We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what you would expect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Tresanton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Tresanton
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in St Mawes
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“what you would expect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

perfect, well worth the trip to St Mawes. outstanding service, very good food, you will be well pampered, relaxed atmosphere.
the view from the terasse is outstanding.
recommend for a short break with your better half.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tartineLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    96
    37
    19
    8
See reviews for
108
355
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Corfu, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Five days of total relaxation. One of my favorite short holidays I look forward to each year is our stay at The Tresanton. Smiling welcoming faces on arrival with check in made seamless and our favourite room beautifully set up. It says a lot for the management that the same staff remain in situ long term, continually motivated and professional. The views are stunning. After a day walking the dramatic outrageously beautiful Cornish coastline to return to the Tresanton with a Scotch to hand, in front of a log fire or taking in the last of the sun relaxing on the beautifully positioned terrace watching the sailing boats tack up the estuary before settling in for a delicious dinner created from local produce. What a perfect day. We look forward to returning soon. As per the well named local beer, this hotel is the 'Proper Job' !

Room Tip: Best rooms in hotel building with sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

This was a treat for my birthday & we spent 4 days here in August. It was utter heaven. Arrived in time for the last buffet lunch of the summer which was spectacular, as were the great breakfasts & dinners, all taken on the terrace overlooking the sea. We haven't had such delicious food in years & I definitely put on extra kilos as everything on the menu was irresistible. To the people who complained about no tea in the room, when we asked the desk, they immediately sent up a tray with an electric kettle, vast supply of teas, coffees & hot chocolate. One of my favorite memories is having wake up tea with my daughter in my room, looking out to the incomparable view. Our rooms were super comfortable, the staff were really kind & friendly & I had a wonderful massage. This is a hotel I can highly recommend & we would love to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ResEs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We spent a great weekend here.It was one of the nicest locations I have been to in the UK. Absolutely idylic! The staff were very attentive and the breakfasts were fantastic. My only criticism would be there were no tea/coffee facilities in the room or a fridge/mini bar.We travelled a longway and needed a cuppa or chilled drink on arrival, but only room service is available.A little bit over-priced for what was on offer, I'm afraid.

Room Tip: Rooms downstairs may be quieter. Our room at the top was noisy at night with the boiler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texasgirlkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We only visited 'The Nook', the small tea room attached to the main hotel. The seating area was lovely with an amazing view over St Mawes and the sea. However, the drinks were far too expensive. Three teas came to £7.50 and were served in plastic cups, which would not normally bother me but at £2.50 a cup I think this is very cheeky. A cup of apple juice was £3.50 (!!), tasted like it was from a carton and was mostly ice. We were not impressed and will not be returning, which is a shame as the location really was great.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank hcmknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

It was a shame that we were only staying for the night! The staff, and indeed the welcome, was superb: cases whisked away, car dealt with (and in a town like St. Mawes that REALLY means something!) and comprehensive, but brief explanation of the hotel. The room was beautiful: we wanted to take it home! Breakfast (the only meal we consumed) was extensive, well served and brilliant hether you are a "full English" person, a Scandinavian crispbread and prune person or a German "where is the cheese and cold meats?" person. Rooftop bar was almost unique in (a) having great views combined with (b) superb service: one is not left abandoned like at so many other hotels. This place seems to have invested in bothe the training of the staff and the overall numbers of them. Wouild we return? Hell, yes! Was it worth the money? Definitely!

Room Tip: Go for the upstairs, front view over the lounge. View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Templer666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Looe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

We had an anniversary meal here and sat out on the terrace. Neighbours were German who were a bit cold, and before staff brought out the heaters we were asked if we minded. Very considerate. Attentive, very well trained staff, especially the sommelier. Food was exceptionally good. This was the second meal that we have eaten at The Tresanton in 6 months, and it meets London standards. Not cheap but worth the expense for the experience. The views across St Mawes Bay would be hard to beat anywhere in the world

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HoratioT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mawes
0.3 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 6 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
3.3 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.2 mi away
The St Mawes Hotel
The St Mawes Hotel
#3 of 6 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
18.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tresanton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tresanton

Property: Hotel Tresanton
Address: 27 Lower Castle Road, St Mawes TR2 5DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in St Mawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tresanton 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Tresanton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tresanton Hotel St Mawes
Hotel Tresanton St Mawes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing