We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Christmas break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Crow's Nest

Spectacular view of the Lizard Peninsula from the French windows in the lounge.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spectacular view of the Lizard Peninsula from the French windows in the lounge.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Spectacular view of the Lizard Peninsula from the French windows in the lounge.
A bright and inviting lounge with solid oak furniture with stylish and comfortable seating for five.
Both windows overlook the harbour and Summers Beach.
Sit and have a cup of tea whilst looking across the bay to St Antony's Headland - National Trust.
Fantastic dual aspect sea views both South and West,
Ship ahoy! A boat on the horizon destined for Falmouth.
Sunlight streaming through   from the south facing lounge window.
The flat is flooded with light.
A modern spacious well equipped kitchen with an extendable ash table and chairs. Sea views.
Twin bedroom with a walk in storage cupboard and bathroom opposite.
Main bedroom at night.
The main bedroom with French windows with sea views.
The en suite bathroom next to the main bedroom, both with sea views.
The second bathroom opposite the second bedroom.
Crows Nest is on the top floor, with panoramic sea and landscape views
View of Crows Nest from the sea. (Apartment is in centre of picture between trees, top floor).
The scenic quay where fresh fish and great Cornish pasties are sold.
Looking towards St. Mawes from across the bay.
View from St. Mawes Castle (5 minutes walk) across to St Anthony's Head and the lighthouse..
The Victory Inn, a stone's throw from the apartment.
Tavern Beach at high tide - 3 minutes from Crow's Nest.
The superb panorama from the kitchen window of the boats and unspoilt National Trust Land opposite.
Visit St Mawes castle, built for Henry VIII. Great fun for children and grown ups.
One of the unspoilt, magical woodland walks along the Percuil River near Place Manor
Walk around the headland to St Anthony's Lighthouse
View of St Mawes village from the Falmouth foot ferry
Classic boats racing off St Mawes, as viewed from our lounge
Walking the South West Coast path to Porthbeor Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula, Truro District, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Richard C
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Christmas break”
Reviewed 1 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Would heartily recommend this apartment in St Mawes. Lovely coastal village with an island feeling. The apartment is 200 yards from the harbour so you can easily catch the ferries, instead of driving everywhere. The apartment is a real home from home: beautifully appointed, stocked with every appliance you might need and with thoughtful touches like a pint of milk in the fridge for you on arrival. Denise and Alastair are great hosts and make you feel very welcome. The views are wonderful and the apartment is warm and cosy. Will hope to come back at some point.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean C
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 12 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I have just returned home from a magical week away at Crow's nest! I took my girlfriend here as a surprise and proposed on the second day of our stay by the castle! We then spent the rest of the week celebrating in and around St Mawes. It was always great coming back to the apartment and enjoying the beautiful views.

The apartment itself has everything you could possibly need and from the moment we arrived we both felt so relaxed! Neither of us wanted to leave at the end of the week! St Mawes and Crow's Nest will always be a very special place for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: I had to leave!
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern1959
Magor, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Apartment”
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a great three night break at the Crows Nest. The apartment is located in the heart of St Mawes with all amenities on the doorstep. Even though it is in the heart of the town it is very peaceful. The views are superb, you can even watch for the Falmouth ferry to come into sight and then take a leisurely stroll to the quay in time to board it.

The apartment is furnished to the highest standard and has everything that you need. Our only regret was that we did't have longer to enjoy it but I will definitely book this again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and quality of the apartment
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MariaTamw...
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

If you want a holiday where you feel relaxed as soon as you arrive, this will not disappoint. Stayed with my husband and 12 year old son. Fabulous views, very comfortable, spacious, everything you would need in the kitchen including cook books. The owners provide comprehensive information about the apartment and locality; they are also only a telephone call away should you need anything. I would highly recommend this apartment (as long as it doesn't become so popular that I couldn't get to stay here again!). St Mawes is delightful. Plenty of boat trips and general messing about on/in the sea to be had. We didn't find parking an issue; purchase a week's pass for the nearby village carpark. Can't wait to come back to the Roseland as soon as we can.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jes710
1 review
“Stunning apartment, stunning views”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Worthy of so much more than 5 stars......cleaned to the highest standard and fully equipped with everything you could need and more! The views over the harbour are breathtaking, we loved just sitting on the sofa with a glass of wine watching the boats coming in and out.....you can even see the sea from the bed! Denise was brilliant and helpful from my initial enquiry to the final booking, even taking the time to ring us on our first evening to check everything was ok! Will definitely book to stay here again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing