We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Castle” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Mawes Castle

St. Mawes Castle
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in St Mawes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This round stone artillery fortress was built for Henry the Eighth in 1542, using a cloverleaf plan with a four-storied round tower. Take the free audio tour to discover life at the castle during the Civil War and explore the castle and grounds with its stunning views out to sea. Child friendly and dog friendly.
Bristol
Level Contributor
59 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Had a very enjoyable tour if the castle last week. Great commentary available on mini recorder. Well worth the visit and less than £5

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SimonDGould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    134
    21
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great day Out At St Mawes Castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I've been wanting to visit St Mawes Castle for a long time and i have to say i wasn't disappointed. It's a bit awkward to get too, especially from Hayle but we did find the car ferry on the way back which made it a lot easier. The castle is small in comparison to a lot of castles but that's reflected in the price and the views from the castle over to Pendennis Castle are tremendous. The castle is well maintained and the grounds are very picturesque, The village is so pretty it's well worth a visit too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank staboblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penarth - Vale of Glamorgan - Wales
Level Contributor
130 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“a charming place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

If staying at 'The Idle Rocks', or simply stopping by for a crab sandwich, a stroll through St Mawes will take you to the castle. It is a pleasant stroll and well worth visiting for his architecture and its charming situation next to the sea.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank il_padrino_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A return to my past!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

50 years' later I returned to St. Mawes, where my family used to rent a self accommodating apartment above the "old fire station". For me these were the most exciting memories! The old castle, built by Henry VIII, now in the hands of English Heritage was a feast for my eyes! Well preserved and a delight to visit!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank coralnavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Lovely location, good audio tour, very interesting visit with great views across the Carrick Roads and to St Anthony's Lighthouse

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JuneHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Mawes Castle also viewed

 

Been to St. Mawes Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing