We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rivendell Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rivendell Guest House
Ranked #30 of 106 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of April. Small, but very comfortable single room. Shared shower room which was spotless, and a very good breakfast in the morning, lovely. Not to far to walk down the hill into the beaches etc. I very much recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dougie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
70
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Angela made us feel very welcome by making us a pot of tea upon our arrival. The view from the room was fantastic, overlooking the harbour, town and sea. The room was lovely, good choice of breakfasts and some lovely melon! Rivendel is ideally situated only a five minute walk to the sea and has ample parking, which is a must when staying in St. Ives! Angela and Barry were very warm and welcoming and made us feel at home. We would definitely recommend Rivendel and hope to be staying there again soon! Thank you! Leah and Richard, London

Room Tip: Room 5 has a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderbods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

For our first trip to St ives, we searched the Internet for somewhere to stay and, what a lucky find the Rivendell Guest house was! The rooms were spotless with tasteful decor. Barrie is a photographer so beautiful pictures enhance all the walls. Complimentary biscuits were provided every day which was a nice touch. There was a portable radiator too which was very thoughtful, as we'd been concerned before we went that we wouldn't be able to dry wet clothes if it rained - which it did!! A hairdryer too saved us from bringing our own, and a TV which was low enough to watch in comfort, instead of us constantly straining our neck to look at one on a bracket near the ceiling.

The view of the harbour from our bedroom was spectacular as this Guest House is 'quite high up'. It wouldn't suit those with walking difficulties although we supect most people come in a car which we didn't. It is steep when walking from the Town Centre and we would advise people to take particular care on some of the roads on the walk back, as there are no pavements and some drivers are not 'tourist friendly'. However, you do get used to the steps and steep slopes and we did return home fitter than when we arrived!

Angela and Barrie at the Rivendell Guest House are the perfect hosts. They are really friendly, and genuinely wanted us to get the best from our stay by recommending places of interest and how to get there. Nothing was too much trouble and we were sorry to leave.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brijill2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

It was our lucky day when, searching on the internet for accommodation on our first trip to St. Ives, we found the Rivendell guest House. Angela and Barrie are welcoming and warm hosts. Our charming room was spotlessly clean and had a lovely view over the harbour.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deirdre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

Stayed at the rivendell for the first time.Beautiful b&b.lovely people and lovely breakfast.great spot.need I say more!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michaelclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

We stayed at Rivendell Guest House in June 2011. Barrie and Angela run the guest house and make a huge effort to make you feel comfortable and well looked after.
When we booked over the phone Angela was very friendly and helpful, and on arrival we got a very warm welcome and a cup of tea, which was lovely after our 300+ mile journey! She also sat and talked to us about good places and restaurants to go to.
Our room was spotless and very nicely decorated. It was serviced daily and we had complementary biscuits and hot drink making facilities. Now to the main event, the breakfast......we got a lovely welcome each morning and could help ourselves to juice, a wide selection of cereals, fruit and yoghurt. We could then order cooked breakfast off the menu, either a full English or lighter things like eggs on toast. Barrie is a qualified chef and it definately shows. They have really good quality food and it is grilled so it's really tasty without being greasy. It really sets you up for the day!
Rivendell is in a briliiant location in between the lovely Porthminster Beach and the main part of St Ives with the harbour. Its a nice walk into town.
St Ives in general was lovely, very picturesque, with some good harbourside watering holes such as the Sloop Inn, and lots of great restaurants e.g. St Andrews Bistro, The Wave, The Mex, to mention a few.
Thanks once again to our lovely hosts Angela and Barrie!! Rachael and Darren xx

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RachnDaz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
from midlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

my husband and I with friends stayed a week at this charming guest house. Angela could not do enough to make our holiday go smoothly bus times, train offers, walks with the best views best eating places, Every thing was at her finger tips, She was marvellous!!. Barrie is a superb chef the breakfasts were fantastic . beautifully prepared and presented. We were only sorry we missed the evening meals by a year. The decor . and cleanliness was second to none so very tasteful. Angela ,and Barrie make a great team , such warmth ,and humour. We loved every minute of our stay. Thank you both so much for a very special holiday. Sheba from midlands

Room Tip: state your requirements on booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shebaFromMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
1.4 mi away
Thurlestone Guest House
Thurlestone Guest House
#20 of 106 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Badger Inn
The Badger Inn
#28 of 106 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
West by Five Guest House
West by Five Guest House
#2 of 106 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
1.4 mi away
Green Apple Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Tregony Guest House
Tregony Guest House
#9 of 106 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivendell Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivendell Guest House

Property: Rivendell Guest House
Address: 7 Porthminster Terrace, St Ives TR26 2DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rivendell Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rivendell Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivendell Guest House St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing