We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Setting the standard in St Mawes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Idle Rocks

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Idle Rocks
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in St Mawes
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Setting the standard in St Mawes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

The Idle Rocks had me won over from the moment I stepped into reception. Beautifully set out with its nautical theme, the recent nine-month transformation (this was less of a refurbishment - more of a rebuild!) has clearly been a labour of love.

I had the chance to view most of the 20 rooms currently available (there are four more nearing completion in the adjacent cottage) and the attention to detail is phenomenal. The new owners have put their extensive experience of staying in hotels globally to good use...

There is little more guaranteed to send you off too a gentle sleep - or to ease you back into the new day - than the sound of waves gently lapping against the shore and as most rooms overlook the water this is truly a place where you can escape from stress.

Children are welcome - there's a lovely playroom for the little terrors! - and one of the cottages is set up as dog-friendly too.

Sadly my stay was only for one night and next time I'll have to be sure to book in for the hotel's Sunday brunch which promises to be more of an informal house-guest party.

I understand that the old Idle Rocks had come to the end of a long and tiring life. The new version looks ready to set fresh standards for St Mawes for a very long time to come.

Room Tip: Most rooms face the water but those that don't have been given extra space to compensate. You wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rallyman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    57
    17
    12
    7
See reviews for
58
238
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Hotel has been refurbished beautifully, which compliments its outstanding position on the waters edge. Enjoyed a wonderful couple of nights here at beginning of September. Food/wine very good too. Loved it and hope to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zeebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Last day of our holiday with family in Falmouth and we decided to treat ourselves to Sunday lunch at the Idle Rocks. From the moment we arrived I loved the ambience of the place and the decor is so tasteful and well thought out - I loved it. Lunch on the terrace was relaxed with service professional yet friendly. Ok the food is not cheap but my husband declared his roast beef among the best he had ever tasted and my glazed lobster omelette was original and delicious. Interesting wine list and good selection by the glass. We finished with excellent coffee and a choccie treat. Can't wait to return.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank ichoosethewine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

After phoning to make a reservation and having my details taken,it was slightly disconcerting to arrive hours later and find no record of my booking existed....Still this was not a problem as the restaurant was only a third full , we were seated in the main room which makes the most of its beautiful view across St Mawes harbour.Unfortunately to compensate for the lack of atmosphere the music was set to a level more befitting a bar than a restaurant, Balearic chill out would not be my choice.Food was well presented but my local crab starter was completely overpowered by the accompanying tomatoes and tomato jus,main was better with belly pork and a good bordelaise sauce.
Staff were young and enthusiastic ,unfortunately their inexperience shows and I feel they would benefit from having an older head directing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PMiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Just went here for dinner but had a look at one of the bedrooms. Decor everywhere is excellent and little touches such as sea urchin shells on top of the up lighters beside the bath and bedroom curtains on rails against the wall, which swing in to cover the window at night are excellent. Staff in the restaurant were very smart and attentive but they really must get the kitchen sorted. Two and a half hours for a 3 course meal is excessive and it is not helped by the order being taken at the table, which always makes it seem longer. (rather than been taken in the bar). I know the food is cooked freshly to order and it was excellent and could not be faulted. We were given complimentary pudding wine, presumably because of the wait. Our table was booked for 8.30p.m. as the hotel knew the restaurant would be busy and so we may have been last in the queue with the kitchen.
If the weather is good they have a lovely patio, beside the sea, for eating which must be particularly nice for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank inntheknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

The recent renovation of this iconic St.Mawes landmark has been extremely well executed.
Both bedrooms and public rooms are absolutely first class.
We stayed in room 18, a harbour side room with the intrepid Otis, our flame red standard poodle and both we and he found the decor and facilities to be of the highest standard. Furthermore, the view is to die for. We quite literally had people swimming past our front window and there is no substitute to waking to the sound of lapping waves.
As previously mentioned, the public rooms are also great. The main building has a very open and airy feel that has been designed to capitalise on its harbour position and comprises a cosy lounge and a long bar and dining room all offering stunning views.
Given all of this then what could possibly be the problem?
Well, it all comes down to the all important service and ambiance.
The service team appear to be young and enthusiastic but boy, are they the gang that can't shoot straight. Furthermore, they are in permanent apology mode!
Specifically, nobody seemed to know how to work the Internet. Brown toast turned either into no toast or white! Earl Grey tea would be replenished with regular. Sit in the cosy lounge and you will die of thirst before you get a drink and then hell will freeze over before you are offered a second. The log fire will be lit but nobody will tend to it.
Order a morning paper and it won't arrive and when you demand it, you will be told that they are yet to arrive in St.Mawes but if you look carefully out of the window, you will see a member of staff sprint along the harbour side to get it from the local newsagent.
We had dinner on the first night and the food wasn't bad but we were served by three different people and the server who brought our cheese made the most amateur job of it. What's more, the atmosphere was cold and whoever decides their music needs shooting or atleast be provided with a decent playlist - at St.Mawes think Neil Young and Bryan Ferry not techno bland!
Last but by no means least, the lack of service vocabulary is just plain irritating. I don't expect to be greeted in the morning with "Hiya" just "Good Morning Sir" will do nicely or, even better by name (but they are some way off that standard). When I thank somebody for service I don't expect them to say "No Problems", I expect them to say "Pleasure Sir" . When a server puts food on the table, I don't expect them to say "There You Go" - go were for heavens sake!
Seriously, somebody has ploughed a fortune into this place but they will only deserve success if they train their staff.
We'd like to see it succeed and we will return because of the great location but we won't be buying a meal or a drink their until this gang starts to shoot straight. 3 star review that should have been 5!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
16 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

6 of us visited yesterday for lunch.Second time for 2 of us.
Great location, superb interior design, great staff especially Harriet but the food was vastly overpriced and fish of the day was same as last time we visted!
Wont take much effort to get this right!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Gill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mawes
3.1 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.1 mi away
The St Mawes Hotel
The St Mawes Hotel
#3 of 6 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
18.4 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
18.0 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Idle Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Idle Rocks

Property: The Idle Rocks
Address: Harbourside, St Mawes TR2 5AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in St Mawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Idle Rocks has the most enviable location in St Mawes, overlooking the harbour with views across the River Fal to Falmouth. Our 19 bedrooms, most with stunning vistas over the bay, have been thoughtfully designed, each having their own unique identity with fabulous fabrics and decor that leave you in no doubt that you are by the sea. After a long day lazing on the beach, our south facing terrace is the perfect place to relax, have a long drink, and watch the world go by. You may even see your dinner being landed on the harbourside.The Idle Rock's restaurant, run by our head chef, Guy Owen, is a celebration of Cornwall; showcasing a range of fabulous produce that has been sourced locally using only seasonal fresh ingredients. In many cases it will have been swimming right on our doorstep only a few hours earlier and while the food is of the very highest standard our setting is very relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Idle Rocks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Idle Rocks Hotel
Idle Rocks St Mawes
The Idle Rocks St Mawes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing