "Full Cornish" was a massive plateful and very tasty!). St Ives offers something for everyone: lovely sandy beaches, scenic walks, art galleries, lots of interesting shops and a good selection of restaurants, bars and cafes. The Rum and Crab Shack has a relaxed and friendly atmosphere and the food was superb (I loved the squid in tempura batter and the prawn and crab jambalaya). Car parking in the town is limited so leave the car at The Old Vicarage, enjoy a leisurely walk down to the town and take one of the many taxis available to get you back up the hill at the end of the day. I'm looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.8 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,756 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#8 of 21 in St Ives
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
27 The Terrace
27 The Terrace
#10 of 102 in St Ives
256 reviews
0.5 mi away
Little Leaf Guest House
Little Leaf Guest House
#3 of 102 in St Ives
794 reviews
0.8 mi away
Trevose Harbour House
Trevose Harbour House
#1 of 102 in St Ives
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Vicarage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage

Address: Parc an Creet, St Ives TR26 2ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range: £42 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Vicarage 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Vicarage is a family run charming former Victorian rectory. We provide four Star quality en suite accommodation with on-site parking and our AA Breakfast award ensures our guests are offered one of the best breakfasts in St.Ives! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Vicarage St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing