We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Idle Rocks Experience”
Review of The Idle Rocks

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Idle Rocks
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in St Mawes
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Idle Rocks Experience”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We have been visiting the Idle Rocks for many years and have always loved going to St Mawes. The location, the surrounding areas and the king harry ferry contribute to a very special getaway. Since the Idle Rocks has been refurbished it has become even more special. The staff are very very attentive, they remember the little details which make all of the difference. The actual makeover of the hotel is wonderful but with this added to the staff make it perfect.

We will be going again and again and will continue to recommend to our friends and family.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BertieFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    59
    18
    12
    7
See reviews for
65
262
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perthshire, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed 3 nights at The Idle Rocks and enjoyed every moment. We were made to feel so welcome by all the friendly and attentive staff. Our room, overlooking the harbour, was beautifully presented and well appointed with fabulous views over the harbour. As the weather was good we were able to take the opportunity of coffee on the terrace in the afternoon followed by an excellent dinner in the restaurant in the evenings.
Throughout the hotel it's clear lots of thought and care has gone into making guests feel comfortable and at home in a relaxed and beautiful environment
The Idle Rocks has the best location in St Mawes and everything to make you feel special. We shall definitely return

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Had a great Sunday lunch - perfect roast beef, excellent service (especially as there were 19 of us), great decor, stunning view. A great place for a get together. Does the sun always shine there? That was the feeling we got...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LuluS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We arrived at the hotel on Friday afternoon and was given a parking permit to put on the car as there is not a car park located at the hotel but the public car park is literally 2 mins walk from the hotel.
We were greeted by Sid the concierge who offered to but our bags and coats into the boot room while we had a quick drink on the terrace, so glad we did as the sun was shining and it over looks the harbour. Perfect for relaxing over a nice glass of wine.
We were shown to our room (the hideaway) by sid, it was perfect, the deco is lovely, so much attention to detail, seashells as lighting, bedinen in crips blue and whites. Lovely big bathroom with roll top bath and walk in shower.
We had dinner in the restaurant on the Friday evening, service and food was great. We sat out on the terrace after dinner and were given blanket to keep us warm late into the night.
For breakfast there was so much to choose from, spoilt for choice, cereals, toast, pastries, cooked breakfast and more. Again the service was excellent.
Across from the hotel in the harbour is a ferry over to Falmouth, approximately 15-20mins. The oyster festival was on while we were there so had a lovely day, trying out local caught fish and oysters.
We had our evening meal in the Watch Tower restaurant, which is literally 5mins walk from the hotel. Very nice food and service.
Again ended our evening on the hotel terrace, comforted by blankets and patio heaters.
Another perfect night in our comfy bed, followed by an energising shower and belly busting breakfast.
Sid gave us a tip on a little beach hut to visit for a coffee on the way home.
All in all, lovely weekend spent at a great hotel, great staff and location couldn't be better.

Room Tip: we had the hideaway which was at the front of the hotel so didn't have a view of the harbour but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitchellharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Three visits so far but only for lunch and dinner, all 3 meals near faultless. Wonderful waterside views and setting - the Terrace keeps you away from the hustle bustle of St Mawes in High Summer, but if you want the town, it's just a few moments walk away. Can't comment on the overnight experience but one relative booked in for their wedding anniversary and spoke very highly of the service they received and the comfort of the rooms. For an opinion on the wine list, see my Master of Wine qualified sister-in-law "Ichoosethewine" 5 star review elsewhere on TA. Almost impossible to believe that the interior decor was put together by the owner's wife, better results than so many high end interior design firms achieve.

Noted that others have marked down their trip adviser score on patchy service but this can happen anywhere, our last 2 meals at the otherwise excellent Tresanton were marked by a wrong order for one of our party 1st time around and then one course completely forgotten at the next visit! Meaning the "victim" had to wait and watch the rest of us eat while their meal as then cooked and we all had to wait for her to catch up. St Mawes spoilt for eating and accommodation, don't ignore the Rising Sun either, that's a great place for a cheaper meal.

Idle Rocks: Please sort out a visitor mooring for your guests who arrive by boat from Falmouth! (Ferry stops running too early) Anchoring off in the dark is such a pain.

Room Tip: The end bedroom opp Place has fine views and little noise. As for an FM radio! (The DAB is very patc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My elderly mother and myself stayed for a few days recently at the new recently refurbished Idle Rocks. Upon entering on the first day to our departure we were treated exceptionally. All of the staff were very attentive, polite, courteous and nothing was too much trouble. We are regular visitors to St Mawes and often call in for drinks and we have to say that the refurbishment is absolutely first class. The decor and ambience is very relaxing and the background music is soothing. We had a juliette balcony room which was just stunning, aside from the fabulous views which you have from almost everywhere you are seated in the hotel, the style and decor is just beautiful. It was a very spacious room with a gorgeous bathroom and every facility you would expect in a hotel of this standard.
We would definitely recommend the Idle Rocks and look forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

It was the perfect sunny Autumn day for taking tea on the terrace and watching the boats and the world go by. The cream tea was lovely, the service pleasant and the atmosphere just wonderful. We wandered around the lounge and restaurant areas before leaving and the decor is exceptional with a nautical, seadrift theme. If we visit the area again, would love to stay here and soak up the village, the waterfront and this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PollardHackett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mawes
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tresanton
Hotel Tresanton
#2 of 5 in St Mawes
626 reviews
0.1 mi away
The St Mawes Hotel
The St Mawes Hotel
#3 of 5 in St Mawes
186 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
484 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ship and Castle Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Idle Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Idle Rocks

Property: The Idle Rocks
Address: Harbourside, St Mawes TR2 5AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in St Mawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Idle Rocks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Idle Rocks has the most enviable location in St Mawes, overlooking the harbour with views across the River Fal to Falmouth. Our 19 bedrooms, most with stunning vistas over the bay, have been thoughtfully designed, each having their own unique identity with fabulous fabrics and decor that leave you in no doubt that you are by the sea. After a long day lazing on the beach, our south facing terrace is the perfect place to relax, have a long drink, and watch the world go by. You may even see your dinner being landed on the harbourside.The Idle Rock's restaurant, run by our head chef, Guy Owen, is a celebration of Cornwall; showcasing a range of fabulous produce that has been sourced locally using only seasonal fresh ingredients. In many cases it will have been swimming right on our doorstep only a few hours earlier and while the food is of the very highest standard our setting is very relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Idle Rocks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Idle Rocks Hotel
Idle Rocks St Mawes
The Idle Rocks St Mawes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing