We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views”
Review of Ayr Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ayr Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We were recommended the site and we were not disappointed! Location is great for families wanting a close location to the town although it is at the top of a bank so a walk up can be a little strenuous, the bus service runs right past though and is very regular. Good staff and they were maintaining the grounds daily. We will definitely stay again, I'm already nagging my husband for a return visit!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank ClaireLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stopped here for a week at the beginning of July, and was really impressed with Ayr Holiday park. We stayed in one of the 3 bedroom statics, with a fantastic sea view. The park was nice and quiet, with an excellent pathway directly onto the North Cornish coastal path.

I usually like to try somewhere different every year, but was so impressed that I'm thinking of booking for 2015!

Only possible downside, is the long steep hill that you have to walk up when returning from the town. Gives the calf muscles a good workout thats for sure, but may not be suitable for some people I guess.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gareth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have been staying at ayr for the past three years,and every year it has been brilliant, the caravans are clean and tidy, and are well equip with everything you need.We have stayed in caravan b twice and this year July 2014 we stayed in caravan A and we will be defiantly staying there again, the sea views are amazing, and the caravan comfortably accommodated five adults and one child. Only a short walk to town and the beech, but a bit steep coming back to the park but you can get the bus up if you prefer, which drops you of at the campsite reception
Thanks ayr for another brill holiday and will see you soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank smilel90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Had 5 days on hardstanding pitch with electric with our VW split screen camper excellent shower toilets so clean friendly staff. We will be back next year !!! Fansastic that the bus stops outside campsite for the hill down and up to beach 5 star campsite.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Janeybird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed in one of the two bed caravans at Ayr holiday park for a friends 30th.
We hadn't stayed in a caravan before so we didn't know what to expect. The accommodation was really spacious and had everything we needed apart from towels, but they could be rented from reception. Everything looked brand new.

The holiday park has great views out to the sea and is only a short walk away from the main town and beach which are both beautiful. Would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

the only hardstanding pitch with electric hook up and water/drain left for the dates we were able to go was 13. Lucky us... As we don't have an awning or additional car, our Autosleeper "Lancashire" fitted on it perfectly. What a view ... glorious. We have stayed at Ayr previously and as always all the staff are very helpful and very friendly. Washing facilities are exceptional and the location to the town/harbour is brilliant. 10 minutes (all down hill) bit longer to get back .... we usually have a taxi back to the site (approx £3.50). Would recommend this pitch to anyone with smaller motorhome or camper.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Madeline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Just had a wonderful week here in June 14'. The site position is excellent, overlooking the gorgeous sea forwards and miles of greenery behind. Walking to the centre of St Ives was 10 minutes (15 if we slowly strolled) and was all down hill. I will say it is a fairly steep walk back up and though we did walk it during the day the local taxi's are far comfier in the evening especially if you've been for a meal or stopped a few of the local beers from going off!!
Good spaces for each pitch, the one we had was fully serviced with electric, water outlet and grey waste water grid. The toilet block is centrally based so is never too far away and was always clean - as was the other facilities, washing room and chemical toilet cleaner (a purpose built room with a cracking flexible water hose set up).
The reception lady was very helpful upon arrival and explained everything fully - the only slight niggle I had was when I went to enquire (towards the end of our stay) if the pitch was available on our day of departure could we stay another night, the gentleman behind the desk was not very helpful stating point blank no it was booked, after being asked if another pitch was available it was met with a tut (and looking like a petulant teenager) he went to look at their booking sheets - he really didn't look at it just, waved and crumpled it and said no all pitches are booked! No "what a shame" just a little look of satisfaction he had let us down (or perhaps I'm just being cynical?!?!) He wasn't a people person so really should be in the "shop front".
Anyway apart from that it was good and would definitely go back in the future.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Walter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
639 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.7 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#10 of 21 in St Ives
382 reviews
1.5 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.7 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayr Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayr Holiday Park

Address: Ayr Holiday Park, Ayr, St Ives, Cornwall | Off Alexandra Road, 600 Metres From Tate St Ives, St Ives TR26 1EJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Speciality Lodging in St Ives
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only holiday park in St Ives itself, offering holiday caravans for hire and pitches for motorhomes, touring caravans and tents. We are open all year, have great sea views from the park and are just a ten minute walk from the town and beach. Our sister hotel, The Garrack, welcomes Ayr guests for dining in the AA Rosette restaurant and for drinks and snacks poolside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ayr Holiday Park Hotel St Ives
Ayr Holiday Park St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing