We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!!!”
Review of Roundhouse Barn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roundhouse Barn
Ranked #3 of 6 St Mawes B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 October 2011

This is without doubt one of the best b&b's we have ever stayed in, and I will freely admit that we are very fussy! The owners are charming and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfasts are totally delicious and could not be faulted. Our room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean with a splendid bathroom. We slept really well and were very happy to have found such a gem of a place. If you are planning a visit to the area, this really is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlossieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2011

We stayed in one of the self catering cottages and I must agree that the fittings and attention to detail were superb. Unfortunately there were a couple of minor things which to me took the edge off of our visit. Firstly the property states 'no pets' (which is one of the reasons we booked it as although I am not an animal hater I am not a dog lover). Unfortunately the owners own two dogs which were constantly pawing at the door of the cottage and on a couple of occasions when we had left the front door open due to the nice weather we found one or more of the dogs inside the property. Secondly, on a couple of occasions when we were out the owners had been into the property, not as a result of any major problem but just as a result of what appeared to be spurious excuses. So you just need to be aware that someone may be going in whilst you are not there. Thirdly if you are in one of the two self catering properties beneath the b & b rooms you need to be aware that you will have noise from above, people talking, shower running and the dogs running in the corridor. Each day we were woken at 7.30am by people moving around upstairs. As I say these were not major issues but to us they took the edge off an otherwise superb property.

Room Tip: Cockle is a detached property so does not suffer from the noise problem but it only has a 4'6&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anoldfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marknbarb, Owner at Roundhouse Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2011

Thank you very much for your review and kind words about our fittings and attention to detail in our self catering cottages.

We are genuinely sorry that there were a few things that took the edge off your holiday with us. We do wish that you had spoken to us about them during your stay so that we could have done something to address the issues you raised. We always want all of our guests to have a wonderful time at Roundhouse Barns.

Taking each of your points in turn – firstly the dogs. We have amended our website to more clearly flag up that we have two dogs. We prefer that our dogs do not visit our cottage courtyard garden, but as much as we discourage guests from feeding our dogs, a number of them do like to give the dogs a few “treats”. This has encouraged them to occasionally visit. If you had let us know that the dogs were being a nuisance we could have easily kept them away from you.

Secondly, we normally try to see our guests the day before they leave to deliver a small “thank you” gift. If they are not in when we call, we do drop these on the kitchen table. During your stay we also received the latest copy of Cornwall Today (our County Magazine) and so we dropped a complimentary copy in to each of the cottages.

Finally, we are really sorry if noise from above disturbed you. Our barns were built in the 17th century and despite our best efforts, including acoustic underlay, we do acknowledge that some noise does transfer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Truly superb in every detail, offering excellent value for money.

We were left wanting for nothing, and had a very relaxing stay. The location is peaceful and the lack of OPK's (other people's kids) added to the serenity.

The room we were in was compact but beautifully appointed. Everything was perfectly clean, and perfectly detailed with White Company stuff. The bed was soooo comfy (thanks to a 3200 pocket spring mattress - I had to look!) and the breakfast was super quality.

It's difficult not to gush - so I'll stop. Suffice to say though - we'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buckingtonroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We had the Fal room and from the instant of our arrival it was very clear that Mark & Barbara had both put a great deal of effort and thought into making our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Their standard of cleanliness and room presentation was immediately apparent to both of us and that is high praise indeed, as we are fastidious by nature. It was nice to find plenty of local information in the form of maps and books available for the guests to discover the area which we know is delightful. Although we would have preferred our room to have been larger, the standard of furniture and fittings throughout by far outweighs any criticism in this regard. There was adequate storage and sitting space and the bathroom was beautifully fitted out and could not be faulted. The breakfast was outstanding in terms of choice and quality of the food. Mark and Barbara were truly wonderful hosts.... and would we stay there again? We most certainly would and look forward returning one day soon.

Room Tip: The Fal has a twin option and is marginally larger than the Messack
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nimrod8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Having stayed at the St Enocdoc in the Rock during the first part of our Cornwall trip in August, the Roundhouse Barn is a big contrast but a very plesant surprise too. Although the double room we had is a lot smaller than the room at the St Enocdoc, but the Roundhouse is indeed a B&B and not a large commercial hotel. It offers cosiness, intimacy, most friendly and high quality personal service. It's almost like staying with your close friends.

The bedroom is very clean with tasteful decoration. Complimentary minibar with fresh milk is nice touch. There is also a good selection of DVD's in the room. I love our luxury bathroom especially the huge walk in shower, and could just spend hours in the shower!

We were greeted with homemade cornish cream tea on arrival which is the best welcome service I have ever had in a B&B. The breakfasts we had here were 1000 times better than that at the St Enocdoc. Everything is locally sourced, fresh, and delicious! Coffee is also of high standard. We were also offered a choice of special breakfast each day. Barbara & Mark are the most wonderful hosts. Mark is a keen cook, and I suggested that when he ever gives up his day job in IT, he should offer dinner catering for the B&B guests. Although we had to drive into St Mawes for dinner twice, I still prefer to have the private parking facility at the Roundhouse. Many hotels in St Mawes have no or very limited private parking facility. We highly recommend the Watchhouse for dinner, but certainly not theTresanton. The night when we had dinner at the Tresanton, we came back to our B&B, and I could smell Mark's cooking in the kitchen. We felt ever so gutted and like we just had been cheated by Tresanton.

During our stay here, we also met two different couples who stayed in the other B&B room. The other guests we met were very pleasant and extremely friendly, so 'communal' breakfast was most enjoyable.

We will definitely return to the Roundhouse when we visit this part of Cornwall again. I am quite tempted to just a couple of teh self catering cottages for family/friends gathering.

Thank you so much for the wonderful service!

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinksg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

I can only endorse what other reviewers have said.( You may not be able to walk to a pub, but you can walk to the nearby coast in 15 mins & to St. Just church in an hour.)
This really is a top class B&B.
We found the food at The Watch House very good.

Room Tip: No tips, you just can't go wrong here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siena82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed in 'The Fal' room. and everything about it was indeed 5 star. This bedroom is very well appointed with lots of thoughtful touches - right down to the 2 comfy chairs and silent fridge, containing complimentary water and juices. The en-suite bathroom is large with a wonderful shower. Breakfasts were a delight. We stayed in Cockle Cottage last summer and it was the best cottage we have ever stayed in, so we were confident of the welcome and attention to detail we would find during our stay this year. This area of Cornwall is well worth exploring.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoBi2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Mawes hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel Tresanton
Hotel Tresanton
#2 of 5 in St Mawes
656 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 5 in St Mawes
416 reviews
2.7 mi away
Nearwater Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Little Newton Bed & Breakfast
2.8 mi away
The Ship and Castle Hotel
2.8 mi away
The St Mawes Hotel
The St Mawes Hotel
#3 of 5 in St Mawes
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundhouse Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundhouse Barn

Address: Roundhouse Barn Messack Rd | nr St Mawes, St Mawes TR2 5JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St Mawes
Price Range: £60 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Roundhouse Barn 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunningly converted set of 17th-century farm buildings to create Visit Britain accredited 5 star multi-award winning B&B and self-catering cottages. Beautiful gardens, tranquil setting. Nestled away on the western side of the Roseland Peninsula. Ideal base for the Eden Project, various National Trust Gardens, St Mawes etc. Our B&B Suite and our self catering cottages both won Visit England National Excellence Awards in 2012. Our self catering cottages came runner up nationally and our B&B was highly commended which puts us in the top 5 nationally. Regret no pets or children under 14. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Roundhouse Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roundhouse Barn St Mawes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing