We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B”
Review of Chy an Gwedhen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chy an Gwedhen
Ranked #21 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
cambridge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I can only endorse what most of the other reviewees have said. Although I was travelling alone & therefore had the single room, the bed was a small double and therefore I slept really well unlike most other places which have only a single bed where you spend all night clinging to the edges scared of falling out if you turn over! On returning during the middle of the day Mike made me a fresh pot of tea & biscuits - and there is also a small frig for clients use in the hall. These are the little things which help to make a short break so much better. However I would like to say that I am a fairly fit pensioner and I did walk into St Ives (via the road as it was dampish weather) and back but unless you are "power-walking " this will take you nearer 25 mins to the harbour not the 10-15 mins others have quoted! I have a special reason for returning to Cornwall regularly and the next time it will be definitely be at Chy-an-Gwedhen.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mads96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilly426, Owner at Chy an Gwedhen, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thankyou for your review. we are so pleased you had a good stay, even under the circumstances of your visit.
It was lovely to meet you, and hope we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
65
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Nice people, clean, pleasant and well kept house and garden, quiet, convenient for buses around, just a 10 or 15 min. walk from the center of St. Ives. What more can you want?
Oh yes, a breakfast galore, which you will also get. And a very good one too!

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank E7341CMBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The hosts Mike and Gill make you feel welcome from the start. The room we had, room 3 has excellent sea views, the b&b is in a good location although the coastal path is quite challenging in parts we found the walk along the main road easier and the views from this just as nice. We thought the breakfast mediocre with no variation from the one set ( no black pudding, hash browns etc. offered any day) thought the 1 pack of biscuits per room a little stingy. Parking was ok although when the b&b was full there is not enough room for everyone to park, double parking is needed, but it's not a problem if your not using your car. We were able to get into our room before 12 o clock thanks to Gill prioritising the cleaning, cleanliness was of a good standard throughout. Overall we weren't disappointed but a little deflated after reading other reviews on here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I stayed at Chy an Gwedhen with my girlfriend and having never stayed here before it was a lovely Bed and Breakfast. On arrival I was immediately greeted by Gill and Mike and offered help with cases. We were shown to our room which was a double room with a spacious en suite bathroom with double shower. The room was very nice with television, very comfy bed and lots of natural sun light. We were offered tea and biscuits on arrival which is a very nice touch. Gill and Mike are excellent hosts and made me and my girlfriend feel very welcome! The breakfasts were delicious and I had cooked breakfasts most mornings and also croissants and pastries on another. The Bed and Breakfast is ideally located to explore St Ives either by foot or car and many other towns and attractions in Cornwall. There is also an excellent Italian restaurant a ten minute walk away from the bed and breakfast.

We will definately return to Chy an Gwedhen very soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We travelled throughout England in May. Upon arrival Mike quickly offered to bring our bags in & Gil offered us a coffee. Lovely having driven from Portsmouth. The room was lovely with a beautiful sea view. Accomodation very close to St Ives via the local bus which Gil gave us information on. One stop. Fabulous! Recommendations on dinner were great and they even offered to dry our laundry for us. Very clean and an extremely nice b&b.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

After a very long drive from the Midlands my husband and I were glad when we finally arrived at St Ives. Our first impression of Chy an Gwedhen was that it was neatly tucked away in a private cul de sac and had a very friendly welcoming atmosphere from the moment we entered the premises. Our room, no. 3, had a magnificent view out over Carbis Bay, stunning. Alongside the property was the coastal path into St Ives itself - perhaps a little over 1.5 miles, but very very steep in places, but well worth the experience for the views.

Our breakfast was a gastronomical delight. My husband is extremely fussy about his "full English" but he had no complaints. Everything was served well, hot and tasty.

Mike and Gill, the owners of the property, came from my husband's neck of the woods in the West Midlands, so they got on like a house on fire. They really are a very friendly accommodating couple who can't do enough to make your stay as pleasurable as possible.

The only downside - as far as my husband was concerned - was the tv reception wasn't too good. Ok on BBC, but very hit and miss on other channels. We like to watch tv in the late evenings for a while so were a little disappointed by the poor reception.

However, on the whole we would both gladly give this lovely little B & B 9/10.

Thank you Mike and Gill for making us feel so welcome.

Room Tip: Room 3 has by far the most stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaxtaNottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

Arrived and were immediately shown to our room, a spacious double with beautiful sea views and a modern en suite with a double shower, plenty of fluffy towels and toiletries. Everything immaculate. Mike and Gill were wonderful hosts and made us tea and cakes on arrival, most welcome after a long drive from the Midlands. The weather was amazing and we spent our four days on St Ives, Porthminster and Carbis Bay beaches chilling in the sun even though it was raining in Birmingham! We fell in love with St Ives; super shops, lots of good restaurants and a beautiful beach. Breakfasts at Chy an Gwedhen were great. I had fruit to start followed by delicious haddock and my husband enjoyed the very tasty cooked breakfasts. Chy an Gwedhen is in a super position. A scenic coastal path takes you to all the beaches, about a 25 minute walk to St Ives and it was great to leave our car at the B and B in the private car park. Overall, this is an excellent B and B with great hosts, comfy beds, good food and immaculate bedrooms. Would we visit again? Of course! Thank you Gill and Mike.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank loveholdays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
Count House Cottage B&B
Count House Cottage B&B
#1 of 7 in Carbis Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thurlestone Guest House
Thurlestone Guest House
#18 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oystercatcher
Oystercatcher
#5 of 7 in Carbis Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Green Apple Bed & Breakfast
1.1 mi away
Tregony Guest House
Tregony Guest House
#10 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachcroft Coastal Retreat
Beachcroft Coastal Retreat
#43 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chy an Gwedhen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy an Gwedhen

Property: Chy an Gwedhen
Address: Chy an Gwedhen St. Ives Road, St Ives TR26 2JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chy an Gwedhen 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chy an Gwedhen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy An Gwedhen St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing