We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Perfect Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roundhouse Barn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Mawes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Roundhouse Barn
Ranked #1 of 5 St Mawes B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Perfect Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed at Roundhouse Barns for the August Bank holiday weekend. This b&b is just perfect! The room was everything we could have wanted. The cream tea on arrival and Cornish breakfast each morning were fabulous. Barbara and Mark were extremely welcoming and helpful hosts. During our stay, nothing was too much trouble and they catered to any requests or extra needs we had. The tranquil location and beautiful setting made this holiday incredibly relaxing for us. Roundhouse Barns easily deserves 5 out of 5!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete and Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
117
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Absolutely fabulous ! The quality of this accommodation is better than many top hotels. It is beautifully appointed and surrounded by stunning Cornish countryside yet only minutes from the sea. We were welcomed with a tasty homemade Cornish cream tea and our room was light and spacious with robes, fluffy towels, White Company toiletries, a fridge with complementary water, fruit juices and fresh milk. There was an excellent selection of coffees, teas, chocolates and biscuits - really did not want to leave !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHalls4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely short stay here.

We loved the location, under 10 minutes drive inland from St Mawes & similar distance to great beaches around Portscatho, but the B&B itself is also along a quiet country road, which you can walk 20 mins further down to get to the river & a tiny beach.
Barbara & Mark are lovely hosts, they couldn't be more friendly or helpful, but also able to give visitors their own space.
Unfortunately we arrived late so didn't get to sample the cream tea on arrival, but the breakfasts were beautiful. From the general menu including full cooked and smoked salmon to the daily specials such as pancetta on pancakes, the food was exceptional.
The room we stayed in was exceptionally clean & beautifully decorated, with lots of great little touches such as White Co toiletries, complimentary postcards & water/juices. It was very warm in the night, but a large fan had been provided in the room so we used that during the night. Having a quiet fridge in the room within which you could put wine or beer was very useful & having tables outside to sit at made it feel more like a home/ small hotel than a B&B.
We would definitely recommend and hopefully will return at some point.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flourpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay bed and breakfast with Barbara and Mark. We arrived to a warm welcome which included a lovely Cornish cream tea. The room was modern with an extremely comfortable bed and we loved The White Company products. Breakfast was very tasty, lots of choice with a daily special. The location was peaceful and ideal for exploring Cornwall. We would definitely return. Steve and Sara Bidder

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Thank you Roundhouse Farm we had excellent holiday and would strongly recommend staying here if you are in the area. The location was excellent quiet and peaceful . Barbara and Mark could not have done more to make our stay very enjoyable. Thank you

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Clare5156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

We loved our stay at Roundhouse barns for our first trip to Cornwall. Barbara and Mark are such friendly and accommodating hosts and the cream tea on arrival in the sunshine in the courtyard was the perfect remedy after a long drive to get there. Breakfasts were outstanding and Barbara's poached rhubarb from the garden was particularly devine! Room was practical and very comfortable. Was also very well situated to visit lots of charming towns in Cornwall including St Mawes which we very much enjoyed. Met another lovely couple during our stay which was also great. Thanks for a great time!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We received a warm welcome and cream tea from Barabara and Mark at Roundhouse barn.
They have obviously spent a great deal of time and money on the property, making it a quality furnished and spotlessly clean place to stay. Breakfast was very good with local sausages and bacon and on our last morning Mark produced a delicious banana bread.
Our only problem was that we were very hot in the room and for the price, maybe thought that the room would be slightly bigger.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank highbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarknBarb, Owner at Roundhouse Barn, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are so sorry you were a little warm in your room. We do have both fans and lighter weight duvet's available and could have provided these if you had let us know at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mawes
2.7 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#2 of 6 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
2.5 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Rising Sun
The Rising Sun
#5 of 6 in St Mawes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The St Mawes Hotel
The St Mawes Hotel
#3 of 6 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Rosevine
The Rosevine
#2 of 2 in Rosevine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundhouse Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundhouse Barn

Property: Roundhouse Barn
Address: Roundhouse Barn Messack Rd | nr St Mawes, St Mawes TR2 5JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in St Mawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Roundhouse Barn 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunningly converted set of 17th-century farm buildings to create Visit Britain accredited 5 star multi-award winning B&B and self-catering cottages. Beautiful gardens, tranquil setting. Nestled away on the western side of the Roseland Peninsula. Ideal base for the Eden Project, various National Trust Gardens, St Mawes etc. Our B&B Suite and our self catering cottages both won Visit England National Excellence Awards in 2012. Our self catering cottages came runner up nationally and our B&B was highly commended which puts us in the top 5 nationally. Regret no pets or children under 14. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roundhouse Barn St Mawes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing