We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best campsite !”
Review of Ayr Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ayr Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best campsite !”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Had 5 days on hardstanding pitch with electric with our VW split screen camper excellent shower toilets so clean friendly staff. We will be back next year !!! Fansastic that the bus stops outside campsite for the hill down and up to beach 5 star campsite.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Janeybird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    83
    29
    8
    5
See reviews for
125
197
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed in one of the two bed caravans at Ayr holiday park for a friends 30th.
We hadn't stayed in a caravan before so we didn't know what to expect. The accommodation was really spacious and had everything we needed apart from towels, but they could be rented from reception. Everything looked brand new.

The holiday park has great views out to the sea and is only a short walk away from the main town and beach which are both beautiful. Would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

the only hardstanding pitch with electric hook up and water/drain left for the dates we were able to go was 13. Lucky us... As we don't have an awning or additional car, our Autosleeper "Lancashire" fitted on it perfectly. What a view ... glorious. We have stayed at Ayr previously and as always all the staff are very helpful and very friendly. Washing facilities are exceptional and the location to the town/harbour is brilliant. 10 minutes (all down hill) bit longer to get back .... we usually have a taxi back to the site (approx £3.50). Would recommend this pitch to anyone with smaller motorhome or camper.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Madeline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol South, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Just had a wonderful week here in June 14'. The site position is excellent, overlooking the gorgeous sea forwards and miles of greenery behind. Walking to the centre of St Ives was 10 minutes (15 if we slowly strolled) and was all down hill. I will say it is a fairly steep walk back up and though we did walk it during the day the local taxi's are far comfier in the evening especially if you've been for a meal or stopped a few of the local beers from going off!!
Good spaces for each pitch, the one we had was fully serviced with electric, water outlet and grey waste water grid. The toilet block is centrally based so is never too far away and was always clean - as was the other facilities, washing room and chemical toilet cleaner (a purpose built room with a cracking flexible water hose set up).
The reception lady was very helpful upon arrival and explained everything fully - the only slight niggle I had was when I went to enquire (towards the end of our stay) if the pitch was available on our day of departure could we stay another night, the gentleman behind the desk was not very helpful stating point blank no it was booked, after being asked if another pitch was available it was met with a tut (and looking like a petulant teenager) he went to look at their booking sheets - he really didn't look at it just, waved and crumpled it and said no all pitches are booked! No "what a shame" just a little look of satisfaction he had let us down (or perhaps I'm just being cynical?!?!) He wasn't a people person so really should be in the "shop front".
Anyway apart from that it was good and would definitely go back in the future.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Walter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stayed in one of the static caravans. We had a sea view, 3 bedrooms, and a caravan that was kept to a very high standard. The site shower block was a bonus. Good excuse for a walk from the van. Able to shower in comfort in what is the best shower block I have seen on a site.
Perfectly located for St Ives that was only a short walk down the hill (not so short returning!)
Would certainly recommend and would love to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Really loved this campsite. St Ives within 15 minutes walking distance. Yes, it is a bit steep on the way back up, but the height means you get breathtaking views of St Ives and the sea.

The shower blocks are new and are very clean. Convenience store within 10 minutes' walk.

This was perfect for our stay in St Ives - we hope to come again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Perfect location with beautiful views and well maintained pitches. The shower and toilet facilities are fabulous, very modern with piping hot water. 1st class site and only 5 minutes walk (10 minutes uphill back) from St Ives. Expensive compared with other sites in Cornwall of a similar standard so clearly taking advantage of the location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.7 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
1.7 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
247 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayr Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayr Holiday Park

Property: Ayr Holiday Park
Address: Ayr Holiday Park, Ayr, St Ives, Cornwall | Off Alexandra Road, 600 Metres From Tate St Ives, St Ives TR26 1EJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 Speciality Lodging in St Ives
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only holiday park in St Ives itself, offering holiday caravans for hire and pitches for motorhomes, touring caravans and tents. We are open all year, have great sea views from the park and are just a ten minute walk from the town and beach. Our sister hotel, The Garrack, welcomes Ayr guests for dining in the AA Rosette restaurant and for drinks and snacks poolside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ayr Holiday Park Hotel St Ives
Ayr Holiday Park St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing