We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful castle” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Mawes Castle

St. Mawes Castle
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in St Mawes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This round stone artillery fortress was built for Henry the Eighth in 1542, using a cloverleaf plan with a four-storied round tower. Take the free audio tour to discover life at the castle during the Civil War and explore the castle and grounds with its stunning views out to sea. Child friendly and dog friendly.
Auckland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Great castle to visit - you get given your personal audio tour to take round with you. Lots of history, great view across the river mouth entrance to Pendenis castle.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank AucklandKiwifamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    134
    21
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“St mawes castle cheap English heritage site”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I took the boat to st mawes for the day, while in the area seeing that entry was only £4.80 for adult entry I thought why not. When we got out tickets we got audio guides which were included in the price. We walked around the castle and the different room, I did the whole thing in around 45mins which was a bit disappointing. Comparing st mawes to others places I have been st mawes comes across quite poor. I am a national trust member and their sites generally have more information about the history of the site and generally have more things to see. I have also been to pendennis castle before which is another English heritage castle across the water and considering it is only £1-2 more, there is a lot more to see, especially about the history during WWII. I suggest if you are in the area spend a small bit more and go to pendennis, there is not much to see in st mawes and there is not a lot of information on what you do see.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zoe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Definitely worth an hour or so”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Helpful staff and a very good audio tour which brought to life the interesting history of this castle. The structure is pretty complete so relatively little appears to have been needed to make it suitable for visitors. Much of it is inside so this would provide a useful diversion for families on a wet day.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Queerhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,154 reviews
658 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 577 helpful votes
“Interesting little castle - Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

This castle is in a very scenic location and offers great views over Carrick Roads (which is why it was built there of course).

The history of the castle is interesting and is well presented by the audio guide which is part of the admission fee.

Free entry to members of English Heritage (and to Welsh / Scottish Heritage after a members first membership year).

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Albia-Newton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

£4.50 per adult and it's fairly small inside, but worth a look and your money goes to English Heritage after all! nice views from the top.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Mawes Castle also viewed

 

Been to St. Mawes Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing