We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ship and Castle Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Tresanton(St Mawes)
US$354
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Idle Rocks(St Mawes)
US$367
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Rising Sun(St Mawes)
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$264
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$300
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grove Hotel(Falmouth)
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (505)
Filter reviews
505 results
Traveller rating
118
187
112
57
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
118
187
112
57
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshearings holidaydining roomcoach driverpost officeevening entertainmentsea viewa la carte menugreat positionco oprestaurant managernight breakmobility problemsfantastic viewssituated rightextractor fanlong weekendfour nights
Filter
Updating list...
308 - 313 of 505 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My mum and I have just returned from a weeks holiday with Shearings at this hotel and what a fab week we had. St Mawes is a fabulous, picturesque place and the hotel has the most amazing views. We were aware prior to our visit that this hotel is a little old and it is BUT, the main public rooms are great and have clearly been refurbished. We had upgraded and so had a superior room which had been refurbished. A few little problems but nothing major - at peak times the shower wasn't hot and when reported to reception I was told 'unfortunately this happens', one of our bedroom windows didn't open at all due to being stuck shut with paint but on the whole we were happy with our room. The staff in the restaurant and bar were great and so efficient. The lady that cleaned our room was a sweetheart and so friendly. Our Shearings driver Steve was extremely well organised & knowledgeable and had a genuine concern for his clients welfare. Basically we had a fab time and and would return. Remember, you get what you pay for!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room. Room 210 was lovely with fantastic views!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nici1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShipandCastleHotel, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

I`m pleased you had such a good time and Appreciated all the hard work and effort, we all put in to making your stay enjoyable. Since your stay, we have managed to free off the sticking windows and they all now open. Your kind comments will be passed on and we hope to see you back at the Ship & Castle soon.
Kind Regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We arrived at this hotel on 5th July 2013 and after reading some reviews I was ready with an open mind We booked in with no problems, we were told the best place to park which was only a 2 min walk from hotel and given change for the machine's, the staff at reception were fantastic.

We had a double room with a view of the Harbour, I didn't expect to have a view and we were pleasantly surprised. The room was a great comfortable size, the bathroom was well taken care of and had a shower, they had lamps a hairdryer and plenty of mirror's..normally fighting over 1 in other hotels...

Breakfast was included with the price and to be honest I didn't think it would be up to much reading the reviews but I am so glad I ignored them, we had a choice of 5 different juices, muesli,cornflakes,rice crispies,weetabix,bran flakes etc and all that before a cooked breakfast (no I didn't eat them all.) Cooked breakfast consisted of hash brown,sausage,bacon,egg,beans or a vegetarian breakfast, as well as egg on toast or croissants etc no matter how fussy you are there will be plenty of choice.

St Mawe's is a beautiful area but when you are there for the evening there is not much to do. We boarded a ferry boat over to falmouth you can buy daily tickets of £18 1 day £23 for 2 days etc.. we took this opportunity to travel to Falmouth, truro and back n forth St Mawe's, much nicer than travelling by car.. only fault is it stops around 5.30pm from Falmouth so we were not able to take opportunity to have an evening meal elsewhere.

Our weekend away was fantastic (helped that it was the hottest weekend of 2013)

I would recommend this to anyone, it was beautiful and couldnt get closer to the water if we wanted too..the views from the restaurant and lounge were magnificent and breathtaking.

There is 1 fault with the hotel that I have noticed mentioned in the reviews and that was the bed, it had a very cheap or very old mattress and it clicked crunched squeaked and felt every spring, they need new beds.

We even came back day 2 to a spotless room so maid had cleaned up and I didn't expect that. The chambermaid is lovely also. very friendly, in fact all staff were throughout hotel. A***

My only downside was the nasty uncomfortable mattress

Ps evening meal out was down the road, all places at St Mawes were very expensive and not much choice, next time I would eat at another area.

Room Tip: Front bedrooms obviously have all the sea views, but don't be disheartened if you get a side room as you can still see and hear the water.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Welove2travellots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShipandCastleHotel, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Thank you for appreciating the hard work every member of staff puts into our hotel and for not believing all read. We do give great value for money, in an idyllic setting.
All your comments will be forwarded onto them.
We do have the best views and location and it’s hard to do anything else but relax.
Since your visit, we have renewed the old style beds with new.
We all look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Paul Hollick
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed here in May and loved the position of the hotel, the dining room and lounge have magnificent views over the harbour. The dining staff were most efficient and the choice of food good. Would have liked a fresh fruit option for dessert. The reception staff were not so efficient but friendly. Our room although specious was hot and the window could not be opened due to secondary glazing. The shower did not stay in is fitting and the water pressure was too low. As I said 2 nights were enough I would not recommend this hotel for any longer and try to stay away from room 202 if you want a good shower and fresh air!!!!!! Watch the bar tab as they tried to overcharge us.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonsonDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShipandCastleHotel, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Thank you for your comments, which will be passed on to all our staff. The small problems you encountered during your stay have now been rectified and will no longer be a issue. All bar tabs have to signed by the guest at point of sale and our tills product charge directly to the room. Any charges can only be amended by the management team. I have looked into your concerns and checked all our account procedures. This should ensure no further problems.
Kind Regards
Paul
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

You will have a hard job to beat the views to be afforded from the dining room and lounge.

You pay for what you get and I have no issues with the quality of the staff, food or accommodation for the price that we paid.

If you are canny you can even park within the village for free providing you move your cars location a couple of times

My only surprise is that the food hygiene certificate has only four stars. perhaps the management can comment on this in their follow up.

Room Tip: Sea View rooms would be preferable
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShipandCastleHotel, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Thank you for your comments.
In answer to your question on our 4 star Food Hygiene rating, this is quite simple.
These rating not only cover food standards and kitchen hygiene; they also incorporate the building structure.
We passed all the hygiene and food standards with flying colours. But were unable to gain the five stars due to the lay-out of the kitchen being very old fashioned and impossible to modernise.
This star rating does give a false impression of our food standards, but is something we are unable to change.
Kind Regards
paul Hollick
G.M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

our first time to the ship and castle although parking is a problem it isnt far to walk to the hotel, reception staff were friendly and helpful, food was of a good choice but perhaps not enough for the hungry eater. our room was clean and tidy, the only downside was that the window didnt open very wide.staff serving food were helpful if at times we were rushed to finish to get others in.the setting of the hotel is very good over looking the harbour, thank you

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robert t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShipandCastleHotel, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Thank you for your comments and review, which I will pass on to all the staff.
Some of our windows only have a limited opening, for the safety of the guests.
Being right on the quay does restrict the parking. But as you said, the large public car park is a short walk and is £4.50 per 24hours.
We look forward to seeing you again soon
Kind Regards
Paul Hollick
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews