We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Idle Rocks

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Idle Rocks
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in St Mawes
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place to eat”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The food was incredible, fine dining standard at a very reasonable price. All staff were very friendly and there was a beautiful view of the harbour. It is a must if you are visiting cornwall, especially if you like sea food.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S7723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    57
    17
    12
    7
See reviews for
59
243
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

From the moment we stepped through the doors and were met by a warm friendly greeting we had fallen in love with the place. You cannot help but acknowledge that great love and attention to detail has gone into the transformation of this perfectly located hotel. The nautical theme is evident throughout from the beautiful fabrics to the vintage swimsuits framed on the walls but all done in an understated manner that doesn't leave you feeling you should have packed some boating shoes. In fact the relaxed family atmosphere the staff helped to create meant it felt like home from home and popping down to reception in bare foot wouldn't even warrant a second glance especially with the lovely under floor heating. Within an hour of us arriving we were on first name terms with all the staff and nothing felt like too much trouble for them, when I asked the head barman Enzo which of the cocktails were virgins he simply said "whichever you want." The food was also superb, clearly made all the more evident by the fact on both occasions we dined the restaurant was full so make sure when you book a table in advance so as not to miss out. We had our 17 month old daughter with us and there is always a worry that children won't be catered for in small boutique hotels but that was certainly not the case here. The children's playroom was out of this world, with a large variety of toys catering for all ages, a large flatscreen TV and a saloon style toilet fully equipped with changing table, nappies, creams etc. after an hour of playing she still didn't want to leave. There is also state of the art baby monitoring available whereby a small camera is set up in your room so once we popped her to bed we were able to watch her on an iPad whilst enjoying a relaxed dinner and drinks downstairs in front of an open log fire. We are already looking forward to going back and cannot recommend the place high enough whether a romantic getaway or family holiday, Idle Rocks is the perfect place.

Room Tip: We were staying in room 15 which was ideal with our baby daughter, they set up a cot for her in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We were a very late booking into The Idle Rocks and as a consequence could not get three consecutive nights in the same room, but hey that wasn't a problem, we were grateful to get in at all, as so many places were fully booked for Easter. The reception was excellent with no lengthy forms to fill in, just a squiggle on an iPad. The car was valet parked and bags taken to the room whilst we had drinks on the terrace. The setting really is delightful and the decor is both fresh and invitingly luxurious.
During the next three days, we dined once, drank lots of exceptional cocktails (well done Enzo) and drank copious amounts of tea whilst sat in the homely lounge in front of a warming fire. The staff were excellent. They were friendly, without being familiar, helpful, but not overbearing and generally very willing to please.
I noted the comment from a previous review regarding the Maître'd and saw the odd sign of brusqueness with both staff and clients, but he was very good with us, even to the extent of going out of his way having recommended lunch at The Porthminster Beach Cafe, to book the table for us. I think it's early days for a lot of the staff, management included, and that's why I feel confident they will find their feet over the coming weeks before the season really hits them.
The Seaview room was excellent with full facilities, but a little disappointed that the Village room we transferred to after the first night, had no tea/coffee making facilities or minibar. I appreciate they were smaller and cheaper rooms, but a disappointment none the less.
We will definitely go back as The Idle Rocks is very inviting.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank goodtrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We were really looking forward to our visit to idles rocks on its first night open after the devastating storm surge in early feb.the decor and ambience created is superb in fact I have rarely seen a more beautifully decorated hotel.understated luxurious but oh so elegant.its a shame but the service was not up to standard no one took our coats on arrival,we were left to hover deciding where to sit in the sitting room, we had to collect our own menus as none were forth coming .one of our party eventually had to go to the bar from the sitting room to organise pre dinner drinks .our prosecco was sloppily poured and spilled by a waiter who knelt on the floor in order to do it.
The young pleasant but clearly inexperienced waitress had not been adequately briefed on the menu and needed to go back to the kitchen to find out what things meant
Our round elevated table with views of the harbour and comfortable banquettes was really fabulous.we were a party of six a nice touch was the complimentary fish gougons .we were glad we had them as they were bigger than any of our starters selected .the fennel bread was excellent.
The main courses were tasty enough.three of our party had the fish pie which was priced at 26 pounds it was outrageously small nouvelle style cuisine is one thing but we felt taken advantage of.
We were asked by the wine waiter for feed back which we offered as above.the maître D then came over and invited us to take a complimentary bottle of prosecco....the following evening an offer he must have realised we were unlikely to take up.a meager gesture.would we go back? yes we would as we appreciate first nights can be difficult all the more reason that the staff and service need to be of the same standard as the furnishings!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed for a weekend in mid-January. The hotel is stunningly stylish with beautiful fabrics, furniture and carpets. The rooms are excellent, beds very comfortable, the food really excellent, the staff very attentive - and we felt we really did get value for money.

Room Tip: Most rooms have views of the harbour and/or sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My girlfriend & I stayed at the 'Idle Rocks' for Christmas & We had a great time being pampered by Josey & her team with their impeccable service, fantastic food ( cooked by the very talented head chef Peter Conlin) & superb attention to detail & as it was my birthday on Christmas Day they gave us some extra little 'touches' to make it a perfect Christmas..& all in the fabulous setting of St Mawes harbour.. Highly recommended...!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jonboy615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014

After being greeted by such friendly staff, what was meant to be a quick coffee in the cosy lounge of The Idle Rocks turned into a tasty 2 course lunch and a glass of delicious wine - it was irresistible after a quick glance at their appetising lunch menu. I would certainly recommend their take on the classic club sandwich and lemon meringue sundae! Very impressed with the service and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mawes
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tresanton
Hotel Tresanton
#2 of 6 in St Mawes
592 reviews
3.1 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
The St Mawes Hotel
The St Mawes Hotel
#3 of 6 in St Mawes
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
148 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
838 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Idle Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Idle Rocks

Property: The Idle Rocks
Address: Harbourside, St Mawes TR2 5AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in St Mawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Idle Rocks has the most enviable location in St Mawes, overlooking the harbour with views across the River Fal to Falmouth. Our 19 bedrooms, most with stunning vistas over the bay, have been thoughtfully designed, each having their own unique identity with fabulous fabrics and decor that leave you in no doubt that you are by the sea. After a long day lazing on the beach, our south facing terrace is the perfect place to relax, have a long drink, and watch the world go by. You may even see your dinner being landed on the harbourside.The Idle Rock's restaurant, run by our head chef, Guy Owen, is a celebration of Cornwall; showcasing a range of fabulous produce that has been sourced locally using only seasonal fresh ingredients. In many cases it will have been swimming right on our doorstep only a few hours earlier and while the food is of the very highest standard our setting is very relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Idle Rocks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Idle Rocks Hotel
Idle Rocks St Mawes
The Idle Rocks St Mawes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing