We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place where even a sandwich is a delight..”
Review of Alfresco Cafe Bar - CLOSED

Alfresco Cafe Bar
Price range: US$7 - US$31
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Harbourside, open-fronted restaurant. Open every day for lunch 12-3 and dinner 6-9.30
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The place where even a sandwich is a delight..”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

What a place. We spend 2 nights in St Ives and had 3 meals.. this is how it was good. The evening menu was great, we had some John Dory and an amazing steak with sauce, it was absolutely outstanding. The next day we had some sandwiches, and it was a real revelation to us : a crab sandwich -priced at close to 11 pounds we thought I'd better be good. It was incredible, fresh crab in a bread perfectly baked, with some cucember...mmm if only they were delivering sandwiches to London ;)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichelRz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    114
    26
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gambrills, Maryland
Level Contributor
277 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“best tenderloin we had the month!!!!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

It was wonderful, very small, on the harbour front. The food was really good..we had tenderloin with mama's meatloaf and Hake and became our favorite place in St. Ives.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 66travelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Enjoyed the variety and the quality of the generally good value set menu (some items have supplement and may be less good value - depending on your preference. See website menu for details). Service was very good and the recommended side dish of vegetables was very good (included asparagus, samphire, caramelised veg - much better than expected boring steamed broccoli). Drinks were expensive, but overall a very good four and a half star meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Delicious food !”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

First time at Alfresco. Booking worked well and we received text reminder. The views are lovely. The restaurant is quite small and it was packed on that evening. Therefore it was quite noisy. The service was good and efficient. The food was very tasty and presented very well. I loved the cheese selection with an amazing thyme oil and chorizo chutney... Definitely worth a visit!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KatMaNe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Marvellous meal, overlooking harbour.”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

An exceptionaLmeal worthy of a masterchef professional.. beautifully presented. two courses for lunch £17, Cloth napkins, outside table

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mathermr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alfresco Cafe Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing