We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Place”
Review of Hotel Tresanton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Tresanton
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in St Mawes
Certificate of Excellence
East Anglia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Place”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We spent three nights here in early November. The hotel was not full and we loved the peaceful atmosphere. We were extremely well looked after; the staff were definitely the best in any hotel we've stayed in. Each day our rooms were done while we were at breakfast, so we didn't return to an unmade bed, and the restaurant staff were brilliant - I can't praise the whole team highly enough.
We were in Room 6, spacious and comfortable with beautiful views. We felt the bed was a little hard but that was a minor point.
The food was delicious : breakfasts superb, and dinner amazing; we didn't have a single dish we didn't love.
We will certainly return. Thank you to everyone for making it all so perfect..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PennyPorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    99
    38
    19
    8
See reviews for
109
362
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Long Clawson
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We spent a relaxing four days at the Tresanton in late September. The service was spot on and the staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. We mentioned we liked the table we were given for our first breakfast and the staff made sure we were always offered this same table - which was a lovely touch.
The bedrooms and bathrooms are very well done, absolutely immaculate in seaside colours and they all have sea views.
We found the hotel to be very well managed indeed.
The only tiny fault we found was with the food at dinner. It did not quite match the excellent reviews we would give for the rest of the experience.

Room Tip: All room have sea views and all the ones we saw were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Room10England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed in October for one night and it was superb. The staff are kind, helpful and very professional. there is no elitism, just a desire to do a good job. I love it when people have a good sense of humour and a gentle way about them...This is definitely the case at Tresanton. Room 8 is lovely and has fantastic views. The restaurant was very good and the wines excellent, as was the room service

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morgan45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Having had a bereavement in our family we needed a few days away in a totally peaceful setting and with a bit of luxury! We were not disappointed. This place is very relaxed, the staff wonderful and the setting just perfect. Our room (16) was spacious with a glorious view over the sea, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom huge and spotless. This was the bit of luxury we needed and we loved it, and breakfast was imaginative and well served too. (Shame the same cannot be said of the evening restaurant - see separate review.)

Room Tip: 2nd floor gives great views but be careful in the summer as it overlooks the terrace, which could ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Way
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We spent 3 nights here and had a wonderful stay. The ambience is one of understated elegance designed to make one feel totally at home.

The room locations are quite varied so it is worth doing a bit of research to avoid a noisy room. We were in The Nook in a junior suite; the bedroom has a huge bay window with magnificent views of the sea, the lighthouse and the harbour. The room was beautifully appointed with scatter cushions and top quality bed linen; the bathroom is superb with a great shower and a bath as well.

A huge plus is that there is unlimited wifi access on demand throughout the hotel, without having to sign in with passwords etc.

We dined in the hotel each night and the food was varied, well presented and tasty, most of it sourced from local suppliers. Try the oysters, the Cornish crab and the sole. There is a cosy lounge for pre dinner drinks (the cocktail list is sensational) with a natural fire in the grate.

The staff were without exception the most friendly and attentive I have ever come across, especially the restaurant manager, Susie.

There are some magnificent walks along the coastal paths, especially to the lighthouse which is reached by a 5 minute ferry ride. The other walk is to the church of St Just-in Roseland, via St Mawes castle; this is not circular so I would get the hotel to drop you at the church and walk back. Also consult a tide table so that you arrive at the church when the tide is in.

A wonderful place to stay in this lovely village.

Room Tip: Room 29 in The Nook
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hesiod58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

After reading about and watching UK television in Australia we had the Tresanton and the Endsleigh on our must do, visit list. Both hotels feature in the Hotel Inspector show and belong to the hotel inspectors family - the Polizzi family.

Both lived up to our expectations in location, service and comfort.

The only negative and it got worse was our room at the Tresanton was directly under the terrace immediately outside the restaurant. This terrace a wooden deck constantly had chairs, tables, sun lounges and gas burners dragged across it after hours and very very early each morning. It sounded like thunder and a train overhead. So stay out of these rooms. The hotel was booked so we were stuck in this room.

Overall otherwise with our forced 6 am wake up calls above us we enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend both hotels.

Room Tip: Stay out of the room under the terraces front balconies. It is comparable to living under a train su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travel3220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Spent three nights here at the end of September with mother in law and husband. We had 32 Rock Cottage which was ideal because the three of us could sit in the lovely sitting room or balcony and chat and look at the view - well we would have sat outside if the weather had been good.
The accomodation was excellent, the service superb and the food delicious. it was all so just right.

Room Tip: If you go as a family or with a parent (s) 32 Rock Cottage is ideal and has a little kitchenette for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanandLizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mawes
0.3 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#2 of 5 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
3.3 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.2 mi away
The St Mawes Hotel
The St Mawes Hotel
#3 of 5 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
18.5 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tresanton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tresanton

Property: Hotel Tresanton
Address: 27 Lower Castle Road, St Mawes TR2 5DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in St Mawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tresanton 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Hotel Tresanton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tresanton Hotel St Mawes
Hotel Tresanton St Mawes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing