We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely comfortable B&B”
Review of Chy an Gwedhen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chy an Gwedhen
Ranked #20 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely comfortable B&B”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed one night in St Ives and this B&B was a good stay. My satnav sent us a few doors down but the owner kindly guided us to the hotels very convenient parking out the back. The room was really nice and bed very comfortable with a cracking view of St Ives, and a lovely ensuite shower. The hotel is about a ten minute walk to the seafront where there's a nice pub halfway.
The owners were very friendly and happy to assist with getting the most out of our brief stay.
breakfast was a good. Overall a really nice stay and recommendable

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
65
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights while visiting family. A beautiful B&B very close to the beach. Very clean and had an excellent breakfast, even had fish one morning which was cooked perfect. Gill and Mike were very friendly and I would highly recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 3 has the best view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Had wonderful stay with Gill and Mike - would definitely stay here again - close to walks/beach. Fantastic sea view from room (no 3) - best view in Carbis Bay - I would say! - Breakfasts and room ideal! Thank you for having us!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolf092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowde, Devizes
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

A lot of lovely comments have been said before so we will try and find something different to report.
When we arrived we had done some walking before and I had slipped in some mud on the coastal path, my coat was caked! Gill and Mike without any hesitation offered to wash it down and put in their drying room overnight, so I could wear it the next day.
We had the much praised room 3 with the lovely view. The bed was really comfortable and the large towels were of good quality.
We were there for 2 nights and were able to walk to 2 seperate restuarents ( we alwayd like to eat somewhere different), the Italian restuarent at the Atlantic hotel is definately worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarynBenatVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We stayed one night on our week trip to Cornwall. Owners were very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble, their son even lent me his iPad charger when I misplaced mine. Parking at rear is great as few other places had parking. Breakfast excellent. Nice Pub across road so you can walk there for dinner. Would definitely stay again and recommend.

Room Tip: We had room at back with lovely view of bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussietravellers061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardif
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights and it was perfect our short break in Cornwall. Owners were very friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean and comfortable and had the all important tea and coffee making facilities. Lovely view of Carbis bay from the room. Bed was very comfortable and we slept well. Breakfast was very tasty and there was plenty of it too. They have good selection of DVDs if you fancy watching a film too. Easy to get as on the main road into St Ives. Not disturbed by any traffic noise though. Really handy that there is parking too as many oher b&bs do not have this. Great place to stay

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We spent a week staying in Gill and Mike's lovely guest house. Our room (No.3) had a beautiful view over Carbis Bay, a very comfortable king-size bed and plenty of wardrobe space (for those of us who don't travel lightly!). Breakfast was served in a pleasant dining room and all our food was delicious - especially the smoked haddock and scrambled eggs! Very conveniently,the coastal path to St. Ives runs past the back of the house but if you don't have the stamina the buses run frequently. Nothing was too much trouble for Gill or Mike - they are perfect hosts. Would we return? Most certainly!

Room Tip: We would opt for room 3 again - being the largest room and of course having the king-size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
Count House Cottage B&B
Count House Cottage B&B
#1 of 7 in Carbis Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thurlestone Guest House
Thurlestone Guest House
#18 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oystercatcher
Oystercatcher
#4 of 7 in Carbis Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Green Apple Bed & Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Tregony Guest House
Tregony Guest House
#11 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachcroft Coastal Retreat
Beachcroft Coastal Retreat
#42 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chy an Gwedhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy an Gwedhen

Property: Chy an Gwedhen
Address: Chy an Gwedhen St. Ives Road, St Ives TR26 2JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chy an Gwedhen 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chy an Gwedhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy An Gwedhen St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing