We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Onshore Restaurant

Onshore Restaurant
Ranked #62 of 144 Restaurants in St Ives
Price range: US$41 - US$41
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London
1 review
“Outstanding!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We dine here on Saturday night, the food was very good but the services was the best I have ever received in any restaurant or hotel I have ever been to. ( I have stayed In 5 star hotel and I had better service here at onshore) the young man could not do enough for us and was very attentive. We had bread and dips to start and both had sea bass for our mains. The food was outstanding. If you are staying in St Ives make sure you pop in here!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    172
    87
    48
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
stamford uk
Level Contributor
150 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Dog friendly...people friendly....good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Managed to squeeze our two adults,two large dogs into a corner of the terrace seating...a great spot to be able to watch the seafront...staff were helpful...I ordered a green Thai curry and my wife. Crab sandwich wit fries...made the mistake of offering her a taste of the curry and lost half of it!...fairly busy premises...looked nice in side but don't think that area is ok for dogs...would revisit and recommend.



and

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Went in for a beer and a snack. Although it wasn't busy we were still made to feel as though it was lots of effort to serve us. £1.90 for PG Tips Tea that was over brewed.

Avoid!

Helpful?
1 Thank Lord_Hillier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penzance
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Definitely recommended!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

My partner and I visited St Ives a couple of weeks ago and despite being local and we should know better, we didn't book a table. After traipsing around in the beautiful Cornish Mizzle and being told we would have to wait up to a hour and half before we could have a table, we found Onshore.
We took a table outside under a sheltered area and right on the seafront (which was lovely) we were served promptly despite how busy the staff were, we ordered a bottle of wine and our food and before I had time to roll a cigarette our starters were ready.
My partner had a duck salad which was so good and I went for some olives, for mains he had a crab linguine, which was creamy and rich and I took the butterflied chicken breast with creamy leeks, mash potato, parmesan and pancetta. I have to say it's probably one of the best meals I have had in a very long time and I am very fussy. We had had key lime cheesecake for pudding and the bill was just shy of £60! I was very impressed and so glad that we traipsed around and didn't find somewhere else!

The waiting staff were friendly, attentive and professional. The food was excellent. It was definitely not overpriced and I will certainly be going back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank missburke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Would definitely go back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

There were 4 adults and 2 children in our party. The staff were friendly and helpful in getting us seated and storing the pushchair. Crayons and drawings were provided for the children. The menu was varied and reasonably priced for the situation, overlooking the harbour. My sea bass on a pea risotto was marvellous. A return visit later in the week was scuppered because there was an hour's wait - always a good sign!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Onshore Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Onshore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing