We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic !!!”

Lamorran House Garden
Ranked #6 of 16 things to do in St Mawes
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Subtropical Italianate inspired garden on Cornwall's beautiful Roseland peninsula.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Fantastic !!!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We absolutely loved the gardens. Set in a beautiful part of Cornwall, these gardens really do have an 'Italian' feel about them. Loads of interesting features, linked by paths which meander leisurely through the grounds - and a Terazzo which served the most amazing cream tea. What more could you ask for?! If you are a lover of fine gardens, this really is a must.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    10
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful italian garden i Cornwall”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Big private garden you must see if you visit Cornwall. Only open wednesday and Friday for the public. But prioritise it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Henrik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous gardens best I have ever been to - cafe wonderful with delicious cakes and excellent service”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The gardens were elegant, peaceful and so well planted and designed - a real treat when we visited it was very hot but the gardens were shady and cool - the spectacular views which came into view of the Carrick Roads were breathtaking - well worth the long walk from the Harbour to find this garden

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maxine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lamorran Gardens”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Just delightful to stumble across this place.

My parents (ardent gardeners) thought it rivalled the 'Lost Gardens of Heligan' as it had all the sub tropical plants and was set out in such a wonderful way. At every turn, we stumbled on differing aspects and delighted in the viewpoints and a little sit down here and there.

The garden heads sometimes steeply with gravel and paths winding here and there. They managed this well with there walking sticks but needed the cream tea at the end. A likely excuse...not to be missed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“LAMORRAN HOUSE GARDEN”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The Lodge. We stayed at The Lodge twice this year. First in April and we liked it so much we returned in September. Being keen gardeners we chose The Lodge so that we could have the beautiful garden on the doorstep. The place was immaculate. We had plenty of linen for our needs and all of good quality. The bungalow is particularly spacious for two people with both a bathroom and a shower-room. We also have a small dog and the secure small garden was an added bonus. The owners were very welcoming and we took advantage of the complimentary cream –teas when visiting the garden. We had a lovely time and St Mawes is such a beautiful place.
Sue M.
Kent

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SUE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lamorran House Garden also viewed

St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
Portloe, Roseland Peninsula
 

Been to Lamorran House Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing