We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in Cornwall!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tresanton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Tresanton
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in St Mawes
Certificate of Excellence
Totnes
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best in Cornwall!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Olga does it again, the Tresanton has all the touches of a Polizzi makeover, a bit designery and not terribly old money but it works. Wonderful view, pretty hotel, even prettier Hungarian waitress, extremely good food and very attentive service. The set lunch is a bargain at £22 for two excellent courses and a glass of wine. Totally recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    96
    36
    19
    8
See reviews for
107
354
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

A real gem in the quiet seaside village of St. Mawes. The atmosphere is very calming and relaxed and the service always seems to be spot on. Every meal we've had has been superb - as good if not better than many top London restaurants. Very family friendly.

Room Tip: Seafront always good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
65 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a two night stay here and the weather was wonderful, as was the hotel! It's not cheap, but the food and drinks are reasonably priced. All the rooms have a sea view and waking up to that with the sun shining makes for a wonderful holiday. The rooms aren't big, but they are stylish and the bed is very comfortable with very good quality linen.

Breakfast was excellent, we ate on the terrace, and the dinner was reasonably priced and faultless. I like the fact that the menu had some lighter dishes which is unusual in most hotels. The staff are so pleasant and helpful, they really make your holiday.

The only slight complaint is that there are no tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms. A good quality coffee machine would make the hotel just perfect!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank travelguru55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were very impressed with this cleverly thought out and refreshingly different hotel in a quaint location. All the staff members were very welcoming and accommodating. The restaurant offers great views and delicious food, both in the morning and the evening. There is a comfortable lounge for relaxing with a newspaper or playing games plus plenty of outdoor space too. Although the hotel was full it never felt crowded or too busy.

We had a spacious two bedroom suite which was very comfortable and clean. Be prepared for a bit of a hike from reception - we were very grateful to the porters.

The only criticism - on arrival we were unaware of the valet parking and spent a while trying to get our car up and down various little lanes which are not designed for anything bigger than a mini !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

This is how hotels should be. Understated, intuitive and perfectly executed. In a world where so many hoteliers get it wrong, The Tresanton wins with it's under the radar chic. The service is genuine and incredibly friendly. They are also super dog friendly (ours was made to feel especially welcome). A lovely treat

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Globaladventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

No words that I write here will be able to do true justice to the staff and setting of the Tresanton, both of which made our wedding weekend the best experience of our lives.

From the initial meetings with Leila, Frederica and Paul, through all the organisation that went on behind the scenes, to the final delivery of a faultless and seamless wedding weekend we cannot speak highly enough of the professionalism, attention to detail, can do attitude and friendliness of all involved.

In short the food was sensational (guests commented on it being the best meal they had ever had not 'just' the best wedding breakfast), the staff impeccable (without exception), the accommodation immaculate and I would challenge any establishment or bar tender in the world to make a better Espresso Martini than Patrick :-)

The weekend was made even more special by the fantastic weather allowing us to use the beautiful outside terraces for drinks, canapés and an amazing firework display.

Tresanton didn't deliver the wedding we were hoping for, they delivered the wedding we could only have dreamt of. We will see you all again soon.

Mr & Mrs Wallis

P.S. Frederica is also a dab hand at last minute panic sewing...are there no limits to the talent of the staff at this Hotel?!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MWCOD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We have eaten here several times and it never disappoints.the setting is beautiful the dining room cool simple and elegant in blue and white
The staff really are fantastic young friendly and attentive never obtrusive.
We like the range of the menu which caters for those who want /need a more simple meal through to the full a la carte menu.we were lucky to have a wonderful firework display on boats in the harbour there was a wedding in progress but this did not impose on guests in the dining room.after dinner coffee and chocolates was really lovely.still the best in town we look forward to the next visit

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mawes
0.3 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#2 of 6 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
3.3 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The St Mawes Hotel
The St Mawes Hotel
#3 of 6 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
21.1 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tresanton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tresanton

Property: Hotel Tresanton
Address: 27 Lower Castle Road, St Mawes TR2 5DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in St Mawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tresanton 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Tresanton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tresanton Hotel St Mawes
Hotel Tresanton St Mawes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing