We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous stay in Bluebell Cottage”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gonwin Manor Cottages
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay in Bluebell Cottage”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We had an amazing stay at Bluebell Cottage in Gonwin Manor. We looked long and hard for a place we could take a 10 week old baby and a one year old dog. This was perfect.
We made a last minute booking after there was a cancellation for a short break in August. The booking process was straightforward.
We were greeted with a lovely Cornish tea and a bottle of red wine on our arrival to a spotlessly clean beautiful cottage.
Gonwin Manor is a family run business and the family would happily assist with anything you needed.
I have never seen our Bichon Frise happier than when she ran around with their family dogs.
I will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashadeyashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    10
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Beautiful cottages in quiet location but walking distance to Carbis bay beach and 5 min car journey to St Ives. Luxury accommodation, cream tea and a bottle or red waiting for you when you arrive. Perfect base to explore the gorgeous surrounding areas of Cornwall. And owners dogs just make the experience even lovelier with a friendly greeting for you each day! Would ( and have) recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: Stayed in both Bluebell cottage and Sunflower cottage. Both gorgeous but our preference is Sunflower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reviewerU K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed for a week 12-19 July in the Rose cottage. The location is fabulous, the cottages have everything you could possibly need so you can have a home away from home. The owners are so helpful and the service is second to none, nothing is too much bother for them. Gonwin manor really exceeded all our expectation and we will certainly be returning.
The daily visits from the owners dogs George, Mabel and Chester made us chuckle every night, Steve and Gill thank you for a wonderful week!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrownChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed for a week Friday 28th June - Friday 5th July. What a relaxing week in a smashing place!
The cottage (Lavender) was just spot on. Everything you could possibly need from a self catering holiday was there. A real home from home.
The little private gardens are fabulous and if only the weather had been better we would have used the BBQ!
Our puppy Baxter loved the freedom and his new friends Mabel, George and Chester.
We would recommend the Fire House in St Ives, the Badgers Inn in Lelant and the Lamb and Flag in Hayley all dog friendly and lovely food.
Will return and will certainly be recommending to our family and friends.
Thank you Jill and Steve for all the little touches that make this holiday so special.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

To say that Gonwin Manor exceeded my expectations is an understatement.
Steve and Jill who manage the property could not have been more welcoming or more dog friendly as they have three dogs of their own. The grounds are beautifully kept with areas designated for doggy business! The property goes straight on to the coast path, over Porthkidney Sands which allows dogs on the beach all day, all year.
The property itself is beautifully equipped with Dualit and Neff appliances in the kitchen and a jacuzzi bath - perfect after those long coastal walks.
The personal touches really made it. A welcoming cornish cream tea with chocolates made locally and a bottle of wine, a fire that had been laid, a beautiful vase of roses, lovely linen, robes and towels, wifi...I could go on...just made it feel like a home from home.
I'll be back!

Room Tip: Pictures of the cottage interiors are all online; take a look!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Stayed here again recently as we had had such an amazing experience in February 2012.
It was perfection last year and yet again this year.
I cannot praise Gill and Steve and Michael and Sharon enough. They know what they are doing and do it brilliantly, nothing is too much trouble.
This is the perfect site to explore all of west Cornwall.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

My wife and I along with our three and a half month old baby girl had a great experience at Gonwin. The cottages are beautuful, fully kitted out and the location stunning. The Spa onsite, Aqua Spa is excellent, we had 3 treatments there and were hugely impressed by the quality of the treatments and value, the staff there were very friendly. Massively recommend it. The owner Sharon is extremely nice, she went out of her way to ensure we had a wonderful first holiday with our baby girl. Looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTMWarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.6 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
1.3 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.5 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Cottage Hotel
Cottage Hotel
#4 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beechwood House
Beechwood House
#16 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gonwin Manor Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gonwin Manor Cottages

Property: Gonwin Manor Cottages
Address: Gonwin Manor Gonwin Manor Drive | Carbis Bay, St Ives TR26 3GN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 Speciality Lodging in St Ives
Hotel Class:5 star — Gonwin Manor Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Gonwin Manor Cottages Hotel St Ives
Gonwin Manor Cottages St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing