We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply wonderful apartment in perfect location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Crow's Nest

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula, Truro District, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Cambridge...
Cambridge, England
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful apartment in perfect location”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Close friends who visit often had been recommending for years that we stay in St Mawes. We wish we'd taken their advice years ago -- we just loved the place from day one.

We found Crow's Nest via Trip Advisor and booked for a week at very short notice (with one eye on the long-range weather forecast): all the arrangements were made very very smoothly. The apartment, as others have said, is perfectly located a couple of minutes from the harbour, but up a steep slope so you have stunning views over the rooftops right across the Fal estuary. It is furnished and equipped to a very high standard -- and with quiet good taste too (there is even a good supply of books for all kinds of readers). We were absolutely delighted to have found Crow's Nest, and have already booked to return next year.

In a word: wonderful.

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the civilised comfort
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Date of stay: February 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the sea views
Liked least: Having to leave..
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
290stephe...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Amazing Crows Nest”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Stopped at Crows Nest from 5th to 8th October with my girlfriend, brother and sister in law.
St Mawes is a very special place for me and my family and I thought it would be a great place to spend my 60th birthday. On arrival there were flowers and a bottle of wine waiting and also a birthday card which was a really nice touch. The apartment was completely assessable for my girlfriend who has MS the lift access in incredible even though there are some steps up to the front door which we knew about and were manageable for her with assistance. We all wanted for nothing in the apartment as it is fully equipped it even has a dish washer. Close to local amenities (The Victory). The views are really special looking out over the harbour. The perfect place to watch the world go by. Needless to say we enjoyed our stay so much that as soon as we got home we booked again for a week in late April next year.

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lift access, views and superb unseasonal weather
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annette W
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

If it were possible to give this place six stars, I would. Everything about the apartment, the views, the atmosphere, the cleanliness and ohhhhh the bed is fantastic. It is in an ideal spot, just two minutes from the harbour and the shops and restaurants. It is on the top (third) floor, but there is a lift!!

The apartment has two bedrooms, both lovely. The master bedroom has French doors, and you can watch the sea from the bed! There are two bathrooms, both with a bath and shower, and the apartment is set up so that you can close off the master bedroom and en suite.

St Mawes is such a gem, an idyllic proper seaside place with quirky shops and pubs. Do not come if you want amusement arcades, loud music, or burger bars.

The owner of the "Crow's Nest", Denise, is so helpful and is really keen on making your stay comfortable and welcoming. We will be back.

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, especially at dawn
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fantastic views
Liked least: There isn't anything that I could fault
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Broadway
Reviewed 14 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Date of stay: August 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brighton
Reviewed 20 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The exceptional service from Denise, and Cleanliness of Property
Liked least: Absolutely nothing.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.