We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs money spent on rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ship and Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in St Mawes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The hotel is in a lovely position in a very quiet harbour, although the downstairs of the hotel has obviously been redecorated in a modern way, not all the rooms have. We were put into room 114 which had a big gap in the French doors letting in a draft and the room looked a bit tired. Trying to get warm decided to have a hot shower but unfortunately the shower adjustments needs work on it and I could only get warm water which then turned cold. We were moved to room 120 which is a superior room which was very nice, but the corridor going to it was very disappointing, with damp on walls and plaster peeling off not what you expect on the way to a superior room. The whole hotel was cold which did not help the ambiance of the place. It should have little things like candles in the evening in the lounge because it is very dark and uninviting. The food was very average as well. We have stayed in several Coast and Country hotels and have found this one very disappointing. I would like to ask why, if the hotel was half empty they put you into a substandard room when they could put some people into the superior rooms, guests would then say what a lovely surprise upgrading us I might come again if that is the service I get, it does not take much working out.

Room Tip: You would do better to pay more for superior rooms. WE upgraded to sea view and rooms 114 and 112...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lilianswindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShipandCastleHotel, Assistant Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Thank you for the time to post your review. I will investigate all matters you posted and any take any action where needed. Kind Regards Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

Have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Ship and Castle. Staff were lovely, friendly and helpful. Food was good and plentiful, easily lasted from breakfast to dinner. We were disappointed that there were no local ales at the bar, so had to find a pub in the evenings that did serve them. Only complaint was with the bed, most uncomfortable. Did mention this to receptionist after first night, but all they did was put more padding under sheet. Didn't make much difference. When we had a word with manager, before we left, he said that he would look into it. They have been replacing beds in the past year, so hopefully this one will get done this year. Overall, we had a lovely, relaxing break and we would return to the hotel as it was very good value.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a new bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 40Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShipandCastleHotel, Assistant Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment. We have an ongoing plan in place for the refurbishment in some areas. We do have an on-going programme to change some of the beds and hope this reassures you.
All your kind comments will be passed on to the staff and we all look forward to your return.
It’s good for all the staff to have their hard work and services recognized by our guests.
Regards
Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My wife and I have just spent 4 nights at the Ship and Castle. The welcome was warm and throughout our stay the staff were both friendly and efficient. The standard of catering was excellent and the restaurant staff were really helpful. We had a room overlooking the harbour and this was an added bonus.
We travelled with Shearings and the excursions, both included and optional, were excellent. The driver/guide (Tony) was pleasant, knowledgeable, and helpful. He really made the holiday special for us.
For a short break I would recommend the Ship and Castle to anyone.

Room Tip: It is worth paying a bit extra to get a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank davepowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShipandCastleHotel, Front Office Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Ship & Castle. I will pass on your ever so kind words to all out departments. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the Ship and Castle and the views from your sea view room are stunning. Thank you Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We have just returned from a 5-day coach holiday to this Shearings-owned hotel. We had very good value for the modest cost.

The hotel has obviously suffered from the recent atrocious weather, the manager is well aware of the shortcomings. We reported problems and they were dealt with VERY promptly by happy, polite staff. In fact, ever member of staff from the manager downward were excellent.

We found the food to be most acceptable, with DIFFERENT vegetables each night. As to breakfast, what else did the critical reviewer want? Our traditional British breakfasts were served promptly, were acceptably hot and well presented.

We think that some people expect 5-star for 2-star prices - not saying that this hotel IS 2-star! Should we return St. Mawes we would not hesitate to return to the Ship and Castle.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trixie2932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShipandCastleHotel, Front Office Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

I would like to thank you for writing your review on our hotel. We do take great pleasure in delivering a high standard of customer service. I will pass all your kind comments to the staff at our next meeting. Regards Jackie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We had a week in this hotel which belongs to Shearings Holidays, will never never use this hotel again, breakfast just the run of the mill- bland, as for evening all same veg every night and was tinned or packet, rooms are just about a 2star value very few rooms have been decorated but all on small side. The hotel was set on a very nice harbour and surroundings with all locals friendly so, my mark for this out of 10 is 3

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShipandCastleHotel, Front Office Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Thank you for your review and comments. This helps us monitor and if possible improve our service and standards. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us regarding the food but as you can see from previous reviews this is not an issue we have problems with. The hotel does sit in wonderful surroundings. Regards Jackie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Hubby and I were staying at St Mawes in a rented cottage up the hill from the actual harbour. We visited just after the storms which had unfortunately taken out The Idle Rocks hotel which I hasten to add were doing their best to get up and running as quickly as possible and good on them! We popped into the Ship and Castle Hotel before going for a meal in one of the pubs. I am not sure if the hotel has recently had a bit a paint job but the bar area was quite nice - sofas and chairs were generlaly quite comfortable and the restaurant area was all laid up ready for one of the coach parties which seem to utilise this hotel quite a lot. It's just such a shame that small things should be put right quite easily but aren't. I visited the ladies loo and was very disappointed to see a broken cistern which had been superglued in an effort to repair and there were black felt tip marker pen marks on both of the ceilings showing where the lights should go - why were'nt they removed after the lights were put in? The paintwork was quite poor in the ladies loos as well showing some signs of either damp or not having been primed properly as the paint was already lifting - this was also the case in the lounge area by the bar where obvious signs of lifting emulsion were apparent. My husband's main grouse was that the bar was only service euro bubble lager - not a single local bitter was available - very poor show for a Cornish Hotel! I guess that due to the hotel only having to rely mainly on coach parties who are perhaps only staying one or two nights they don't have to go to too much trouble.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mouse010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShipandCastleHotel, Front Office Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Your comments as a non resident are much appreciated. We do apologise for the graffiti that was put there by some idiot, this has now been addressed. The whole toilet is spurious and the lid cannot be replaced. Due to demand and the short shelf life of draught ciders and beers it is not viable stocking these items. We do however sell local ciders and beers by the bottle. Travelling by car or coach is irrelevant to the hotel as we always strive to give the best customer service to all our guests. Regards Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed atT the above for 5 days , the room was very cold even with extra heaters, i had to sleep with my hat on, the room stank of damp ,the room was damp my w slept on top of the bed beacuse she tought it was dirty covered her self with her coat to keep warm ,shearing holidays have gone down in my estimation will never ytravel with them again .
frank b .

Room Tip: do not stay in the winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frank b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShipandCastleHotel, Front Office Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We have no record of your concerns of the bed being dirty or of any damp. Since posting your review we have investigated and cannot find any evidence to justify your comments. We are sorry that we were not given the opportunity at the time to investigate these matters. Regards Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mawes
0.1 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 5 in St Mawes
426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tresanton
Hotel Tresanton
#2 of 5 in St Mawes
670 reviews
0 mi away
The St Mawes Hotel
The St Mawes Hotel
#3 of 5 in St Mawes
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun
The Rising Sun
#5 of 5 in St Mawes
233 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
970 reviews
2.4 mi away
Gyllyngvase House Hotel
Gyllyngvase House Hotel
#17 of 24 in Falmouth
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship and Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship and Castle Hotel

Address: The Quay, St Mawes TR2 5DG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in St Mawes
Price Range: £57 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ship and Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where the Rivers' Fal and Percuil meet to join the open sea, St Mawes boasts the perfect picture postcard retreat and at the heart of the village, right on the quay you will find The Ship and Castle Hotel. Once The Ship and Castle Inn, and a warren of small fishermen's cottages (remnants of which can still be seen at the rear of the existing building) The Ship and Castle is now a 54 bedroom hotel with all the charm and character one would expect for its location. Our bar and lounges offer the perfect location for a peaceful day in St Mawes watching the world go by, or enjoying a traditional Cornish Cream Tea. We have a selection of sea view rooms which understandably are in high demand and are well recommended to make your stay that little bit more special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Ship and Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship And Castle Hotel St Mawes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing