We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Rising Sun
Nearby Hotels
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$170
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grove Hotel(Falmouth)
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$130
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Idle Rocks(St Mawes)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tresanton(St Mawes)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveller rating
90
72
28
22
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
90
72
28
22
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfish and chipspub foodlarge portionswashed downmy hubbylovely lunchlovely puban evening meallovely sunny dayate herelocal pubcoastal pathfresh fruitclub sandwichsea viewtea and coffeewell worth a visit
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 233 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We had a lovely break at the Rising Sun. Our room was spotless, with a sea view and very comfortable bed. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast - "full English" was the best we have ever had ( and my husband is a conisseur!) we also ate in the restaurant and found the food very good and good value. Our dogs ( Border terriers) were made welcome and sat under the table in the bar. Bathrooms are very clean but could do with a bit of updating. We particularly liked the small bottles of fresh milk in a fridge for guests to have in tea and coffee

Tips
Sea view rooms have a lovely view of the harbour
Try the fish and chips- all the locals do and it is excellent
Catch te ferry to Falmouth

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are worth a bit extra
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ktpcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RisingSun11, Manager at The Rising Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a great stay with us and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Had a 5 day break at the rising sun and really enjoyed it. Rooms were comfy and spacious, decorated with taste and with little extras that were so nice and thoughtful. All the staff were friendly and always willing to help. Food was well above the average pub grub and the breakfast menu was varied and excellent. Having travelled down from Scotland we were very pleased with our stay.
Well done to the excellent staff. You made our stay one to remember.
We will definitely be back next year for more of your amazing friendly service

Room Tip: A room with a sea view is nice as they overlook the harbour. But all the rooms are lovely and comfy
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinah724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RisingSun11, Manager at The Rising Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. We do take pride in all areas of the Rising Sun, and we are glad you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had a drink on the Sunday in the rising sun & decided to go back for a meal later in the week, we sat outside on the terrace before hand & they kindly reservied a table for us while enjoyed what was left of the sun. The food was good & nice real ale for him & sangria for me. Would reommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank OldToms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RisingSun11, Manager at The Rising Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Visited the Rising Sun, sitting outside on a lovely sunny day. Enjoyed a fab fresh crab sandwich, which was delicious. However, how can it be acceptable to have someone using a sander, sanding a table top just around the corner? Most of our lunch was spoilt with the almost continuous noise of the sander - and yes, I know is not VERY loud but it is very irritating when you are enjoying a chill out lunch, outside in the sunshine, on a day off !! Surely this could be done away from the Hotel? It would have been a 5 star lunch without this inconsiderate intrusion.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duchysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RisingSun11, Manager at The Rising Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for your review. We do apologise for the sanding that was going on, upon this it is all done around the back of the building. It is difficult sometimes with the tables to get them round to where the space is limited, however we have taken this on board and have managed to get them all looking lovely for the summer, without any more disturbance. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Booked in for Easter Saturday to stay, previously only enjoyed food and drink at the Inn. Manageress was flexible enough to permit a one night stay during peak period. Welcome excellent and service friendly from all, even with the busyness of the period. Accommodation was of much higher standard that expected with rooms being in very good order and public areas very well maintained. No noise at all despite windows at front and being first floor above the bustling bar. If you want to be in St Mawes, this is a very well priced option vs premium alternatives.

(Limited hotel parking but public car park next door)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ghvisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RisingSun11, Manager at The Rising Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thnk you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us here and also your visit to St Mawes. We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews