We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous few days at The Sloop!”
Review of The Sloop Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Sloop Inn
Ranked #31 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous few days at The Sloop!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

First visit to The Sloop. It was excellent, good food and the wonderful Doombar too. Very friendly and welcoming staff and the 'locals' really good company. We stayed in the Courtyard Room which is very spacious and well equipped. Spoiled ourselves with breakfast, I had the Kippers each morning and they were delicious. Right in the heart of St Ives The Sloop is the ideal place to stay and wander around the querky backstreets of fishermans cottages and local art and craft shops. A very warm welcome made this short break a very memorable few days. Thank you!
Bob and Jacquie
East Devon
UK.

Room Tip: Our room didnt have views but was very cosy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    131
    65
    37
    50
See reviews for
110
265
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Returned once again to The Sloop and were not disappointed. Same friendly staff. Wonderful views from 'The Outlook' bedroom , breakfast served in your bedroom and although the menu has changed for their Captains Table Restaraunt the standard of the food was still superb. The icing on the cake was- they serve Sharps Orchard Cider and Old Cloudy Rosie Cider on tap- heaven. (am not a wine drinker) . Lots of good beers as well. Will definately be back. Pam Prosser

Room Tip: Cottages are excellent, but the view from the bedroom in the pub called 'The Outlook' is fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamprosser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We went in to the back room with a buggy with a sleeping [sick] baby and were asked to fold it up. I explained baby was asleep and he said don't care those were his rules. Very unfriendly manager, pub only had two other people inside so be warned if you go with a buggy!!!! What a miserable man..... Thanks you Kirk P dogs over children it probably was. Maybe we were that family of 3 ?????

Room Tip: Dont book............
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank laser350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okehampton
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

We visited during st Ives festival week and the bar was busy and buzzing, warm friendly atmosphere and superb location. So nice to sit outside very late into the evening in late September and still enjoy the warmth beside the Cornish sea.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tracianny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dewsbury
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Having visited this establishment several times over the last few years we were looking forward to a lunch there - the menu has changed this time , think they have tried to go more up market - FAILED. I had the mackerel chips and side salad (leaves and 1/4 of a tomato!) ok but not value for money,my husband had the steak pie,chips and peas ok but overpriced for what it was.
Like a previous reviewer The dogs seem to rule, they and their owners should have to sit outside, not as though spacious inside, needless to say when we return to Cornwall we shall not be returning to the Sloop!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yorkshirepudding64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Great location, a nice little drinking house. Food looked ok, even though we didn't eat. A family of 3 came in (baby in a pram...) and the father asked if they were ok to sit at a particular table. No, came the reply...so they all walked out. Felt really sorry for them, especially when there were several yappy dogs in the pub. We didn't bother to go in after that , since when did animals take precedence over a human being. Never, not in our book.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kirk P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My partner and I really enjoyed our stay at the Sloop Inn. The room was nice, clean and tidy but the best part was definitely the great view from our room. We stayed in the lookout room which looked directly over the harbour. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, we would definitely return for another visit!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidW09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
962 reviews
0.3 mi away
Western Hotel
Western Hotel
#15 of 21 in St Ives
175 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#9 of 21 in St Ives
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,658 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Anchorage
The Anchorage
#44 of 102 in St Ives
115 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Engine Inn
The Engine Inn
#1 of 1 in Nancledra
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sloop Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sloop Inn

Property: The Sloop Inn
Address: | West Country, St Ives TR26 1LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sloop Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
The Sloop Hotel St Ives
The Sloop Inn St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing