We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Ideal Idle”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Idle Rocks

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Idle Rocks
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in St Mawes
Certificate of Excellence
Penarth - Vale of Glamorgan - Wales
Level Contributor
130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“The Ideal Idle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Idle Rocks Hotel is where we spent the first night of our honeymoon (before going on to Cadgwith on the Lizard Peninsula) - and we could not have chosen a better hotel. It is not cheap - but affordable if you know what you want and appreciate good food. The food is excellent - and easily comparable with the best restaurants we have frequented anywhere in the world.The accommodation cannot be faulted - and the situation is utterly marvellous. A good idea, if you in Falmouth, is to take a ferry ride across to St Mawes and avail yourself of one of the finest crab sandwiches it will ever be your pleasure to eat. It is not always possible to get a seat if you are not a guest - but we have always struck lucky. We could not recommend The Idle Rocks highly enough - and shall be returning this year.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank il_padrino_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    57
    17
    12
    7
See reviews for
59
244
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
552 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

This is the perfect boutique hotel, from the location by the sea to the very attentive decoration of the rooms. It has just been renovated and it shows all signs of an exceptional care in choosing materials and designs. Bedrooms have a nice size, beds very comfortable, huge showers, we had a sea facing room which is a must as the view is breathtaking. I can't wait to go back for another weekend

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank whiterabbitjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have always looked longingly at the Idle Rocks & this year decided to give it ago. Fabulous, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The new rooms are lovely, very clean, tidy, comfortable...though we did notice a lack of a shaver point in the bathrooms.
Breakfast choice is fabulous, a great range of fruits, cereal, yoghurts, cold & hot "main course". Could perhaps be a little more consistent as pancakes were slightly different on 2 occasions, neither bad, but one day was better than the other. Dinner is very good, but a little pricey.
But in the end, the location is well worth the high end price. We are not "sitters", but we did spend many an hour with a drink watching life in the harbour. What a fabulous way to spend an afternoon.
Staff were good, very helpful, professional & friendly. We asked to move rooms, to a full sea view, & that was handled easily, no hassle.
A fabulous stay in a tremendous location.

Room Tip: We didn't like the location of room 9 which only has a partial sea view & with the windows o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oneval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We made a special trip to the Idle Rocks with the intention of enjoying a celebratory bottle of champagne on the terrace, it was late afternoon, high tide and sunny - perfect setting. To our surprise we were not allowed in as the terrace was apparently full.
I called the following day to be told that sometimes they have to not let people in as they are short staffed and the staff need to have a break before the evening begins. Also they have trouble with customers ordering a pot of tea and then sitting for hours taking up space. I was told it would be a good idea in future to phone in advance to make sure we could get in. We have enjoyed many visits there and were really disappointed, I'm sure it's a short term problem, let's hope it can be put right sooner rather than later.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank nikki b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed for one evening with our little 4 month old puppy - the hotel couldn't do enough to make us feel so welcome - excellent service - a special mention to Nick who was charming.

We had dinner in the restaurant for a friends 50th. Their was 18 of us and the service was good, my only point was there wasn't (that I could tell) any one managing them so not really a go-to-guy to ask for certain things....such as vegetables with the main course - these are all teething problems which I know will be ironed out. As for the food - SUPERB!!

The breakfast was superb and so much to choose from.

Well done - and we will be back!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is the fourth time I have tried the revamped idle rocks, because the setting is so lovely, but I really won't bother again. The service is usually slow, there is definitely a snooty vibe (which you certainly don't get at the Tresanton, or the lovely Nare hotel), and the prices are very high. I have twice had cream tea here, the scones are cold and stodgy, the jam cheap tasting, certainly not one of cornwall's quality local brands, the cream comes as a silly masterchef style "smear", and the price must be the highest in Cornwall.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stopped in on Saturday afternoon; four adults, one 4 year old and a 7month old in a big buggy, It was my birthday - I fancied a drink somewhere nice and the views from the deck looked very promising!
Reception welcomed us, went out of their way to get us a seat in the sun and made it clear that we were welcome - offering up the (amazing) kid's play room to our eldest and the excellent changing facilities for our youngest.
The place itself is out of this world, decor is bang on, great music being played, views unparalleled, seats comfy. We had a good bottle of wine and were comfortable, unhassled and felt pretty special!
I'd have given 5 stars if we'd got our wine a sooner (the bar serves great looking cocktails, making which takes the bar staff out of the picture quite often it would appear) - but that's really splitting hairs; the place is great - and we can't wait to get a chance to go and stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mawes
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tresanton
Hotel Tresanton
#2 of 6 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
3.1 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.1 mi away
The St Mawes Hotel
The St Mawes Hotel
#3 of 6 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Idle Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Idle Rocks

Property: The Idle Rocks
Address: Harbourside, St Mawes TR2 5AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in St Mawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Idle Rocks has the most enviable location in St Mawes, overlooking the harbour with views across the River Fal to Falmouth. Our 19 bedrooms, most with stunning vistas over the bay, have been thoughtfully designed, each having their own unique identity with fabulous fabrics and decor that leave you in no doubt that you are by the sea. After a long day lazing on the beach, our south facing terrace is the perfect place to relax, have a long drink, and watch the world go by. You may even see your dinner being landed on the harbourside.The Idle Rock's restaurant, run by our head chef, Guy Owen, is a celebration of Cornwall; showcasing a range of fabulous produce that has been sourced locally using only seasonal fresh ingredients. In many cases it will have been swimming right on our doorstep only a few hours earlier and while the food is of the very highest standard our setting is very relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Idle Rocks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Idle Rocks Hotel
Idle Rocks St Mawes
The Idle Rocks St Mawes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing