We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Long Weekend”
Review of Roundhouse Barn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roundhouse Barn
Ranked #1 of 5 St Mawes B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing Long Weekend”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We were looking forward to our stay and were not disappointed. Beautiful room and amenities, fantastic breakfasts and a warm welcome from our hosts Barbara ad Mark. The weather was great and we made the most of it by visiting Trelissick Gardens, St. Anthony Head etc. lots of walking punctuated with nice meals and the odd glass of wine! We will definitely return and have warmly recommended Roundhouse to our friends. Thanks for making our break so special.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
117
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Varel, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Thanks to Barbara and Mark, we spent five marvelous days in their very nice well kept new house.Twelfe points from Germany.The way, Mark appeared for breakfastorders in his unique outfit, is better than Britain's best. We also give him twelfe points. Excellent food and service.The only thing to claim was this little doublebed for me as a sixfootsix person. Charming host,you can not select any better. Barbara and Mark, we wish you and Roundhousbarns all the best.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bodo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarknBarb, Owner at Roundhouse Barn, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear Bodo Thank you so much for your kind review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Roundhouse Barns.

Mark continues to wear his many and varied cooking aprons in the mornings!

We are sorry you found the Minack bed rather small, it is a standard 4ft 6" double bed which we do say on our website. But we appreciate for some one of your height it may have seemed very cramped.

Twelve points from Germany is gratefully accepted!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This is our fourth trip to the Roundhouse Barn and as with every other visit the whole experience was a joy. From the moment of arrival with a tasty cream tea for myself and specially baked muffins for my wife who is vegan, Mark and Barbara were unstinting in their welcome and friendliness. The food was as wonderful as always and we left feeling like we'd had a real treat.

As ever, we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nsayer1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarknBarb, Owner at Roundhouse Barn, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thank you for the kind review Neil and Sandi it was a pleasure to see you both again. Thanks also for pre-warning us about Sandi being a vegan - it gave Mark time to hunt out a few recipes and make sure we could offer a few alternatives to mushrooms/tomatos/beans on toast!

Hope to see you again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed at Roundhouse Barns for two nights whilst attending a friends wedding. It is an amazing location, the service was exceptional and I would highly recommend it. However, it really is off the beaten track so wouldn't be too suitable if you don't have a car.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Have to be the best cottages around. Stayed in the Carthouse, facilities were exceptional, welcome great. Every time we came back Barney the family dog greeted us with those soft sad eyes. The accommodation was so comfortable and had every thing we needed and more, Good walks from the front gate superb views, had to be one of the most relaxing breaks ever. We would recommend Roundhouse Barns wholeheartedly you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allan2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jakkalsfontein, west coast. south africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the B&B section of this wonderful establishment and on arrival decided to base ourselves here for the rest of our trip to Cornwall. And we are so glad we did. Not only were we in a quiet area with lovely views, have comfortable everything, delicious and varied breakfasts but the hosts, Mark and Barbara went out of their way to inform, recommend to us and provide us with maps and printed info re all the good eating places and places of interest
I highly recommend Roundhouse Barn B&B near St Mawes

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jvm64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

Had a very relaxing stay here. Set back 5 minutes (by car) from St. Mawes it's a great place to stay if you want to dip in and out of the Cornish coastline and St. Mawes in particular. Barbara and Mark were very accommodating , the room was beautifully kitted out as was the location in general and the breakfasts were outstanding. A very pleasant stay indeed.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mawes
2.7 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#2 of 5 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
2.8 mi away
The St Mawes Hotel
The St Mawes Hotel
#3 of 5 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Tresanton
Hotel Tresanton
#1 of 5 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Rising Sun
The Rising Sun
#5 of 5 in St Mawes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
2.5 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Rosevine
The Rosevine
#2 of 2 in Rosevine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundhouse Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundhouse Barn

Property: Roundhouse Barn
Address: Roundhouse Barn Messack Rd | nr St Mawes, St Mawes TR2 5JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in St Mawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Roundhouse Barn 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunningly converted set of 17th-century farm buildings to create Visit Britain accredited 5 star multi-award winning B&B and self-catering cottages. Beautiful gardens, tranquil setting. Nestled away on the western side of the Roseland Peninsula. Ideal base for the Eden Project, various National Trust Gardens, St Mawes etc. Our B&B Suite and our self catering cottages both won Visit England National Excellence Awards in 2012. Our self catering cottages came runner up nationally and our B&B was highly commended which puts us in the top 5 nationally. Regret no pets or children under 14. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Roundhouse Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roundhouse Barn St Mawes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing