We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely relaxed hotel”
Review of Hotel Tresanton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Tresanton
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in St Mawes
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxed hotel”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Having had a bereavement in our family we needed a few days away in a totally peaceful setting and with a bit of luxury! We were not disappointed. This place is very relaxed, the staff wonderful and the setting just perfect. Our room (16) was spacious with a glorious view over the sea, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom huge and spotless. This was the bit of luxury we needed and we loved it, and breakfast was imaginative and well served too. (Shame the same cannot be said of the evening restaurant - see separate review.)

Room Tip: 2nd floor gives great views but be careful in the summer as it overlooks the terrace, which could ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Way
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    99
    38
    19
    8
See reviews for
109
362
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We spent 3 nights here and had a wonderful stay. The ambience is one of understated elegance designed to make one feel totally at home.

The room locations are quite varied so it is worth doing a bit of research to avoid a noisy room. We were in The Nook in a junior suite; the bedroom has a huge bay window with magnificent views of the sea, the lighthouse and the harbour. The room was beautifully appointed with scatter cushions and top quality bed linen; the bathroom is superb with a great shower and a bath as well.

A huge plus is that there is unlimited wifi access on demand throughout the hotel, without having to sign in with passwords etc.

We dined in the hotel each night and the food was varied, well presented and tasty, most of it sourced from local suppliers. Try the oysters, the Cornish crab and the sole. There is a cosy lounge for pre dinner drinks (the cocktail list is sensational) with a natural fire in the grate.

The staff were without exception the most friendly and attentive I have ever come across, especially the restaurant manager, Susie.

There are some magnificent walks along the coastal paths, especially to the lighthouse which is reached by a 5 minute ferry ride. The other walk is to the church of St Just-in Roseland, via St Mawes castle; this is not circular so I would get the hotel to drop you at the church and walk back. Also consult a tide table so that you arrive at the church when the tide is in.

A wonderful place to stay in this lovely village.

Room Tip: Room 29 in The Nook
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hesiod58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

After reading about and watching UK television in Australia we had the Tresanton and the Endsleigh on our must do, visit list. Both hotels feature in the Hotel Inspector show and belong to the hotel inspectors family - the Polizzi family.

Both lived up to our expectations in location, service and comfort.

The only negative and it got worse was our room at the Tresanton was directly under the terrace immediately outside the restaurant. This terrace a wooden deck constantly had chairs, tables, sun lounges and gas burners dragged across it after hours and very very early each morning. It sounded like thunder and a train overhead. So stay out of these rooms. The hotel was booked so we were stuck in this room.

Overall otherwise with our forced 6 am wake up calls above us we enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend both hotels.

Room Tip: Stay out of the room under the terraces front balconies. It is comparable to living under a train su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travel3220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Spent three nights here at the end of September with mother in law and husband. We had 32 Rock Cottage which was ideal because the three of us could sit in the lovely sitting room or balcony and chat and look at the view - well we would have sat outside if the weather had been good.
The accomodation was excellent, the service superb and the food delicious. it was all so just right.

Room Tip: If you go as a family or with a parent (s) 32 Rock Cottage is ideal and has a little kitchenette for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanandLizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shaftesbury
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Just returned from a five night stay and I can only comment that I wish it had gone on forever. Despite rubbish weather, my holiday was made by the faultless perfection of The Tresanton and it's wonderful staff who understand the word hospitality as if they invented it. Everything works, everything is thought of, but all is understated. Terrific. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penny s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My daughter's wedding was held here on 21 September. We know it well on a lunch and afternoon tea basis as we only live across the water in Falmouth. The cinema room used for the lunch is simply beautiful, reflecting the marine location and just perfectly quirky with the stunning mosaic floor. The room laid up for both wedding ceremony and later for lunch looked spectacular and all guests were so impressed and delighted by it. The canapés were as artistically stunning as they were delicious and lunch was breath-taking. We felt the ultimate accolade for Paul, the chef, was that the Australian guests remarked that they had never, in all their travels, tasted such delicious scallops as were served for a starter. We all agree with a previous reviewer that Hotel Tresanton has gathered together the best of Cornwall's available hospitality staff - they are simply superb, interactive. attentive but never obsequious and they are flawless in manner. The Nook terrace, dressed for the evening barbecue, looked like a film set and it was all that my daughter and I could have hoped for and more....the marine themed cake was set against the backdrop of the sea and St Anthony and as the light fell the numerous candles added to the ambiance - it was perfection and the wonderful staff we had that evening made the whole affair relaxed and total fun and we never felt rushed. A glass was never left empty and once again the food was delicious.
Frederica, the hotel manager, is something else. Her attention to detail is unrivalled and she is so quietly professional. Leila is also a huge asset in the wedding organisation side of things.
Thank you so much to all. We had a truly memorable day and are immensely grateful to all involved for making it seem so easy and seamless. Several of us have worked on the other side of things and realise that perfect events come with extreme diligence and thought. The Tresanton is the master of this and thank goodness for this idyllic place.

Room Tip: My daughter and new husband had room 5 which has a beautiful private terrace overlooking the harbour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JANE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Mawes Truro
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I was most fortunate to be invited by a guest and dear friend to me staying at the Tresanton for dinner, though I'm a local man and know the hotel very well and of course know at least 90% of the staff who work there I was made to feel most welcome. I had a wonderful dinner in one of the best restaurants anywhere in the country, not only for its cuisine but also it's fabulous location. We are very lucky living in St.Mawes and having a wonderful venue right on our doorstep.
Prior to leaving I was able to visit my friends bedroom, Room6, what a lovely room, a double with small private patio looking over the hotel terrace looking out to sea toward St.Anthony Lighthouse, stunning!

Room Tip: Room 6 is must! That's if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RodneysSt_MawesTruro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mawes
0.3 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#2 of 5 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
3.3 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.2 mi away
The St Mawes Hotel
The St Mawes Hotel
#3 of 5 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
18.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tresanton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tresanton

Property: Hotel Tresanton
Address: 27 Lower Castle Road, St Mawes TR2 5DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in St Mawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tresanton 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Tresanton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tresanton Hotel St Mawes
Hotel Tresanton St Mawes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing