We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eating at the Tresanton” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tresanton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Tresanton
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in St Mawes
Certificate of Excellence
Falmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Eating at the Tresanton”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

An enjoyable experience but sadly not as good as we had been led to believe . The staff were polite but abrupt , the food was good but not outstanding . The terrace had wonderful views but furniture a bit rusty and generally a bit tired looking . Good but not the best food in Cornwall by a long shot .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pamelatongue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    96
    36
    19
    8
See reviews for
107
353
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Having never been to Cornwall before I was not sure what to expect of either St Mawes or Hotel Tresanton. The setting and location of St Mawes is beautiful. The village itself I didnt find totally enchanting but a great place to explore Cornwall from. The Hotel on other hand was brilliant. As others have said great attention to detail, great staff and restaurant without feeling at all pretentious or intimidating. We were in room 6 with great space, a wonderful small rteading/writing area facing he ocean and its own small deck. Bliss.

Room Tip: We were in room 6 with great space, a wonderful small rteading/writing area facing he ocean and its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KZ7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel is not cheap but if you want to have a real spoil this is the place to go. The service is 5 star without being pompous. The staff from the reception through to the restaurant to the chap
who collects your car are excellent. The owner and management certainly know where 1st class service start. Staff can make or break a hotel and these people have got it right. The food
is lovely, cooked beautifully and ingredients fresh and well prepared. This will be a place
that I am sure we will go time and time again. The rooms are fabulous and clean. I cannot
praise this hotel enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had a wonder three nights at Tresanton at the end of April. The weather was mixed, but the hotel certainly was not. The staff were very friendly, the service excellent, the food in the restaurant was very good. We loved looking out towards St Anthony's Head come rain or shine. The rooms are well appointed and everything you expect from a luxury seaside hotel. This is a real gem and we will definitely be heading back in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonTraveller500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at the Tresanton for four nights and despite the inclement weather, had the best time at this stunning hotel. The staff are first class. They simply cannot do enough for you and make your stay all the more special just by being incredibly friendly, helpful and uber polite. The hotel itself is very pretty and well located with superb views across the water. Upon arrival, there is a valet car service and at any time you need your car, the porter will climb the 137 steps to fetch it so you don't have to do any of the leg work. If you want to hire a taxi to go out and about in the evening, the hotel has an excellent chap who provides a first rate service. Dinner is very popular at the hotel without outside diners booking weeks in advance and breakfast is excellent; with a great choice of fresh fruit salad with yoghurt, homemade granola (to die for), porridge, pancakes and a wide choice of cooked breakfasts. Superb service in both the restaurant and bar/lounge throughout the day - always comfortable, never stuffy and all in all the team has gone the extra mile to create an excellent ambience throughout the hotel. Absolutely loved it and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NomadGirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Olga does it again, the Tresanton has all the touches of a Polizzi makeover, a bit designery and not terribly old money but it works. Wonderful view, pretty hotel, even prettier Hungarian waitress, extremely good food and very attentive service. The set lunch is a bargain at £22 for two excellent courses and a glass of wine. Totally recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

A real gem in the quiet seaside village of St. Mawes. The atmosphere is very calming and relaxed and the service always seems to be spot on. Every meal we've had has been superb - as good if not better than many top London restaurants. Very family friendly.

Room Tip: Seafront always good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mawes
0.3 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#2 of 6 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
3.3 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The St Mawes Hotel
The St Mawes Hotel
#3 of 6 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
21.1 mi away
The Old Quay House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tresanton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tresanton

Property: Hotel Tresanton
Address: 27 Lower Castle Road, St Mawes TR2 5DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in St Mawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tresanton 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Tresanton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tresanton Hotel St Mawes
Hotel Tresanton St Mawes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing