We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nearwater Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 St Mawes B&B and Inns
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stayed 2 nights here and were made to feel very welcome. Loved the stylish bedroom done in New England style and THE most comfortable bed. A feature I wish other places would copy was the very low light that could be put on at night in the bathroom. No more struggling in the dark if you need to pay a call in the night!!
Hosts very knowledgable about where to eat and places to visit. Comfortable guest sitting room with lots to read there.
Would definitely like to return as we felt very at home and relaxed there.

Room Tip: Not a tip about the room. I think they are all nice but just to say if you walk down to the centre o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennyapples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    9
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
71
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Stayed here a for a few nights with my girlfriend , and it was incredible. You get more then you pay for . Super comfy Beds, a tasty breakfast , close to the beach. The hosts are amazingly friendly, you won ´t regret it , I´m definitely coming back !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sin5252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

A very well maintained home,beautifully furnished & decorated, very clean & very comfortable - beds especially so.
Well located - rooms have a view of the water & within 10 mins walk of St Mawes & close to beach/sailing, good car parking
Very nice breakfast - with a different special each morning
Dinning room with sitting area for use of guests & nice tables/chairs in garden

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clanc00per
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

superb place. Run by friendly and extremely knowledgeable couple. Ideal if you turn up without a plan for your days out!
cant find any faults with the Nearwater, its smoothly run, a great place to stay and located in a beautiful seaside village.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_2020_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This B and B is a real testament to how far the sector has come in the past few years, with small establishments offering a true bespoke and boutique experience that is a true alternative to larger hotels. The Nearwater is a beautiful house and garden with a very high quality specification and finishes, which is complemented by Amelia's warm and professional personality and service.

Our room was Percuill, which is a good size and offers glimpses to the sea. The room is fresh and the bed very comfortable.

I do however agree with previous reviews that if you want a quiet intimate experience then you should avoid periods when they are running events. Whilst we were staying they were running a 3 peaks event which did make the house somewhat hectic particularly at breakfast and I don't think would suit most people. In this instance we didn't manage to sample the normal breakfast fare and we did have confusion at checkout as no one was around. However as you will note we haven't marked nearwater down on this point for 2 reasons: firstly they did ask if we minded others joining us and having a more simple breakfast and we agreed - so obviously we could have said no and they would have kept it separate, and secondly it is very commendable that this couple takes such an active role in their local community - so just be sure and check before you go if something is on.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKlondon09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a few nights at the start of the Summer at the smaller "Cabin" room

If you do book this room DO NOT worry that it is going to be too small. I've stayed in smaller standard sized rooms in many hotels! Beautifully furnished and absolutely spotless. Almost like being on a luxury yacht.

Ingenious use of space with bespoke, solidly built furniture and hidden storage. Very tasteful nautical feel with highly chromed port-hole mirror and flush metal cabinet handles. Excellent quality fabrics and drapes and a VERY comfortable bed with soft furnishings and bolsters.

En-suite was a bit of a squeeze but only because there is a very large shower, which was quite luxurious. The room and en-suite were kept rigorously clean throughout our stay. Absolutely gleaming.

Our hosts were sprightly and knowledgeable, seeming to be both efficient and relaxed at the same time. A feat of character! Breakfast was very good with a different daily special available if you didn't fancy the regular choices. Cereals, fruit (banana for me ;) yoghurt, cooked breakfast all available and all of fine quality.

In essence, you should go! St. Mawes is one of the most beautifully kept and genuine little fishing villages in the area with loads of routes to explore the headland. Nearwater B&B is 2 minutes walk from the harbour (hence the name!) and, if like us, you fall in love with St.Mawes, there's no real reason to venture further afield!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6ft3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night of our 'minimoon' last week and we were impressed with the high quality accommodation, definitely 5 star standard. Amelia and Tim were wonderful hosts and the breakfast was exceptional. We hope to stay here again soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mawes
0.2 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 5 in St Mawes
394 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ship and Castle Hotel
0.3 mi away
The St Mawes Hotel
The St Mawes Hotel
#3 of 5 in St Mawes
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tresanton
Hotel Tresanton
#2 of 5 in St Mawes
626 reviews
2.9 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
484 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Rosevine
The Rosevine
#2 of 2 in Rosevine
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nearwater Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nearwater Bed & Breakfast

Property: Nearwater Bed & Breakfast
Address: Nearwater Polvarth Road | Nearwater, St Mawes TR2 5AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St Mawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New 2010 luxury Bed & Breakfast in the beautiful fishing and sailing village of St Mawes. The house has been completely renovated in a coastal/New England style. Accommodation includes all modern facilities combined with the personal touch of your hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith and Booking.com so you can book your Nearwater Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nearwater Bed & Breakfast St Mawes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing