We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than last Time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ship and Castle Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in St Mawes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed at the Ship & Castle last week from Monday to Friday on a Shearings holiday. This lovely hotel is in such a beautiful location that it was our second visit. The hotel has had a make over since our last visit and we had a sea view, superior room which was perfect - everything in the room worked, good lighting and on request, the lovely man on Reception gave us a fan heater but in the event we didn't need it. Breakfast is cooked to order and there is a choice for the evening meal. The staff spoke good English and were very helpful and happy. On this visit the weather was quite wet but so many excursions were organised by Shearings that we were kept occupied. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: It's certainly worth upgrading to a superior sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NannyAnnieto2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShipandCastleHotel, Assistant Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your posting. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that we had exceeded your expectations after your first visit with us. Hope you have many more trips with us.
Regards
Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

We booked again with coast and country for a value for money, dinner bed and breakfast few days away, this time in Cornwall and found the location of this hotel ideal as a base for our coastal path walking. Although a word of warning if high winds are forecast the ferry across to Falmouth doesn't operate which can limit where you can explore without using the car.
The staff were polite and helpful and although the hotel is undergoing some needed refurbishment everyone did their best to be attentive to their customers needs. We did experience an aspect of our stay which we weren't happy with and I wanted to comment on the excellent customer service we received on our return from our stay.
Thank you to all the staff who made our stay enjoyable and I hope the management will take note of the concerns that we raised.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently refurbished one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShipandCastleHotel, Assistant Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind comments. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will visit the area again soon.
Regards
Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I would like to say how lucky we were to be staying at the Ship and Castle when I collapsed in their lift on Friday evening - the guys in reception were excellent and also the girls who clean the rooms were very sympathetic and helpful when we booked out early the next day to return home as I was very shaken after a visit to Truro A and E via: an ambulance. An added bonus is Coast and Country have given us a credit of the cost of our accommodation for another stay at their hotels.

Room Tip: We had room 210 which was lovely thanks to the Assistant Manager Jackie - just sad we could not enjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowyowl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShipandCastleHotel, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and all the staff hope you made a full recovery.
It`s a comfort to know that if unfortunate things happen from time to time, the training all our staff receive is implemented in the correct way.
We hope to see you again very soon.
Kind Regards
Paul
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed for a week. Taking into account what we paid, the food was fairly good and there was always the option of paying more to choose from the a la carte menu. The hotel was undergoing upgrading to the bedrooms, but that was no excuse for some of our experiences - had to ask twice for bedroom carpet to be cleaned (from previous guests), dirty mug on tea tray, bed not made properly, no clean towels. There was a very strong smell of damp coming from the back corridor. Our bedroom looked like a single room with a double bed and the small shower room would have benefited from a shelf - our toiletries had to go on the floor. The waiting staff were very good, but we found the drinks quite expensive and with a limited choice. It's true, you get what you pay for, but improvements could be made without costing much. Quite a lot of noise from adjoining rooms and the street below. The hotel is in a lovely setting, but if you are lucky enough to enjoy good weather there isn't any outside space to sit and enjoy a drink (unless you pay a huge supplement for a balcony).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank_n_Fair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShipandCastleHotel, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your posting.
I`m sorry there were one or two issues in your room, these have been passed onto house and will be investigated.
Room supplements are a standard charge by all hotels across the world, to give the customer a choice in meeting their requirements.
Kind Regards
Paul
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

St Mawes is a beautiful place to stay, and the Ship & Castle is ideally situated right on the harbor. Absolutely lovely setting. Staff at the hotel are very accommodating and cannot do enough for you, Petr and Paloma were absolutely great in the dining room! Food was very nice (better than expected, bearing in mind that it was a set menu for coach trips).

The hotel coped admirably with the sudden influx when a coach arrived full of new visitors - we were not disturbed at all by their arrival - it just made serve at mealtime a little chaotic, as the coach arrived just before the evening meal!

Entire hotel is extremely clean and tidy - however, having said that, there are major renovations being undertaken and various rooms are being upgraded. The noise was not intrusive, and all work is finished before the evening meal.

The hotel is a bit of a Tardis - you have no idea when you walk in how many miles (and miles) of passages there are, not to mention funny little half staircases! Our room was technically on the first floor (room 123), but to get to it required a lift, up 4 stairs, a left turn, down three stairs, through a door, round a bend, down a corridor, around another bend, up a small stair case and around yet another bend! Also to be noted, unless you are extremely flexible, do not book room 123, as you are liable to concuss yourself on the peculiar ceiling! The bathroom was extremely small (sit sideways on the loo and hold your breathe to get in an out of the shower) and the water is intermittent in the shower (hence husband's shouts when eyes full of shampoo and no water coming out!).

All in all a lovely place, and we would return, but not to room 123. The annoying thing is that we paid extra for a seaview, but couldn't benefit from it because of the strange ceiling.

Room Tip: definitely try and get a sea view, but ask for a room with a balcony (we saw them from outside and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shbrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShipandCastleHotel, General Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for posting your review and your comments will be passed onto all the staff.
We all look forward to seeing you soon.
Kind Regards
Paul
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed 4 nights April 28th/ May 1st, cannot fault the staff, reception ,restaurant, very helpful,
our room 130 was very small, looking out onto a roof & telegraph pole if you strained your neck you could see the sea, The food was not as good as we have had befor, , Tenby/ Hunstanton or Bournemouth, to be out of Brown bread rolls @ 19-00 hrs not on one night but 2 out of three nights,something is wrong somewhere. also room 130 was over the kitchens very noisy at 06-00hrs
Brilliant location we took the ferry to Falmouth walked around Pendenis head, to Swanspool Bay very enjoyable walk, also we did take the King Harry ferry to Trelssick gardens ,well worth a visit also ,visit St Micheals Mount nr Penzance that is really beauitifull

Room Tip: The only answear is pay extra and go on the TOP shelf, at the front of the hotel and overlook the ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raytaximan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShipandCastleHotel, Assistant Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of us at the Ship & Castle. I am pleased to read you enjoyed most aspects of your stay with us. We will investigate the other issues you raised and thank you for bringing these to our attention.
Regards
Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We had a four night break 28th April- 2nd May 14', the stay was very pleasant.Staff were helpful
the food good, decor fresh evan our room 108. The problem was the room above, noisey guests
and a floor that made one hell of racket, if we ever whent back we would insist on top floor room.
We did complain to reception but the noise continued, we have since emailed the hotel and
recieved a reply.The manager says he has passed complaint over to maintenance so lets hope
the floorboard problem goes away.

Room Tip: Insist on a top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShipandCastleHotel, Assistant Manager at The Ship and Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased to read that you found all our staff pleasant and helpful and that all other aspects of your holiday you enjoyed. The manager has passed this information onto our maintenance department and this is being looked into. Look forward to seeing you again.
Regards
Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mawes
0.1 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 5 in St Mawes
409 reviews
0.0 mi away
The St Mawes Hotel
The St Mawes Hotel
#3 of 5 in St Mawes
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tresanton
Hotel Tresanton
#2 of 5 in St Mawes
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
904 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
927 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship and Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship and Castle Hotel

Address: The Quay, St Mawes TR2 5DG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in St Mawes
Price Range: £54 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ship and Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where the Rivers' Fal and Percuil meet to join the open sea, St Mawes boasts the perfect picture postcard retreat and at the heart of the village, right on the quay you will find The Ship and Castle Hotel. Once The Ship and Castle Inn, and a warren of small fishermen's cottages (remnants of which can still be seen at the rear of the existing building) The Ship and Castle is now a 54 bedroom hotel with all the charm and character one would expect for its location. Our bar and lounges offer the perfect location for a peaceful day in St Mawes watching the world go by, or enjoying a traditional Cornish Cream Tea. We have a selection of sea view rooms which understandably are in high demand and are well recommended to make your stay that little bit more special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ship and Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship And Castle Hotel St Mawes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing