We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gonwin Manor Cottages
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We visit Gonwin Manor on a regular basis and we have never been disappointed. There is always a warm welcome, the barns are to a high standard and comfortable. After a long journey the welcome cream tea is just what we need. The views are stunning and a walk down onto the beach is a must. From the barns you can easily visit St Ives by car or on foot, St Michaels Mount is nearby as is the golf course. On return to the barn you can enjoy a jacccuzi bath and log fire. Heaven! Even dogs are welcome.

Room Tip: WE would recommend Primrose for your own garden and the sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2012

We have stayed at Gonwin Manor twice. Our first visit was April 2010 and again in April 2011. We have just booked our 3rd trip for September 2012. We like to travel a lot and this is the only place we have ever stayed more than once and I can honestly see us returning every year to Gonwin because we
absolutely love it! Why? Well from the minute you arrive you will fall in love with this place, the cottages are beautiful and really well appointed. The cream tea, local chocolates and Wine are a lovely touch. We love that we can bring our dog here (Charley our border terrier) who is always warmly greated by George the spaniel with his ball and interesting hair cut! The owners are lovely and nothing is too much trouble, don't miss out on the Cornish pasty supper, they are fantastic and home made by Sharon. The grounds are beautifully kept and the view down to
Porthkidney Sands is one of THE best in the world (and we have travelled the world). From the property you can exit a private gate directly onto the coastal path which brings you directly into St Ives after a pleasant 40 min stroll. We have stayed in both Rose and Lavender and both are beautifully decorated. If you want to cook or bake there is literally every pan or utensil you could ask for and if not just ask and it will appear! Everything from the cutlery and tableware (villeroy and boch) to the bedding and furnishings are top quality. It's a real luxury home from home. Lavender gets excellent sun on the
patio ( yes we've had great weather each April). All in all this is an excellent place, from the luxury accommodation, helpful, friendly and accommodating owners, amazing views to the very beautiful part of our country that Gonwin is situated you will not be disappointed. Thank you Gonwin for two wonderful holidays and see you for many more! Antoinette, Chris and Charley Webb

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Webbio01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We had the most fantastic christmas in Primrose Cottage at Gonwin Manor.The cottage is very well appointed, clean and comfortable with a fantastic view of Carbis Bay.The cream tea, bottle of wine,box of chocs and lovely xmas tree made it a perfect welcome. The boys especially liked the 'Bubblying Bath' never known them to have so many baths!
Thanks Steve & Jill for a wonderful time and we will be highly recommending you to family and friends.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in Sunflower Cottage. The cottage was welcoming, clean and wonderfully well appointed. The conversion was clearly very well planned and executed, and it was great to stay somewhere that had clearly spent time and money on ensuring such attention to detail.

The cream tea on arrival was wonderful, and the little touches such as the robes and slippers were enjoyed by all. We also appreciated the plentiful supply of wood for the burner which was put to good use as the weather was a little inclement.

One of our kids is allergic to feathers and it was no trouble at all for us to arrange for his linen to be synthetic, in fact they even labelled his bed for us so he knew which one it was.

The owners and managers are friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them, and we will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheTurnerGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

First up I have to say we did not stay at Gonwin Manor. I would however like to review the booking process - or lack thereof. Despite several attemptsover a period of two weeks we never actually managed to speak to anyone on the phone. Emails were better but still took a couple of days. The final nail in the coffin was when we emailed asking a few questions about the property and that the baby kit be well cleaned as our toddler ismilk allergic. The reply was surreal - a detailed and generally reassuring answer to all our questions followed by a final paragraph 'trust I have covered the issues but must emphasis (first mention) that as I cannot gaurantee that your child may not suffer from any allergies that may be caused by your stay I must advise that we are unable to
allow the booking to proceed.' Is that even allowed? Bizarre and enough to send us elsewhere. The properties and situation look lovely but what an uphill struggle.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
4  Thank longhaulfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

After a marathon 12 hour drive we were delighted to arrive at Gonwin Manor. Sunflower cottage is beautiful and filled with everything you need and more. The welcome goodies of Cornish cream tea, wine and chocolates were most welcome as were the lovely comfy beds. Kids loved the jacuzzi bath and the matching bathrobes. We all loved the outdoor space and appreciated the private area to the side of Sunflower. Lake is beautiful and well kept as are the rest of the grounds.
Beach was accesible with a 15/20 min walk but not recommended for prams/pushchairs. Plenty of excellent beaches within the local area. Porthminister beach being a favourite. Porthminster cafe also fab.

All in all we had a truly memorable holiday. Owners at Gonwin work very hard to make you feel welcome and all the little extras really help make it special. We will be back !

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clairecglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2010

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at Gonwin Manor in Rose Cottage. We had a bit of a nightmare before we even got to the cottage to be honest. When we got the brochure through it spoke of a fully equipped gym on site, hence us booking it however upon looking at reviews a week before we were due to go I found another individual complaining that there was no sign of the gym!! When enquiring I was told that there was indeed no gym and they hadn't got planning permission. I found this strange as the gym was also advertised on the website a week before we left and still shows on the website. I feel that the price would have reflected the use of the gym however we were not offered any adequate apology or indeed reimbursement of part of our holiday. What is annoying is that we always stay somewhere with a gym or pool and would have picked somewhere else had we not been mislead at the outset. (We would recommend Fox Valley Cottages near Foye if you want a nice indoor pool - stay at Foxes Den Cottage!).
When we arrived the cottage was beautiful and very well equipped. We had a pasty supper ordered which was ridiculously expensive and whilst nice I wouldn't recommend buying it as frankly it's not worth it. Rose Cottage has another cottage over half of it and on three nights we were unable to sleep as we could hear loud footsteps and the washing machine was on til midnight for some bizarre reason for most of the week!! We did complain after a few nights and the noise then stopped although the footsteps are very loud (just as if you are at home and a teenager is stomping!). The brochure confirms wifi is available. When we arrived we were given a card with a log in however it wasn't until we read the card that we realised a charge applied however again nothing was mentioned in the brochure and we were lead to believe it was free. It cost a measely fiver but when you are paying £1000 for the week you would expect this to be free surely?! There was a disgusting odour coming from our bathroom and our kitchen sink. When we complained about it we were told that there was nothing that could be done and the water just smelt!! It must be something to do with that place and in the summer it must be even worse. We had to have the fan on constantly in the bathroom and even then it was still apparent. We stay in the area regularly and have never smelt anything like it. The grounds of Gonwin Manor are great with a manmade lake. One side of the lake has a seating area with sun loungers and a BBQ. The views are great so it's a good chill out area. All in all if you want to pay over the odds then go ahead but you are paying for the views out the back garden. You are also paying for sleepless nights and a very bad smelling bathroom and kitchen sink. On the plus point there is an IPOD connection in the wall in the lounge which means music can be piped through to the rooms which is clever. There are also books and games in the lounge. The lounge has a sofa however it needs replacing as it was very saggy and it seems worn out.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahandSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
1.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,734 reviews
1.5 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Engine Inn
The Engine Inn
#1 of 1 in Nancledra
133 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
978 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gonwin Manor Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gonwin Manor Cottages

Address: Gonwin Manor Gonwin Manor Drive | Carbis Bay, St Ives TR26 3GN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Speciality Lodging in St Ives
Hotel Class:5 star — Gonwin Manor Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Gonwin Manor Cottages Hotel St Ives
Gonwin Manor Cottages St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing