We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chy an Gwedhen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chy an Gwedhen
Ranked #25 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

Had wonderful stay with Gill and Mike - would definitely stay here again - close to walks/beach. Fantastic sea view from room (no 3) - best view in Carbis Bay - I would say! - Breakfasts and room ideal! Thank you for having us!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolf092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
63
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rowde, Devizes
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

A lot of lovely comments have been said before so we will try and find something different to report.
When we arrived we had done some walking before and I had slipped in some mud on the coastal path, my coat was caked! Gill and Mike without any hesitation offered to wash it down and put in their drying room overnight, so I could wear it the next day.
We had the much praised room 3 with the lovely view. The bed was really comfortable and the large towels were of good quality.
We were there for 2 nights and were able to walk to 2 seperate restuarents ( we alwayd like to eat somewhere different), the Italian restuarent at the Atlantic hotel is definately worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarynBenatVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

We stayed one night on our week trip to Cornwall. Owners were very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble, their son even lent me his iPad charger when I misplaced mine. Parking at rear is great as few other places had parking. Breakfast excellent. Nice Pub across road so you can walk there for dinner. Would definitely stay again and recommend.

Room Tip: We had room at back with lovely view of bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussietravellers061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardif
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights and it was perfect our short break in Cornwall. Owners were very friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean and comfortable and had the all important tea and coffee making facilities. Lovely view of Carbis bay from the room. Bed was very comfortable and we slept well. Breakfast was very tasty and there was plenty of it too. They have good selection of DVDs if you fancy watching a film too. Easy to get as on the main road into St Ives. Not disturbed by any traffic noise though. Really handy that there is parking too as many oher b&bs do not have this. Great place to stay

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

We spent a week staying in Gill and Mike's lovely guest house. Our room (No.3) had a beautiful view over Carbis Bay, a very comfortable king-size bed and plenty of wardrobe space (for those of us who don't travel lightly!). Breakfast was served in a pleasant dining room and all our food was delicious - especially the smoked haddock and scrambled eggs! Very conveniently,the coastal path to St. Ives runs past the back of the house but if you don't have the stamina the buses run frequently. Nothing was too much trouble for Gill or Mike - they are perfect hosts. Would we return? Most certainly!

Room Tip: We would opt for room 3 again - being the largest room and of course having the king-size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We had travelled for some distance and were tired, we were made to feel Very welcome and a hot drink was supplied.
The bed and Breakfast was clean,welcoming and very comfy, it was one of the things that made our stay very enjoyable.

Harold and Janet Stephenson

Middlesbrough

Room Tip: Just enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RefH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Gill and Mike run a lovely friendly B&B that's very clean and comfortably, a warm welcome and a cup of tea greeted us when we arrived which was lovely after a six hour drive. Even though the weather was not at it's best the warm and friendly atmosphere more than made up for it. The room was clean and bright with plenty of storage for clothes, cases etc, a very comfortable bed, a well appointed en-suite and outstanding views across the bay. Breakfast was a delight and the perfect start to the day, with a varied menu there's something for everyone. There is free parking to the rear and as St Ives is within walking distance I would recommend leaving the car and walking to save on the parking fees. There is a lovely little pub just a short walk away that does great food of an evening.
Gill and Mike couldn't do enough for us and nothing was too much trouble for them, they did everything they could to make our stay as pleasant as possible. If only the weather had been as warm as their welcome. I would highly recommend Chy An Gwedhen and would book there again if we return to St Ives.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
Count House Cottage B&B
Count House Cottage B&B
#1 of 7 in Carbis Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thurlestone Guest House
Thurlestone Guest House
#17 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oystercatcher
Oystercatcher
#5 of 7 in Carbis Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Green Apple Bed & Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Tregony Guest House
Tregony Guest House
#10 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachcroft Coastal Retreat
Beachcroft Coastal Retreat
#42 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chy an Gwedhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy an Gwedhen

Property: Chy an Gwedhen
Address: Chy an Gwedhen St. Ives Road, St Ives TR26 2JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chy an Gwedhen 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chy an Gwedhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy An Gwedhen St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing