We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value - a wonderful, homey, comfortable place”
Review of The Rising Sun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rising Sun
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in St Mawes
Ojai, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent value - a wonderful, homey, comfortable place”
Reviewed 9 June 2011

We stayed in the room called Heligan. Had to be the best room on the property. Two large windows opened out onto the square and overlooking the harbor. Beds were comfortable to us, relatively soft as mattresses go, with wonderful featherbeds to keep out the night's chill. Very clean, beautiful furniture. I'd go back in a heartbeat.
Staff seems spread a bit thin, like too little butter on too much toast.
There was often no one at reception when we had a question.
Their free wi-fi was very difficult to pin down, so don't trust the card in your room for the password -- go ask reception.
Overall, though, a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Ask for Heligan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLOjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    62
    24
    22
    18
See reviews for
59
95
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

The room we were in (Cotehele) has wonderful views out over the water, the only issue was the noise from downstairs in the morning, but nothing I didn't manage to sleep through on the second morning!
Lovely breakfast, car parking is a limited (as they are really clear about) but we managed to park with no issue.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FarmersDonandStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex,
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

My wife and I stayed 4 nights at The Rising Sun over and after the Whitsun bank holiday 2011. I had booked it then saw the older negative reviews; we went there with some trepidation. But…. everything was first class, Sunday there was an event that brought thousands of day trippers, the staff at The Sun coped perfectly, continuing to serve food all through the day I was told this was their busiest for a decade. New management served the perfect pint with a choice of three cask bitters, nothing was ever ‘off’ the menu and the specials board provided variety.
Clean, with excellent food and drinks, fruit on the hall landing for residents, choice at breakfast from Full English, Kippers, Smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. Defiantly a must do if you’re in the area. Just one warning, eating outside, watch out for food snatching seagulls!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WAbbey_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2010

Having eaten at The Rising Sun on many occasions whilst visiting St Mawes on day trips, we decided to take an impromptu late summer break. Our room for the stay was Glendugan. A home from home feel & with a super comfortable bed, however the delicious choice at breakfast ensured we were up & about before 10am. All the staff were friendly & more than helpful. The fish & chips were the best I have tasted & the home-made pate rivalled my Grans ultimate recipe! We will no doubt be visiting again in the spring to enjoy the warm welcome, hospitality & great food! Thank you to The Rising Sun staff - keep up the good work !

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weekenders31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2010

Came to St Mawes for a one night stay had already booked at the rising sun but having read reviews I wasn't sure if I had done the right thing! We had a fantastic stay I was surprised the price we paid was very cheap just over £40 each for a lovely sized room with windows overlooking the stunning bay. The food was great, clearly fresh and very reasonably priced. Did have a look at other places to stay just to compare and be a bit nosy as really love St Mawes and I have to say we certainly got the best deal. We found all staff very friendly and service was just as it should be.So if you read these Rising Sun please keep your competitive prices it certainly worked for us We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J-Trelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Having read various reviews we were not sure what we would find, but had booked the Rising Sun as it was dog friendly and we wished to re visit St Mawes. We were very happy with the outcome, very friendly staff, clean attractive bedroom, a very relaxed atmosphere in the evening when busy and still the dogs more than accepted and totally included. Food Good Basic Pub Menu , and our only prob lem with this was the large portions!! Too much for us, but certainly represents great value. We will return.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fleuriewine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

I am a regular here, as i live nearby and visit with friends and family. It was not busy the day we went but even so the food took a long time and the general standard was poor. the jacket potato looked like it had been cooked days before and the cheese on top should have been melted under grill but was cold instead and tasteless. The prawns were a bit icy like they had been just defrosted and the salad limp. I like the hotel and the carvery is excellent value and the fish and chips a winner. The staff when we were there were newish and pleasant, we had a good chat with a brother and sister who work there through the holiday and they were polite and informative to our friends who were new to the area, which was a nice change to have staff who are knowledgeable. So come on RS get you act together, as a teacher, you can do Better much better.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarciaTruro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mawes
0.1 mi away
The St Mawes Hotel
The St Mawes Hotel
#3 of 5 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#2 of 5 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tresanton
Hotel Tresanton
#1 of 5 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ship and Castle Hotel
6.8 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
3.1 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rosevine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rising Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rising Sun

Property: The Rising Sun
Address: The Square, St Mawes TR2 5DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in St Mawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rising Sun 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Rising Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rising Sun Hotel St Mawes
Rising Sun St Mawes
Rising Sun Hotel St Mawes
The Rising Sun St Mawes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing