We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shame about the service”
Review of The Idle Rocks

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Idle Rocks
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in St Mawes
Certificate of Excellence
polzea
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Shame about the service”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Great venue, amazing view, fantastic decor and lovely drinks. Shame about the very rude and unfriendly staff. We only had an evening drink but the head waiter and barman could not have been less helpful and disinterested. Tresanton much more welcoming so may choose to stay there next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank lockibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    57
    17
    12
    7
See reviews for
61
245
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We have just spent an amazing two night fun break with 6 of our friends down at the Idle Rocks. The location of the hotel is just amazing - right on the harbour. The hotel has just been fully refurbished - again - following horrendous flooding in the spring and it is totally amazing. The bedrooms and public rooms have all been finished to the very highest standard and with delightful personal touches and fresh flowers in abundance everywhere. We dined in the hotel on both nights and every course was totally delicious. Wonderful relaxed ambience with delightful staff. We will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: A sea view room is desirable as the views of the harbour are wonderful and it is SO quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickipatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Have just returned from a lovely three night stay at the Idle Rocks hotel over the spring bank holiday weekend.

We travelled down by train from London and boarded the ferry at Falmouth to make the short hop over to St Mawes. What away to arrive - a total experience and no need for a car during our three day stay.

The hotel is simply stunning and has been tastefully decorated - very coastal chic, but not over done.

We received an unexpected upgrade to a fantastic harbour view room (room 14) with amazing views. The room wasn't huge, but did include a separate bathroom with large walk in rain shower with views out to sea. Again the styling was subtle coastal chic with luxury bed linen and colour themed Roberts Radios - very retro but totally in keeping with the style of the hotel.

Downstairs in the lounge we enjoyed the roaring open fire whilst sampling the hotels delightful guest larger, a Cornish pilsner brewed by the nearby Rock Brewery. All of the front of house staff were very professional and personable and nothing was too much trouble.

We enjoyed the hotels popular 'Idle Sunday' brunch and would particularly recommend the chicken crown which was all the more enjoyable taking our seats right by the waters edge.

A thoroughly enjoyable stay and I can't wait to return again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dizzyheights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My partner and I have just spent 3 days in this gorgeous hotel. We were celebrating our best friends civil partnership. The location is first class. The food exquisite and the service faultless.
They even moved the clouds for us and brought the sun out for our entire stay!!
We will be returning as soon as we can.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginnyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed her for a night as en extension to a break in Cornwall and wish we could have stayed longer!
Lovely hotel with a really friendly, modern theme in a great location right on the water’s edge. The rooms are very well done with big comfortable beds and really well equipped bathrooms. Ours (Room1) had a bath overlooking the sea, with a massive shower and enough room for another two baths!
The restaurant is first class with a terrace overlooking the sea. Food is fantastic – especially breakfast which is all cooked to order along with all kinds of meats, cheese, fruit etc and a nice selection of artisan bread.
Good wine list and the staff are really helpful and friendly.
Couple of practical points – the car park is at the rear of the public car park, it’s free but drop your luggage off first. There’s no real outside space here, and no real beach in St Mawes. It’s a lovely village but you need a car to move around the area to make the most of your stay. There are plenty of small ferries to go to Falmouth etc, or just a trip around the coast.
Al in all, very relaxing and we’ll definitely come again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed for just a 24hr visit, Sid the concierge was really helpful with suggestions on how to spend our time. Really fab room with amazing views over the harbour. Wonderful dinner and the team in the bar and restaurant really attentive. Breakfast on the terrace and then we were off: a neat hotel beautifully redesigned. Super spot

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Poppettt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornhill-on-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We booked a table for dinner Wednesday 21 May for 4 people, on arrival we were greeted by a very professional and personable young gentleman on reception, who showed us to the terrace where we ordered pre dinner drinks. This is an outstanding setting with views over St Mawes and the bay and a great way to start an evening. We were then shown to our table in the restaurant which in our opinion could not have been bettered giving us a ringside view across St Mawes harbour. It was a superb backdrop for what was an exemplary dining experience. The food was not only imaginative but presented with the closest attention to detail as possible, in short it was a delight from start to finish. We were impressed with our waiter who served us drinks and looked after us all the way through the meal, attentive but not overly so, in fact all the staff we encountered were exceptional. We will not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mawes
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tresanton
Hotel Tresanton
#1 of 5 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
3.1 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.1 mi away
The St Mawes Hotel
The St Mawes Hotel
#3 of 5 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Idle Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Idle Rocks

Property: The Idle Rocks
Address: Harbourside, St Mawes TR2 5AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in St Mawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Idle Rocks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Idle Rocks has the most enviable location in St Mawes, overlooking the harbour with views across the River Fal to Falmouth. Our 19 bedrooms, most with stunning vistas over the bay, have been thoughtfully designed, each having their own unique identity with fabulous fabrics and decor that leave you in no doubt that you are by the sea. After a long day lazing on the beach, our south facing terrace is the perfect place to relax, have a long drink, and watch the world go by. You may even see your dinner being landed on the harbourside.The Idle Rock's restaurant, run by our head chef, Guy Owen, is a celebration of Cornwall; showcasing a range of fabulous produce that has been sourced locally using only seasonal fresh ingredients. In many cases it will have been swimming right on our doorstep only a few hours earlier and while the food is of the very highest standard our setting is very relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your The Idle Rocks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Idle Rocks Hotel
Idle Rocks St Mawes
The Idle Rocks St Mawes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing