We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views at the Ship and Castle”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ship and Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in St Mawes
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning views at the Ship and Castle”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I have just returned from a four night stay with my mum. We felt the cost of the stay was really good value for money. I would like to congratulate the staff for their welcoming nature, especially in the restaurant and bar. As a vegetarian, I was very impressed with the variety of food available. Breakfast was delicious, hot and a credit to the chef (loved the veg sausages). This is an idyllic location with lots to see and do in the area. A walk to the castle is a must, with spectacular views.
There are some things the hotel management could do to improve the hotel. It is obvious that the hotel has had some refurbishment in the form of the lovely dining room with its stunning views. However, if I were to be picky, the room did smell a bit musty. There was some mould above the main window probably due to it being an end room. The lights were very dim and not good for reading, the same could be send for the main light. The bathroom was clean and the shower had plenty of hot water. A few things may be considered - possibly allocating some soap or given the option of a small pack to purchase? Towels were a little thin. Unfortunately, I have been watching the hotel inspector and naturally assess the room. I would definitely upgrade to a superior room with a sea view and I do think that the hotel with a little more work could be even better. All in all a good experience and a beautiful part of the country.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beaches1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShipandCastleHotel, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for your comments; they will be discussed with all the staff.
We do have the idyllic location and stunning views. As you said, we offer exceptional value for money and strive to give exceptional customer service.
We are in the process of a refurbishment programme and your observations will be taken seriously.
We look forward to you returning in the near future
Kind Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    167
    101
    46
    29
See reviews for
43
302
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We booked a very late room, which was at the back of the hotel overlooking an ally, but given the lateness of our booking we didn't expect a sea view! Non the less it was comfortable with everything you would expect. Breakfast was good and well presented. The corridors could do with some refreshing and some air circulation would be nice. but overall good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShipandCastleHotel, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
I`m pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us and hope you visit us again very soon.
Our breaks are fantastic value for money and you couldn`t find a more relaxing location.
Unfortunately we can`t ventilate some of the corridors as much as we would like, due to fire regulations.
Kind Regards
Paul
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

had a four night break at the hotel end of july very good value for money .location of the hotel superb ,plenty of parking 5 mins away its a pity you don't get a slight reduction for multiple days.food not mitch star butvery good for the money.previous reviews mentioned a lack of hot water,but we had plentyno problem with that.room was clean,and in the restaurant we found the staff pleasant helpful and efficient.the one small downside no real ale in the bar.apart from that we really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nigel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShipandCastleHotel, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Thank you for your honest review and all your comments will be passed on to the staff.
We do sell real ale in the main bar and in our café, unfortunately at this time only in bottles. This is something we intend to rectify and we are consulting with local suppliers.
Kind Regards
Paul
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed in The Ship and Castle on a half board basis for 2 nights. The rooms were not the best I have stayed in and the food was not the best I had eaten but for the cost, we could not really complain. The location of the hotel really is fantastic, such spectacular views. Staff were helpful and friendly so this again was great. Some of the food for dinner was a little bit different to our tastes but it was ok. Breakfast was good with a good selection. The service in the dining room did feel a little bit rushed at times. The food was served super quick so it didn't take long to eat. Although a lot of people would like that so we didn't mind. Rooms were not bad, some modernising needs to be done but they were very clean and we had clean towels each day. Really we could not complain, the weather was so beautiful and we did not spend that long in the rooms anyway. St Mawes is so stunning, it really is worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShipandCastleHotel, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thank you for your comments, we do give great value for money and excellent service.
If you visit us again, which i hope you do, it would be a good idea to book one of our superior room, so you can fully enjoy the fantasic views.

Kind Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Just returned from a week at this hotel with Shearings. The hotel is in a beautiful location with fantastic views of the harbour and beyond. Dining areas and lounge have been tastefully refurbished.Upgraded to a sea view room which we would recommend. Room spacious with wonderful views but beds uncomfortable and lumpy. Bathroom seemed to have been recently redecorated and tiled but old fittings remained and had trouble with getting the right temperature from the mixer shower over the bath. Unfortunately the window had been painted up and could not be shifted and therefore we had no mechanical or natural ventilation in the bathroom.
Food was very acceptable with a good choice for breakfast. The service was excellent and all the staff we met very pleasant and helpful. Waiter service in the restaurant we found very efficient.
Overall a very good holiday with an excellent driver from Shearings and value for money, although we would have difficulty recommending to others simply because of the standard of the bathroom. A shame and perhaps the hotel needs a further injection of funds to make this a good hotel and to fully exploit its ideal position in St Mawes.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShipandCastleHotel, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment. We have an ongoing plan in place for the refurbishment in some areas. Since your stay we have replaced the beds for new and the window has been repaired.
I hope this reassures you that all your comments are taken seriously and where possible are actioned.
Kind Regards
Paul Hollick
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We booked into The Ship and Castle for 4 nights Bed and Breakfast. The hotel looked very inviting and the view to die for. Prior to this we had stayed at The Imperial in Exmouth,, where we had a very comfortable stay. The room we were given at The Ship and Castle made our stay an absolute nightmare. The window would not open and we were overlooking a pub where people were dining on a roof terrace. so we had to keep our curtains closed. The staff were informed and they offered us a choice of two more rooms. The second choice had the same problem with a window that would not open It was a double room and we specifically wanted a twin as we find this more comfortable. The third choice had no shower only a bath.We had no choice but to endure this hot little room . The staff gave us two fans and a dehumidifier. The fans were not very effective.We spent the least amount of time we could in our room as it was not bearable. We did report this but no one seemed too bothered about our plight . The least they could have done was to purchase a couple of decent fans. The breakfasts were lovely and the staff hard working and polite. Anyone going to stay please avoid room 205 especially in this weather This problem appears to be known to the management and sadly ignored. It is most unfair when guests have had to have their stay ruined so the hotel can make money ..

Room Tip: Always read reviews. Ask what you view will be. Make sure your window will open Check that shower fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NormaMead0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShipandCastleHotel, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
It’s unfortunate that you wouldn`t consider the 3rd room that was offered to you. Having a bath, not a shower in the light of your complaints would have seemed the better option.
It appears from your comments, that the staff did all they could do for you at the time.
The windows are listed and need specialist repair, this has now been undertaken.
Regards
Paul Hollick
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these St Mawes hotels

Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a four night break at this hotel. We were so glad we had upgraded to a superior room with sea view as St Mawes is so pretty I would be quite happy to sit on the balcony all day and watch the boats and the tides.the staff were all very pleasant and efficient. The food wasn't the best but acceptable for the price paid. We were aware that the hotel had no parking which had put us off staying here before but it proved not to be a problem as the carpark was very close. Would recommend the hotel for a quiet relaxing holiday as St Mawes does not have the crowds and tacky souvenir shops you find in other parts Of Cornwall.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShipandCastleHotel, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thank you for your comments.
The superior rooms do give an unbridled view of the river fel and surrounding area and your review will be passed on to all the staff.

Kind Regards
Paul Hollick
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mawes
0.1 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 5 in St Mawes
383 reviews
0.0 mi away
The St Mawes Hotel
The St Mawes Hotel
#3 of 5 in St Mawes
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tresanton
Hotel Tresanton
#2 of 5 in St Mawes
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun
The Rising Sun
#5 of 5 in St Mawes
219 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
889 reviews
3.1 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship and Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship and Castle Hotel

Property: The Ship and Castle Hotel
Address: The Quay, St Mawes TR2 5DG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in St Mawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ship and Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where the Rivers' Fal and Percuil meet to join the open sea, St Mawes boasts the perfect picture postcard retreat and at the heart of the village, right on the quay you will find The Ship and Castle Hotel. Once The Ship and Castle Inn, and a warren of small fishermen's cottages (remnants of which can still be seen at the rear of the existing building) The Ship and Castle is now a 54 bedroom hotel with all the charm and character one would expect for its location. Our bar and lounges offer the perfect location for a peaceful day in St Mawes watching the world go by, or enjoying a traditional Cornish Cream Tea. We have a selection of sea view rooms which understandably are in high demand and are well recommended to make your stay that little bit more special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your The Ship and Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship And Castle Hotel St Mawes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing