We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay and Highly Recommend!”
Review of Roundhouse Barn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roundhouse Barn
Ranked #1 of 6 St Mawes B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
London, UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay and Highly Recommend!”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

What makes the Roundhouse is not just the accommodation but rather the proprietors, Barbara and Mark. we have stayed in many establishments, but rarely except for the top end hotels do you get such lovely small and personalised touches - welcome drink on arrival and every afternoon afterwards, welcome note in room. They both make you feel very welcome and comfortable.

The room was very comfortable, but there a little tight between bed and bathroom door. The linens and towels (White Company!) were so soft and luxurious! Breakfast was excellent and personalised, with lots of choice.

Barbara and Mark were always very helpful and welcoming with excellent advice on what to see and where to go. They recommended excellent restaurants for dinner, and made us reservations.

The setting and gardens are beautiful.

The only downside for us is that it is a bit out of the way, about a 15 minute drive to St. Mawes. Careful in parking as well; it is a bit tight.

We would not hesitate to stay again or to recommend to others. Thank you Barbara and Mark!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
117
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We absolutely loved our bed and breakfast stay at Roundhouse Barns. We were greeted with a warm welcome followed by delicious homemade scones which were such a treat after a long journey. Barbara and Mark make sure everything is done to the highest of standards ,and I doubt if you or we will ever be lucky enough to stay in a nicer B&B.
They are wonderful hosts and have thought of everything one could ever need during your stay. The most comfortable bed, excellent shower, fluffy towels, bathrobes and luxury toiletries etc
In a very quiet and peaceful area which makes it so easy to sleep.
Breakfast was served in a beautiful dining room.. Delicious and cooked to perfection.
Barbara and Mark are there to help and guide you from days out to restaurant recommendations which we truly appreciated.
Pay the Roundhouse a visit and enjoy everything the area has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kms3892016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarknBarb, Owner at Roundhouse Barn, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We truly love Cornwall and are always keen to ensure that our guests enjoy it too - whatever their tastes. The amazing weather this summer has also helped everyone have a good time. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you back at Roundhouse Barns soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We booked The Dairy for our mini moon and we were not disappointed. A beautiful cottage, immaculately presented with everything you could possibly need. Both the indoor space and the gardens are beautiful here and it's a wonderfully relaxed environment.

Barbara makes you feel immediately at home and we were greeted with a lovely cream tea as well as a bottle of champagne and a card to congratulate us.

This quiet setting on the beautiful Roseland Peninsula is a great retreat for anyone looking for a quiet break away whilst still having access to lots of attractions in the area.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We booked this B & B 3 months ago as my sister was celebrating a 'significant' birthday at a nearby hotel. What a find! The owners Barbara and Mike made us very welcome, we were offered tea and scones on arrival and shown to our lovely room The Minack. This is the smaller of the two rooms, however perfectly adequate and the shower was very large and luxuriously appointed. We booked the larger room for our last night of 3, but were able to move to the larger room 'The Fal' a night early, this was again very well appointed and the bed was very comfortable being a large Kingsize. The breakfasts were amazing - all home cooked using local produce. I enjoyed the specials each morning - pancakes, pancetta and maple syrup was my favourite! My husband loved the full Cornish, we didn't have to eat lunch - but taking slices of the home made banana bread kept us going until dinner! The setting in the middle of the countryside made for peaceful nights sleep and the gardens were a pleasure to see. Alot of thought and care has gone into providing Bed and Breakfast at Roundhouse barns. I would definately recommend this B&B to everyone. The area is also delightful with plenty of beautiful beaches and walks by the river.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NellmcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had the smaller double room - the Minack, but I had already fallen in love with the place and booked it, as the larger room, the Fal, had already been taken - and that was some 3 months ahead! We had to unpack as we moved in, but we were staying for 5 nights, so that was fine. Plenty of storage. Mini bar. The room was designed with clean, modern and tasteful lines. Comfortable. The bed was small (I knew that ahead) but very comfortable. The en suite bathroom was spacious. Barbara and Mark's hospitality knew no bounds. We were welcomed with a personal greeting card in our room. What a lovely thought! Breakfasts were great. The grounds were delightful. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Get the larger room, if possible! (Fal)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coral N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We found this b & b on tripadvisor and due to the reviews booked it. The gardens were a marvelous entry to the house. Barbara greeted us with tea, scones, clotted cream and jam.
We stayed in the beautifully appointed Fal room with a king bed and two setting chairs. The room had windows on three sides and was airy and bright. The breakfast options were many including hot and cold and a hot special every morning. During our three night stay we used Roundhouse as a base and did day trips. Barbara and Mark had detailed plat maps and guide books for all local areas to take during our day of siteseeing. They are ten minutes from the King Harry ferry which shortens the trip to Lizard and Lands End. We would recommend dining at Roseland Inn in Philleigh for excellent local ales and dining. We give it the highest marks.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

There is really hardly any need to write this review as all the others say it all - beautiful location, very peaceful, set in lovely gardens. The two B&B rooms are of very high quality with extremely comfortable beds, comfy seating, dressing table, wardrobe and beautifully appointed ensuites, and a good selection of teas and coffee (decaf cafetiere included!). A Bose radio and iPod dock indicates the quality of the place.
Our hosts Barbara and Mark welcomed us not only with delicious scones, jam and clotted cream tea, but with a relaxed, calm and friendly attitude. From the moment we got there, we were put at our ease and they did everything they could to provide us with helpful information about anything we wanted to know.
There was loads of guide books and informative leaflets to delve into, and all the useful information about King Harry Ferry times was there, plus novels to read, DVDs to watch and a delightful outdoor seating area in which to enjoy the sun and the lovely gardens.
Breakfast is taken in their light and airy dining room at one communal table, but as there are only 2 rooms, this should not be an issue. Besides the delicious Cornish breakfast, Barbara has a breakfast specials board which we sampled (ham and eggs - delicious), and also a serve yourself selection of fruit, juice, yoghurt and cereals. Everything we tried in our 3 days there was really good.
Not every B&B lives up to the hype, but Roundhouse Barn certainly does. I could extol the virtues of the place for pages more, but all I really need to say is that if you are undecided, don't be, go there, you will not regret it.

Room Tip: The Fal has the biggest bed - two singles pushed into one, but the Minack has the bigger bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MackerelSkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mawes
2.7 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 5 in St Mawes
377 reviews
2.8 mi away
The St Mawes Hotel
The St Mawes Hotel
#3 of 5 in St Mawes
176 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Rosevine
The Rosevine
#2 of 2 in Rosevine
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Tresanton
Hotel Tresanton
#2 of 5 in St Mawes
610 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Ship and Castle Hotel
6.1 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundhouse Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundhouse Barn

Property: Roundhouse Barn
Address: Roundhouse Barn Messack Rd | nr St Mawes, St Mawes TR2 5JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St Mawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Roundhouse Barn 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunningly converted set of 17th-century farm buildings to create Visit Britain accredited 5 star multi-award winning B&B and self-catering cottages. Beautiful gardens, tranquil setting. Nestled away on the western side of the Roseland Peninsula. Ideal base for the Eden Project, various National Trust Gardens, St Mawes etc. Our B&B Suite and our self catering cottages both won Visit England National Excellence Awards in 2012. Our self catering cottages came runner up nationally and our B&B was highly commended which puts us in the top 5 nationally. Regret no pets or children under 14. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Roundhouse Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roundhouse Barn St Mawes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing